We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Help with planning walks”

Castle Douglas VisitScotland Information Centre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and visit our Information Centre where we can find you a place to stay, book coach and ferry travel and provide you with the literature that you require for your holiday in our exquisite area.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Help with planning walks”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The worker at the information centre was extremely helpful when giving me guidance about OS maps of the area. She printed off a variety of walks and seemed to be enthusiastic about her role in promoting the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely warm welcome”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

the lady working there could not be friendlier or more informative. We went on a whim and decided to stay over she pointed us in the right direction

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Allotment
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Visit Scotland”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

All the information you need with additional information from the staff about local gems.
Easy access car park with toilet facilities

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Staff very helpfull”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The help you receive in some of the tourist centres has much to be desired. You are left to dig through the leaflets in the hope of finding something. This was not the case here and I was guided to the leaflets best suited to my interests and how to get to the local places of interest. Well done.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank neepdocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Closed mid March”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very surprised to find this tourist information centre closed in this busy town on a Friday. Although the one in the smaller village of Kirkcudbright was open.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Douglas VisitScotland Information Centre also viewed

Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Douglas, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Castle Douglas VisitScotland Information Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing