We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Douglas House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Douglas House
Ranked #1 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I really can't fault Linda and everyone else at Douglas House. A good position close to the town centre, parking and value for money prices offer the traveller a great place to stay. The decor is a lovely mix of old and new, comfort and quality. I had the small single room on the ground floor. It was well-equipped with shower en-suite, loo and wash basin. In addition there were plenty of towels, toiletries and a well-stocked tea tray. I really think Linda has thought of everything - I even found a hot water bottle in a drawer! There is a good offer of local produce on the breakfast menu including the usual bacon, eggs etc., as well as fruit, cereal, yoghut and other options. The dining room doubles as a relaxing area for guests and has the most beautiful mouldings on the ceiling. I paid £40 for the one night - excellent value for money. Well done Linda!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libralady52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, Owner at Douglas House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Libralady 52
Many thanks for your kind review, I really appreciate you taking the time to write it. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room comfortable with all the facilities that you required.
I hope we can welcome you again sometime in the future.
Many thanks

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
112
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Well done Douglas House. A very good B&B. The room was well appointed and very cosy and the ensuite was large and modern. Nice and quiet and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was very good. Douglas House is in easy walking distance to a great little Italian restaurant in the main street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Tam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartpury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I am trying to find an excuse to go back after an all too brief visit! We stayed one night in this lovely house. Our bedroom was gorgeous, extremely spacious and spotlessly clean with a wonderful array of teas, coffees and nibbles. A huge bathroom with a massive bath and a proper shower with loads of water pressure (a seemingly rare thing I've found...). Breakfast was a delight with a great choice from the full Scottish to smoked fish and fresh fruit - all locally sourced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaMarchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Douglas House is the perfect B&B and puts many a hotel to shame. Everything from the warm welcome to the superb breakfast is first class. The decor and size of our room was top notch. The bathroom was just out of this world. We used the B&B whilst visiting family on holiday in Castle Douglas. Our only regret is that we were only there for one night. We intend to use this place again but for longer next time.

Room Tip: Room no.1 on the ground floor is perfect for anyone who needs to avoid stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Douglas house is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. It is beautifully decorated with good quality, comfortable,. Spotless clean accommodation .
The breakfast is to die for with a wide selection available.
Linda is the perfect host being friendly, helpful and attentive .
We took my wife's parents for a 4 night break and dad has limited mobility, the large room on the ground floor was perfect.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Rear room are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, Owner at Douglas House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Janet c c,
Many thanks for your very kind review, we really appreciate you taking the time, I hope you enjoyed your stay and all there is to see in the area. We hope to see you all again one day, many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting family in Castle Douglas for a 60th birthday party. It was perfect . Everything was spotless, well decorated and with nice little touches everywhere. Loved the tablet! Slept very well on a comfortable bed and wasn't bothered by traffic noise at all. The breakfast was amazing and we had something different every day. All the staff were lovely and informative. Would certainly make a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My friends and I stayed at Douglas House for a week while we completed a walking holiday.The accommodation was of a very high standard, well furnished and spotlessly clean at all times. The breakfast provided a good range of items, from healthy fresh fruit to well cooked and locally sourced produce. The family who run this hotel are courteous and genuinely interested in our well being. I would highly recommend this B &B. The only quibble I have is that the single room is very small and I feel the price should reflect this.

Room Tip: The single room is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
17.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#4 of 13 in Castle Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Property: Douglas House
Address: 63 Queen Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1HS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Douglas House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our early nineteenth century townhouse offers comfortable, stylish accommodation close to the centre of Castle Douglas and within easy reach of the stunning coastal and hillside scenery of South West Scotland. Generous sized bedrooms with modern en-suite facilities, together with good food and a warm welcome ensure a memorable stay. Wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Douglas House Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing