We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Colonel's House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Certificate of Excellence
Drogheda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Colonel's House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here on 28th and 29th April. A beautiful building, lovely gardens and fabulous location. Had coffee in the bar on arrival in front of the fire which set the two days up nicely.
Staff were universally attentive and service excellent. Stayed in a "small" double as the larger rooms were unavailable. Small must mean something different in East Lothian. It was more than generously sized. The "large" rooms must be enormous!!
Food on the first night was OK. On the second night we chose from the set menu and the food, all three courses each of us had, was delicious.
Two complaints. 1) The pillows we had were too soft and gave no support to the neck. 2) A service charge is applied to food and drink a practice I have never liked.
One observation is that some of the carpets are showing their age being badly worn in places.
For us our break fully merited a 5 star rating. We did however make use of a 2 nights for the price of one offer from the hotel a caveat being that one dinner must be taken in the hotel. We would always have taken a meal in the hotel as my wife is a fan of the Roux family so that was no hardship for us. Having to pay the full price (an extra £240) would probably drop the rating to 4 stars on the basis of value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 described as a small double. The room is anything but small and the bathroom is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I have to say room 9 is a favourite of mine, as it affords views of the 9th and 18th at Muirfield. Hope you can come and see us again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    85
    21
    16
    5
See reviews for
81
252
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Always I have enjoyed this cosy hotel in a perfect setting but not this time. We walked in and expectations of a roaring fire were met with a black hole and a rather chilly atmosphere. They tried to usher us in the back room but I insisted that we had afternoon tea where it should be in the lounge! The service was very very poor and we waited a long time to be served. Eventually we were given our champagne and the menu. The afternoon tea was poor. Jam in pots regardless of whether it comes from a local business is just not good enough! How long does it take a chef to make some home made jam. The wafer thin sandwiches were none other than small rolls which had seen better days. They were not fresh and the filling was pretty basic and boring. I was so disappointed. The whole atmosphere of the hotel has changed and there seems to be a great deal of staff but no chief as such. It takes only minutes to clean out a fire and reset. Their sister hotel in Lochinver has a roaring fire from early morning and there is really no excuse to present customers who are paying good money to come to a hotel like that and be faced with a draughty miserable lounge. The sofa's springs were coming out and we needed to move to seats to make ourselves comfortable. I think the whole place is trading on a past name and it needs to get its act together. This used to be great. It is less than average now. Will not return and I am an Inverlochy Club member sadly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am sorry to read that you did not really enjoy your experience. Afternoon tea is served in our Garden Room and this was a decision taken over 2 years ago as we found that guests taking afternoon tea in the lounges left little or no space for residents or diners to sit and relax. Due to the demand for afternoon tea we had to move it in to the Garden room, which affords beautiful views of the walled Garden. I am sorry that was not to your liking and trust you can understand why we had to move afternoon teas in to this room. If the hotel is quiet we can sometimes offer the lounge for afternoon tea but as a standard we now use the Garden room. Having said that the fire should have been lit in the lounge. We always light this during the Autumn and Winter and unfortunately, on occasion, during a cool summers day and I am sorry that this was not the case. The Jam is made by a small artisan producer specially approved and tasted by Mr Roux. Unfortunately due to the amount of Jam and preserves we use for afternoon tea and breakfast we simple don't have the space or facilities to produce it on site.
I would dearly love you to return to Greywalls and should you wish to book again please call and ask for me and I would be delighted to personally attend to this for you.

Kind regards

Duncan Fraser
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very poor food, service ten times better since last visit, but food is ten times poorer. It is hard to believe Albert Roux gained all his accolades serving this quality of food. Our lunch was mean, poorly cooked, no depth of flavour and comprised of cheap cuts. Certainly short sighted business man, large profit but would I go back ? no. Surprisingly service was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haveydesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest

I am sorry to read that you were so disappointed with the cuisine on Easter Sunday Lunch. I believe the menu offered a good selection of dishes, I am sorry that you did not feel this. The dishes you choose should of course delivered on flavour and I am sorry that you felt this was the case. We always ask guests if they are enjoying their meal so we can identify if there is any issue and then we can resolve it there and then. I appreciate some people are reluctant to do this in company, but it would allow us the opportunity to rectify the problem. I note your comments on the service and they are appreciated and should you wish to discuss this further please feel free to call me on 01260 842144. Your custom and comments are important to us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a two night stay at Greywalls in a cottage room so that we could have our dog stay with us. From our arrival until we left we loved everything about our stay. The room, the food, the gardens and the staff all exceeded our expectations, which had been high since we lunched in the hotel back in October and had looked forward to staying over since then. We will be back to stay and to see the gardens throughout the seasons and will encourage our family and friends to visit. Can't wait!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Drumfarmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and the hotel and gardens. They are just coming in to bloom with Tulips, which add a real splash of colour, my favourite time of year. Hope to welcome you back in the summer perhaps.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a voucher not sure if I'd pay full price. It is a lovely country house hotel about half an hour from Edinburgh. The staff are v nice and the hotel has lovely gardens and a great view of Muirfeild golf course. Good choice at breakfast, we had food in the hotel on the second night and it was v nice although I thought it was v bright and by turning down the lights slightly would have made it more atmospheric. Our room was nice all be it a little small.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I note your comments regards the lighting, they are on dimmers and should be adjusted for dinner service, my apologies for this. I hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a wonderful old style relaxed charm and a great restaurant. We actually booked out the adjoining Colonel's house for 8 of us. It was a perfect location for a large family event although while the house has plenty of charm it is in need of some upgrading.

We had a superb meal which was up to chez roux's usual high standards in the private dinning room with very attentive a knowledgeable staff. I can certainly recommend the cheese Soufflé starter and rhubarb Soufflé desert which are both so light that you barely need to worry about the calories!

If you are here for a few days golf on the unbeatable Scottish golf coast and your partner is need of a bit of pampering then I can recommend the near by Fletcher's Cottage Spa on the excellent Archerfield golf resort which is 2 minutes from the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Greywalls and for taking the time to post your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and private dining experience.

Hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

My husband got a voucher for here. Lovely quiet place to have dinner an to sit afterwards listening to the piano getting played. All staff willing to help. Couldn't fault dinner especially having warm bread.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AHA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest

Delighted to read you enjoyed your experience at Greywalls. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
12.4 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Address: Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greywalls Hotel And Chez Roux
Greywalls Hotel Muirfield
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing