We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“And they called him an "entertainer"”
Review of Sopranos Piano Bar

Sopranos Piano Bar
Ranked #5 of 12 things to do in Maho
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“And they called him an "entertainer"”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Ate dinner at a nearby restaurant and wanted to listen to some music in what was expected to be a classy piano bar sort of place. Wow...walked in...listened to the guy running the electro-disaster sound thing...singing was horrible...so we left. Can't comment on the service or drinks...just couldn't stand the screeching...but apparently we weren't the only ones...only one other person in the place at 9:30 PM...save your time, money, and EARS! (at least if this guy is still there...hope they have someone else for the good nights)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Waiting_in_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    30
    8
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great night”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I am not sure what some of these other people are talking about. I had a great time and Sandra was awesome !!! They had a great piano player who really got the crowd involved. I would recommend it to anyone that is ready to have a good time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Texas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really?”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had heard a lot about the Soprano's bar and were very disappointed to find that it looked like something out of a bad movie. No piano player, dark, musty and only a couple of bar hounds hanging around. We wouldn't recommend this as a place to go. Try the Red Piano in Simpson bay..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAUPPAUGE, NEW YORK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Strange business model”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It's off season and a Monday night the piano player finally starts to play around 11:30, after a "teen" graduation party listening to house music finally clears out. Place is pretty empty but about 25 people are now singing, dancing and of course drinking. Tips and requests are being given to piano player...so what does any smart piano player do....take a break of course after only playing for about 35 minutes. Claims it will be a short quick break, but about 15 minutes later with no sign that he is going to play again, the place empty's out as people search elsewhere for entertainment. And then once the place is empty again and all the people that had money to spend have left to spend it elsewhere, he starts to play again. This second set does not last too long as he then puts on the house music, packs up his stuff and leaves. Don't really understand this business model, as usually once you have a crowd on your side spending money and having fun you keep it going for a while. The only bright spot of the night was Shannon and Niño working the bar and trying their best to keep at least a few customers happy in this run down tired looking bar. Don't think they will be around to see another high season which is sad as 2 plus yrs ago this place use to get top piano guys, like Barry from Boston and Greg, that knew how to keep a bar crowd happy and of course drinking all night long.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LEE018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“kitchy”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We weren't here for the music, it wasn't playing while we were there. We came in starved from a catamaran trip and it had good reviews here. The service was terrible, they forgot to tell us they had a $5.00 per bottle water charge. A lovely 15.00 dollar surprise on the end of our tab. The food is mediocre and it was just a sad place to be.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank evarenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sopranos Piano Bar also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Sopranos Piano Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing