We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Spot”
Review of Douglas House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Douglas House
Ranked #1 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
tucson
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Delightful little spot. Within walking distance of both the village itself as well as the Threave Estate outside of town. Modern, clean, good hot water, fresh fruit and well cooked breakfast and vegetarian haggis or sausage options ! The bed was comfy and the wifi reliable. I wish I could have stayed longer !
Linda the proprietor was well informed about the area and very welcoming. I will be going back !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
118
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Immaculate modern single room, best I've stayed in, but thin walls so can hear everything in the house. Conveniently located off the main high street, next door to police station. Breakfast normally served from 0815 so no good for early starts, but offers the best range of fruit, berries, etc that I've ever seen plus cooked option with veg sausage (and good wholefood deli round the corner) or haggis. WiFi was intermittent throughout the day, couldn't handle YouTube.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HairyPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

From the moment we arrived at Douglas House we were made to feel so welcome. Our room was absolutely spotless and so comfortable, and we were recommended lovely places to eat on the evening of our stay. Breakfast was fresh and made with local produce, it was absolutely lovely. Could not have wished for a nicer stay and would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area. Perfect, thank you for a lovely stay x

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather7191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutherland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

What a fantastic place, we stayed for one night on 9th Sept and were given the only room the lady had left which had a massive big superking size bed in it, a huge luxurious bathroom (the type that you could find in the higher end of the market hotels), Linda - proprietor, was very welcoming and very knowledgeable regarding area etc. The welcome tray in the bedroom was fantastic, it even had a caffatier and ground coffee for it(never had that before!). The diningroom was bright and well laid out, the breakfast menu was absolutely fantastic, it had everything from a full cooked breakfast - like you would expect, to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, it was amazing. The food was very well presented, and nothing was too much bother for Linda. The whole place was clean, welcoming and luxurious, a must for anyone staying in Castle Douglas, it was a lovely experience and one we hope to repeat again. I can highly recommend it and after doing B&B, hotel touring holidays for the past 9years, even some of the more expensive hotels can't reach the standard of Douglas House. 1st rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was beautifully decorated and both it and the bathroom were like something out of a magazine. The bed was very comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. Linda was only too happy to recommend somewhere to eat our evening meal and her breakfast was very tasty, she even cooked me a piece of haggis to try even though we all knew I probably wouldn't eat it :)

I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieH_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights we had a warm welcome, the rooms were clean and modern, with a period property finish. Breakfast offered a wide selection of freshly cooked local produce. I would highly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

hi again, we went back to see Linda and Staff, we had such a great stay at this simply the best b&b in the U.K. our host was again the best even fetched a small table from her house for my laptop, Nothing is too much trouble for Linda or her great Staff, Breakfast was again the Best, We cannot thank Linda enough for all the extra time she gave to us all, we even found a couple of friends of hers at a well known supermarket that also sang her praises, once again we thank you Linda,

Regards David

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Druss1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
85 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
125 reviews
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
15.6 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
4.0 mi away
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Airds Farmhouse B&B
#2 of 13 in Castle Douglas
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Property: Douglas House
Address: 63 Queen Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1HS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Douglas House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our early nineteenth century townhouse offers comfortable, stylish accommodation close to the centre of Castle Douglas and within easy reach of the stunning coastal and hillside scenery of South West Scotland. Generous sized bedrooms with modern en-suite facilities, together with good food and a warm welcome ensure a memorable stay. Wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Douglas House Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing