We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style relaxed comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel has a wonderful old style relaxed charm and a great restaurant. We actually booked out the adjoining Colonel's house for 8 of us. It was a perfect location for a large family event although while the house has plenty of charm it is in need of some upgrading.

We had a superb meal which was up to chez roux's usual high standards in the private dinning room with very attentive a knowledgeable staff. I can certainly recommend the cheese Soufflé starter and rhubarb Soufflé desert which are both so light that you barely need to worry about the calories!

If you are here for a few days golf on the unbeatable Scottish golf coast and your partner is need of a bit of pampering then I can recommend the near by Fletcher's Cottage Spa on the excellent Archerfield golf resort which is 2 minutes from the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Scotadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Greywalls and for taking the time to post your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and private dining experience.

Hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

My husband got a voucher for here. Lovely quiet place to have dinner an to sit afterwards listening to the piano getting played. All staff willing to help. Couldn't fault dinner especially having warm bread.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AHA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

Delighted to read you enjoyed your experience at Greywalls. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The best first!!!! Fabulous calm and quiet location with no traffic noise anywhere in the Hotel. End of a lane facing the golf course and the Solway Firth! Great views difficult to beat.
Lovely old building with lots of character and style with service in a friendly fairly informal manner.
Good sized room with a large en-suite. Bed so very comfortable with lovely soft feather pillows and duvet!!! (10 out of 10!!!) Bed could not be beaten so we had 3 fabulous nights sleep thank you!. Towels regularly replaced with good soaps etc. Nice thick curtains so we could lie in late without being woken up!
Breakfast excellent with top class smoked salmon and scrambled egg--so yummy!! Also great kippers!! Good selection to choose from.
Not so good! En-suite jaded with unacceptable black mould in the white grouting which had clearly been there a long time! The en-suite walls were wallpapered with almost every sheet starting to peel off. Housekeeping in the whole hotel only just acceptable. Main stair carpet threadbare on edges!
In the time we were there it seemed there was no one in charge in the way of management and we seemed to see different staff all the time who seemed to be dashing about doing all jobs? No reception as such and seemed to be pot luck if there was a member of staff hovering!
No complaints about the staff who worked hard and were all very pleasant. Just as though the hotel needed 'managing' with 'an attention to detail'

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurotraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. While I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall I do note the areas where we fell short and they will be addressed. It is with reviews such as these that we can improve and address issues when they occur. I hope to welcome you back to Greywalls in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with dinner on each night. main reason we choose this hotel was because they accept dogs in some rooms so we where expecting not such a good room however the cottage room was superb! The staff were more than excellent with faultless service at all times. The food preparation and quality of ingredients was amazing! It all added up to a birthday i wont forget. We will visit again.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest

We are always delighted when guests bring their dogs with them and the cottage rooms provide easy access to the gardens so as they can stretch their legs. Glad to read you enjoyed the service and dining as well and hope to welcome you all back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

stayed here recently to share the menu proposed for cromlix house and was not dissapointed 5 star all the way the menu was excellent and the choise of wine was to we also had albert roux at our table to answer questions on the menu which was a experience as well

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norman a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest

We are now only a couple of weeks from the Grand Opening of Cromlix and the week of lunches and dinners at Greywalls certainly wetted peoples appetites. It was a great week and Mr Roux was in fine form and I am glad you enjoyed your meal and his company.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We recently went to the Grey Walls Hotel with friends to celebrate two birthdays. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and a very peaceful place to sit and have tea. A couple of things we were disappointed with and quite surprised for a hotel of that quality was that the jam for the scones came in a glass jar with a lid just like you get at a motorway cafe. We expected to have homemade jam, or at least have it in a jam dish with a spoon, quite surprising. Another gripe, we had to ask for a pot of water for the tea, and we did not have a cake fork or tea knife, just ordinary large ones. These small things are important and certainly something you would expect from a hotel like this.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Syb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your afternoon tea. Our Jam is handmade by a small independent maker and it has been personally selected by Mr Roux and made to his specification and is hand labelled. The presentation in a jar ensure quality of the product and to help prevent it deteriorating. We do not serve hot water as a standard but if a request is made we always provide. I hope these issues didn't detract too much from your enjoyment of your afternoon and thank you for giving this constructive feedback.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for one night (a Christmas gift).Had afternoon tea which was excellent - downside was that we didn't have room to sample the dinner menu which looked very enticing!
Room very spacious and comfortable with view over Muirfield golf course and beyond.Breakfast was wonderful in quality,choice and taste.
Staff were extremely hospitable and efficient - nothing was too much trouble.We loved the relaxed,friendly ambiance of Greywalls and can understand why people return on many occasions.
We'll be back to taste the dinner menu!

Room Tip: When booking you will probably be asked if you would prefer a garden or golf course view - the golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest

Afternoon tea is a favourite of mine and happy to read that you enjoyed it. It was a pleasure to look after you and thank you for choosing to stay at Greywalls.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,320 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
321 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
211 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
495 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Address: Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range: £116 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greywalls Hotel And Chez Roux
Greywalls Hotel Muirfield
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing