We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Islander Club La Plage
Nearby Hotels
US$238
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn Hotel(Simpson Bay)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Belmond La Samanna(Terres Basses)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turquoise Shell Inn(Simpson Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
143
126
41
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
126
41
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstortuga barmaho beachtime sharegrocery storewithin walking distancestreet noiseairport runwaycheri's cafeclose to the airportbig jetsfun to watchlarge poollarge planesst maartenwatch planes landrci exchangethe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

You cant beat the location! walk out the door and you will find great restauants, casino,Maho beach and shops, the area is safe as well. The rooms are very clean, as well as the grounds and pool. Staff helpful and friendly. Pool bar and restauant, which is only good for breakfeast, did not like lunch think it was yesterdays leftovers.Happy hour 3-5. but the drinks and beer are cheap anyway. Your right on the beach. Bit of an older freindly crowd, we went though RCI. Pool had no music so bring your own. You can buy and bring your own beer or drinks to beach so bring a cooler. you have to pay $50. for wi-fi for the week or go 50 feet to soncesta and get it for free! You can smoke and drink anywhere on the island. Being by the plans was fun,not distracting at all. Bus ttrip to shopping was good. Took boat ride aroud whole island another good thing to do. go to Panli island, take bus to marina for $10. then ferry to Island for another $10. ferry runs all day till 4. I went to different areas and beaches, if i went back would stay in this area and hotel again, because you can easily walk to everything. If you are not an RCI menber stay at the Sonesta, nice place too.P.S. no bugs or sickness from any where i ate. Go to Cheri's for dinner and must see show but be there by 8. Have fun

Room Tip: 3th floor and up
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginawoo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a GREAT place to stay!!! A girlfriend and I spent the week of May 10th through the 17th. It is in a great location and we always felt safe going out in the evenings. It is within walking distance to just about everything you need, groceries, liquor, casino, nightclubs, restaurants and shopping, but I still recommend getting a car to get around the island. We stayed in a two bedroom/two bathroom unit on the 4th floor (Unit 4105, fairly close to elevator, close to ice machine). The unit was very clean and fairly recently remodeled; the A/C worked amazingly well, the rooms are all nicely sized, the kitchen was well stocked (we had no problems making breakfasts, lunches and snacks in the room); the beds were new since last year and really nice, comfort-wise. There were plenty of towels and storage space in the unit. The ocean and pool views and grounds of the resort were absolutely BEAUTIFUL. The staff is very accommodating, we had one minor maintenance issue and it was resolved within minutes of making the call. Can't wait to go back, we made several new friends.

The beach is not very big, but it is nice and there are lounge chairs and umbrellas for the guests’ use; if you prefer a pool, the pool is usually well-maintained, however, this year the top step was extremely dirty and the vinyl was pulling away from the step (which was a bit dangerous). Although it is very close to the airport noise really is not an issue and it was fun to watch planes come in for a landing. Parking is extra ($30/week) in a garage at the Royal Islander La Terrasse across the street but having a car is nice so you can explore the island. Nothing is really more than 30 minutes away. Wi-Fi is also extra ($50/week, through a third-party provider) but worked really well in all the rooms and on both balconies, the entire week.

I recommend the Sunset Bar, Bamboo Bernie’s, Soprano’s and Pizza Pasta right in Maho; or Topper’s, Pineapple Pete's and Jimbo’s in Simpson Bay for good, reasonably priced food. I never paid more than $22 for a meal at these places, usually cheaper. For a nice romantic meal, I recommend Boca Marina – it is new, but AWESOME (view, food and service, exceptional)!!!!

Room Tip: If you want to see the sunset, ask for a 100 room, if you prefer to see the surise, ask for a 200 or 300 room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connellkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We just love the Royal Islander Club La Plage! The people here are so friendly...it's within walking distance to some great restaurants and night life...you can choose the sand beach with chairs and umbrellas, or the HUGE beautiful pool area right on the grounds! Hamburgers are delicious at their beach cafe "Tortuga", and the "island drinks" are fab! The rooms are well equipped and appointed! Yes, it's a time share vacation property, but search for owner's who are willing to lease their unit to you! You will love it!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I've stayed at the Royal Islander La Plage several times now and have NEVER been disappointed in the place. It's a great place and right in the heart of everything in the Maho area. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My sweetheart has a time share at this fantastic resort. It is one mile from Princess Julianna airport. This was my first time down to St Maarten. I did not want to come back after one week. The pool, palm trees, sand, surf, amenities at this time share were beyond compare. The biggest thrill was to be able to sit on our porch and watch the jets approaching the airport runway which was 300 yards from our unit. It never got old watching the jets come in for a landing, with their landing gear being about 50 feet over the crowds of people on the beach. When the Dutch Airline KLM 747 came in, it was like a cruise ship gliding right over your head. Awesome, awesome time. Next best experience was standing on the beach when the jets were taking off, with the short runway, they had to "gun" their engines and let the break go and the blast was amazing. Definately going back to this isalnd paradise next year. The room was well suited for our week.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BibleBobK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews