We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gardens are lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Threave Garden

Threave Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gardens are lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The gardens here are beautiful and perfect for a stroll in summer

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jen789_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    105
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Really Helpful Staff and Locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I visited here - we could not take the dog into the gardens but there is a woodland walk which is good but at times the signs could be clearer. The staff on the desk and in the restaurant ( made up tasty sandwiches to take away) were really helpful. When we were a bit lost a local person gave me a map and pointed me the right way. Toilets clean and well serviced.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TortgirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birds, bees and red squirrels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Visiting a garden in mid winter might not seem a bright idea. Seeing the underlying structure is of interest to a few, but what makes this really special is the bird hide on the hill above the visitor centre - red squirrel gymnastics, blue/coal/greattits, finches, nuthatches and lesser spotted woodpeckers all seen from about 15 feet. Oh and finding a squirrel inside the hide was a bonus. A real treat of a visit under the national trust for Scotland. As for the bees, come back in summer judging by the honey on sale in the shop.

Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
406 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Adequate Cafe in Beautiful Gardens”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

These beautiful gardens are well worth a visit if you are staying in Galloway. Even better, if you are staying in Castle Douglas, walk there. You walk alongside the beautiful Carlingwark Loch, and follow the old "back road". towards Rhonehouse. It is a lovely walk and the gardens are a simply beautiful horticultural delight when you arrive. The cafe provides good honest fayre at sensible prices where you can re-fuel and enjoy a well earned rest as you reflect on a super afternoon out and about.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Without doubt our all time favourite National Trust for Scotland property. We have visited dozens of times at all times of year and sim;ply adore this place. Magnificent views a real bonus too!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Threave Garden also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Threave Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing