We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREYWALLS HOTEL, EAST SCOTLAND”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with dinner on each night. main reason we choose this hotel was because they accept dogs in some rooms so we where expecting not such a good room however the cottage room was superb! The staff were more than excellent with faultless service at all times. The food preparation and quality of ingredients was amazing! It all added up to a birthday i wont forget. We will visit again.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest

We are always delighted when guests bring their dogs with them and the cottage rooms provide easy access to the gardens so as they can stretch their legs. Glad to read you enjoyed the service and dining as well and hope to welcome you all back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

stayed here recently to share the menu proposed for cromlix house and was not dissapointed 5 star all the way the menu was excellent and the choise of wine was to we also had albert roux at our table to answer questions on the menu which was a experience as well

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norman a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest

We are now only a couple of weeks from the Grand Opening of Cromlix and the week of lunches and dinners at Greywalls certainly wetted peoples appetites. It was a great week and Mr Roux was in fine form and I am glad you enjoyed your meal and his company.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We recently went to the Grey Walls Hotel with friends to celebrate two birthdays. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and a very peaceful place to sit and have tea. A couple of things we were disappointed with and quite surprised for a hotel of that quality was that the jam for the scones came in a glass jar with a lid just like you get at a motorway cafe. We expected to have homemade jam, or at least have it in a jam dish with a spoon, quite surprising. Another gripe, we had to ask for a pot of water for the tea, and we did not have a cake fork or tea knife, just ordinary large ones. These small things are important and certainly something you would expect from a hotel like this.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Syb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your afternoon tea. Our Jam is handmade by a small independent maker and it has been personally selected by Mr Roux and made to his specification and is hand labelled. The presentation in a jar ensure quality of the product and to help prevent it deteriorating. We do not serve hot water as a standard but if a request is made we always provide. I hope these issues didn't detract too much from your enjoyment of your afternoon and thank you for giving this constructive feedback.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for one night (a Christmas gift).Had afternoon tea which was excellent - downside was that we didn't have room to sample the dinner menu which looked very enticing!
Room very spacious and comfortable with view over Muirfield golf course and beyond.Breakfast was wonderful in quality,choice and taste.
Staff were extremely hospitable and efficient - nothing was too much trouble.We loved the relaxed,friendly ambiance of Greywalls and can understand why people return on many occasions.
We'll be back to taste the dinner menu!

Room Tip: When booking you will probably be asked if you would prefer a garden or golf course view - the golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest

Afternoon tea is a favourite of mine and happy to read that you enjoyed it. It was a pleasure to look after you and thank you for choosing to stay at Greywalls.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Greywalls is a fantastic country house designed by iconic Edwardian architect Edwin Lutyens.

For most of the past 100 years it has been a private home, but is now firmly established as a quality hotel with a first class restaurant.

We were lucky enough to be staying, which definitely added to the experience which overall was tremendous. (Although the bedrooms are a little too old school for my liking and the bathroom facilities are in need of a serious upgrade).

The place is a bit of a mecca for golfers, with a lot of interesting historical photographs of Open Championships played at next door Muirfield.

The restaurant was lovely and the meal we enjoyed was sensational. (Watch out for he wine prices!)

Definitely worth the trip alone just for the food, which you would expect under the Roux marque.

Thanks Greywalls!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidDundonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your overnight stay and meal in Chez Roux. I hope you can come back and stay again in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I visited here for Sunday lunch. Always a treat to have the excellent value set lunch, with great and attentive service. The views of the golf course are fantastic, making a leisurely lunch even more enjoyable.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SAS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for joining us for lunch recently and taking the time to post your review. Hope to welcome back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The drive up to this beautiful Lutyens house is breathtaking. The house inside has a very homely feeling & you feel relaxed & at ease. We stayed in room 17 looking onto the walled garden designed by Gertrude Jekyll. The cottage room is dog friendly, cosy, warm & homely. It has a large bathroom with underfloor heating. The staff are very friendly & helpful. we sampled one of the cocktails which was one of the best French Martinis I have had. Dinner was very good & service excellent. Breakfast was really enjoyable with a good choice. The health drink is one you should try.
If I have any moans it would be to have homemade jams & marmalade for breakfast & a few biscuits to have with your complementary tea & coffee in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest

The heading of your review sums up Greywalls for me and I am glad you share my affection for such a beautiful house. With the added bonus a great cocktails of course, not available in Lutyen's day.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,320 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
321 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
211 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
493 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Address: Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range: £117 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greywalls Hotel And Chez Roux
Greywalls Hotel Muirfield
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing