We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just beautiful!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bespoke oak kitchen with open plan dining area. Integrated steam oven, coffee machine & dish washer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bespoke oak kitchen with open plan dining area. Integrated steam oven, coffee machine & dish washer
Sitting room with 3D TV, twin sofas and arm chair overlooking walled garden. Dining area with seating for 6. Large walnut and oak island also seats guests.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Bespoke oak kitchen with open plan dining area. Integrated steam oven, coffee machine & dish washer
Sitting room with 3D TV, twin sofas and arm chair overlooking walled garden.
Dining area with seating for 6. Large walnut and oak island also seats guests.
Four poster bed in charming room furnished with Art Deco furniture
Small double room with art deco fireplace and wardrobe
Very large room with superking sized bed. Cot/cotbed available.
Family bathroom with bath and shower.
Downstairs shower room with power shower and WC
Rear view of house and private walled garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirsty T
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just beautiful!”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely adored our stay in this beautiful and spacious town house. It is situated perfectly in the middle of Castle Douglas and what a quaint little town it is with lots of sweet, traditional shops. The house is MORE than fully equipped with everything you could need during your stay including a washing machine (came in very handy with a mucky toddler!) All rooms have been decorated to a very high standard and each have a unique character to them, incorporating traditional features which add a lovely touch! The ownwr clearky has a keen eye for interior design and you are guaranteed to feel right at home.My favourite space within the house was definitely the kitchen - it is open plan with modern tech including an inbuilt coffee machine, dishwasher, steam oven & handy sink gadgets. I also really loved the bed in the master bedroom so much as it was incredibly comfy and peaceful. Also really liked that there was a cot there for our wee girl complete with bedding and comforters! Both bathrooms are to a very high standard too with showers in each plus a bath upstairs, good storage space and well equipped too. I was also very impressed with the garden space - the house is between two businesses so the garden is very tranquil at ALL times. Sunloungers meant for a lovely morning chill around some lovely flowers and birds chirping away too - heaven! I would go back here in a heartbeat.Thankyou for an enjoyable and relaxing break away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thanks very much indeed for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed the house and our town.

Haste ye back

Gill & family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GJPenney
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was one of the best holiday homes I've ever rented. The kitchen is amazing, the beds comfortable and the ambiance was brilliant. Castle Douglas is a lovely town with a bunch of nice places to eat. Would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Thanks for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed the house and oor friendly wee toon.

Kind Regards
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendyfawc...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic house, great location”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Fantastic house, very well provisioned, comfortable and in a great position. Details on house accurate and Gill delightful. Even saw a red kite only 20 feet above the garden.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
Thanks for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you'll come back to visit again.

Kind Regards
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyReive...
Borders, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Unexpected comforts”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Very central for all the shops, cafes, bars and restaurants in Castle Douglas. Enter via a fairly anonymous facade in the main street, into a beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable house where you feel instantly at home. It's attractively furnished and spotlessly clean. Lovely private garden at the rear. Excellent windows at the front so there was no discernible traffic noise. We'd love to go back there !

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and got to cycle round some of bonnie Galloway. I hope you and your family will come back again and explore some more.

Kind Regards
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickidug
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“going to castle douglas ..stay here 5* without a doubt”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

on arrival the outside is not very inspiring ........but.....inside WOW .what a beautiful house I was absolutely blown away by the very tasteful décor and amount of space the photos on the web do not do this letting justice ...the bedrooms are immaculate
the master being the biggest nicest room I have ever stayed in ..and I have stayed in many
Not only is the décor and space wonderful but ever detail has been covered the kitchen is fully equipped with every utensil you will need is simply excellent ...also a lovely large garden with we enjoyed breakfast in on a super sunny morning listening to bird song...the only downside is the house sits on the main st ...no a problem for us but may be a problem for some ..also we had my 83 year old mum with us and the stairs had no hand rail which was not a problem for me or my sister I'm 53 and shes 61..
I absolutely loved this house and would recommend it to anyone
one final thing the lady who did the meet and great ..her name is ann ..was a lovely has the house ...

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thanks very much for your lovely review. You're welcome to stay anythime, we will also look into getting a handrail fitted on both sides of the stairs.

Many thanks
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
147margar...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful town house, great location”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great location in the lovely town of Castle Douglas, nice shops, bakeries, butchers and places to eat. House spotlessly clean and equipped with everything we needed. No doubt we will return........

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for your review, much appreciated. So glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our beautiful town. Hope to see you again. Kind Regards Gill & Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic, well equipped and very comfortable home”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a wonderful place, it is simply beautiful and welcoming. Cleanliness is obviously important to the owners but they made it clear we were to feel at home even with two messy little girls. Our girls loved the town location and the friendliness of everyone. Lots to do in the area for kids and the local Fish and Chips shop is worth a visit! A very comfortable and enjoyable stay and we look forward to returning again in the Summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It's always nice to get good feedback and to hear that our guests have had an enjoyable stay in our lovely wee town. Haste ye back. Gill & family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing