We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place Nice People”

The Urr Valley Country House Hotel
Restaurant details
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Place Nice People”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stopped a 2 nighted really enjoyed it, great food, will be back
handy for trips out close to all shops etc.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wafc7750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    5
    2
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wedding venue”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Liked the clean beds and food hotel in a very poor state would not recommend it to any of my friends

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mitch702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the sunday carvery”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Chris and I have just had the sunday carvery at The Urr Valley it was brilliant we were joint with my brother and sister in law and they said it was superb . So big thank-you to all staff Dave the head chef Sean n Stephen our waitress Grace and great big thank-you to Phil and Angie

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank may a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Oh Dear!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel could feature on three well known TV shows..DIY SOS, Kitchen Nightmares and The Hotel Inspector!
Everything is a little tatty and rundown, from the decor to the furnishings. The curtain in our room was a good 6 inches too short for the window, the ceiling was flaking and the shower impossible to use without flooding the floor.
I can't comment on the standard of lunch/evening meal as having breakfast was enough to deter me from eating anything else here (didn't even risk a return trip for breakfast on the next morning), not only was the food poor but the cutlery, plates and glasses were not clean. We had to lift five glasses before we found one clean enough to use.
The staff are ok but miss the small things e.g. A bottle of wine not being pre-chilled and the waiter thinking it would chill in a bottle of water (not even ice!).
In short, even at a discount I wouldn't bother.

Helpful?
7 Thank curror13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dutch tea room”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

found it by accident but wow was it worth it really nice people' pancake were scummy will be going again .xx

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Urr Valley Country House Hotel also viewed

Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Urr Valley Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing