We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azure Hotel & Art Studio(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turquoise Shell Inn(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$181
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond La Samanna(Terres Basses)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,164)
Filter reviews
4,164 results
Traveller rating
1,321
1,425
809
328
281
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,321
1,425
809
328
281
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaho beachascot pubpool barpalm grillplanes landingcolin kingmullet bayclose to the airportst maartenpoint restaurantpool viewgreat baygreat vacationfun to watchsister hotelfamily vacationall inclusive package
Filter
Updating list...
2,120 - 2,125 of 4,164 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife and I and another couple spent a week at this resort, from August 17th through August 24th. We flew into the airport on the Dutch side, rented a car, and drove to the resort, which is only a couple of miles away. Check in was flawless, but a word of advice to those who use Groupon. Print your Groupon and take it with you. You will need it at check in. I was a bit apprehensive after reading several negative reviews. We had no real problems, and the minor ones that we did have were quickly and efficiently handled by the staff. You must get to know the Manager of Guest Experience, Kerisha Williams. She is the epitome of professionalism. Our two couples were both celebrating our 40th wedding anniversaries, and Kerisha managed to provide both couples with a chilled bottle of campaign, balloons in the room, and a nice note. She was always there to answer any question we had, and make suggestions about where to go and things to do. Hopefully, we will get to see each other again. The resort is in the middle of all of action. There are several restaurants on site, with a wonderful breakfast buffet, that included custom omelets, all sorts of fruit, pancakes, waffles, croissants, juices, and free mimosas for all who cared to partake. This was our first experience with all inclusive and I am convinced it is the ONLY way to go!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MikeEubanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear MikeEubanks,

Thank you for taking the time out to write your review about your time with us.

We are pleased to see that your check in was easy and that everything from that point on went great! Thank you for pointing out our helpful and friendly staff, especially Kerisha who made sure to go out of her way, to surprise you and the other couple you were traveling with complimentary Champagne and a decorated room to help you in celebrating your 40 year Anniversary.

We hope to see you back at our Resort soon.

Best regards,
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I taught Zumba at this resort through Fitness Exchange Program and I was there for seven nights. It was truly a great experience. The hotel has something to offer everyone. It is on a nice stretch of beach and the pool is fun. The staff goes all out to keep everyone entertained. The animators Anand and Nico were fun. The pool and grounds of the hotel are well kept. Service at restaurants was good. The spa was top notch, and I could compare it to top spas I have visited in New York. I had a green coffee body treatment there. It was amazing. Jardin who runs the spa is a complete pleasure. She does a phenomenal job there. The gym was better than most hotel gyms I have been to in the Carribbean. This is a good hotel for fitness minded individuals. Between land zumba, Aqua Zumba , yoga and the gym there are choices on how you want to get your workout in every day. This hotel is conveniently located near the airport and there is a casino and restaurants within walking distance. I visited the "sister" hotel at Maho Bay and was equally if not more impressed. Definitely would do this trip again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Afrodite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Afrodite B,

Thank you for writing your review about your time with us. Thank you very much for coming to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort to offer our guests Zumba classes for a week. Thank you for highlighting our Spa, Jardin and the amazing treatment and services they offer. We got great feedback from your Zumba Class and we hope you will come back again soon to teach some more soon.

Best regards,
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and i stay at the hotel our room was ready on time the room was nice and clean.The food was great service was excellent kedods to all staff espcially breakfast thank to kenton and team for singing happy brithday for me beach was quit large water warm and nice.we will be back for sure.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 79B70D67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

the resort was very nice but there were only two out of five restaurants available to eat......most nights had nothing interesting. food was great though. staff in the restaurants and bar did not seem to like serving black people. we were ignored and so felt as if we were being a bother. they only seem to be nice if they got a tip.......i think that everyone was supposed to be treated the same since everyone pays to stay there!!! other than the stuck up staff it was enjoyable...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank devika h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I was surprised at the great treatment that we received while staying at this hotel. All the staff members were very friendly and tried to assist you in every way possible. The food was excellent and the view from the restaurants left nothing to be desired. The pool and beach were great places to relax under the shade of umbrellas. It had a few activities within the hotel which provided sufficient entertainment for the whole family. Maho village is also a great place to explore at night especially since it's just a short walk away. The hotel is also conveniently located five to twenty minutes away from everything. We had an incredible vacation and I wish we could have stayed longer. A few other reviews suggested that the staff were unfriendly or that the rooms and facilities were not very impressive but, after my experience at the hotel recently, I disagree with their opinions.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view is. We got a room on the eight floor and it provided amazing views of the sea and planes taking off. The suites have a sofa and some have a jacuzzi unlike the standard rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Reneece R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Reneece R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review about your time with us. Thank you for highlighting our food and views from the resort. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you had an incredible vacation. We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews