We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Nearby Hotels
Ducks Inn(Aberlady)
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Nether Abbey Hotel(North Berwick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Folly(North Berwick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
409
94
26
19
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
94
26
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuirfield golf courseafternoon teapetit fourscountry houseroaring firegardens are beautifullemon tartpre dinner drinksbirthday lunchthe main hotelspecial treatset menudrawing roomfirst classvenisonsconescottage room
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Enjoyed our second Sunday lunch at Greywalls. Just love the area, hotel and restaurant. The food is terrific and the staff attentive in a relaxed way. Food is well cooked and very tasty. We ate across the two menus which caused no problems. Drawing room for drinks pre lunch and for coffee after. Love the open fire and comfy sofas. Not cheap but you get what you pay for. Service is included. Only surprised hotel was not busier at this time of year. Well done Greywalls. Consistently good.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank gilly581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for visiting us again, your custom is appreciated. As you say we strive to be consistently good at what we do and it delights me to read that this is the case.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Lovely grounds, lovely building. Stopped here for a bite of lunch. Had a lovely caeser salad partner had soup both dishes were very tasty and nicely presented. We took lunch in the library as had not booked. Lovely setting and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank pauljaneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Guest

I must say I like the heading for your review, I all for puns! Glad you enjoyed the quick bite and hopefully we can welcome you back for the full Greywalls experience in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I recently took my husband to Grey Walls to celebrate his Birthday. We had a fantastic meal, the atmosphere was relaxed and the staff were very attentive and the menu choice was mouth watering.

We always like to try restaurants in and around East Lothian and Grey Walls is now at the top of our list and we hope to visit again soon.

ps The cheese soufflé was amazing as was the venison.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULIE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for posting your review and choosing Greywalls to celebrate your husbands birthday. Hope to see you both again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We paid £160 for a double room with B&B via laterooms.com. The hotel was well-deserving of its 5-star status but I don't think it would have been worth the rack rate of £320. The room was good but the bathroom was perhaps a little tired. The lounge areas were very comfortable & attractive. Service was unobtrusive & excellent. Breakfast was very good. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant but it looked quite formal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Greywalls and for posting your review. It is very pleasing to read your comments and I will pass them on to the rest of the team.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The hotel is situated in nice grounds and the building itself is impressive. You can enjoy pre dinner drinks in the drawing room, then the meal itself was welll presented with a varied menu. Staff were all friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank R_and_K_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Guest

Glad you enjoyed you recent meal with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews