We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Certificate of Excellence
Cala d'Or, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visit this restaurant at least twice a year, our last visit was last week, we had champagne and canapés outside on the tenth tee at Muirfield, it was a beautiful evening and a perfect setting for any golfer, but we were disappointed, we were a party of eight and seven of us ordered steaks, the waiting staff must have got the orders mixed and most of us had the wrong steak, my partners steak was returned to the kitchen twice, once because it was under cooked and secondly because it then arrived with sauce which was not ordered originally, which meant we had almost finished before he had started, and we all agreed that the quality of the steaks were not great, we finished the night in the library with our coffee, but had to wait for a seat, even though we were asked at the table by the waiter if we wished to sit in the library for our coffee, we foolishly assumed that a seat was available for us, all in all a disappointing, expensive night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w33pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that your experience fell short on this occasion. I know the Restaurant Manager spoke to you on the evening and again our apologies that the Rib Eye was not prepared correctly. Your custom and comments are appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    85
    21
    16
    5
See reviews for
83
253
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights in June 2014 on a golf trip. Since I gave Greywalls a so-so review after my last stay in 2012 I feel compelled to comment on my favorable recent stay. Our group of 4 stayed in The Colonel's House, a 4-5 bedroom house on the property, a pitching wedge away from the main hotel. Each of us had a bedroom with ensuite bath. All the hotel amenities with much more privacy.
Greywalls is an incredibly beautiful hotel / estate with wonderful gardens & grounds. Of course the draw here is Muirfield, but I could easily stay here with my wife & forego golf. Breakfast & dinner were excellent, staff uniformly pleasant & helpful. Being used to hotel prices in NYC, everywhere else seems like a bargain, Greywalls especially. In my opinion Greywalls is the only place to stay when playing Muirfield.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the golf course or gardens. If with a group, The Colonel's House i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbesho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest

Very kind of you to post a second review following your most recent stay at Greywalls. Glad you enjoyed the hospitality of the Colonel's House which, as you say, is ideal for small groups. I believe we do offer value for money, particularly with regard to our food offering and glad you feel the same. Till next time

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
311 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Visited again and as an aficionado of afternoon tea I can confirm this is the best in Edinburgh. This occasion was my birthday and my mothers had been earlier in the week. Savouries were great - smoked salmon and avocado on wasabi bread; roast ham and celariac and egg on curry bread. Cakes were to die for as usual ( the raspberry delice a favourite) and the most delicious scones. Our lovely waiter also brought a little happy birthday cake which was lovely and shows the attention to detail Greywalls is known for. The gardens are a bonus as stands on its food offering alone . Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest

Afternoon Teas are a real treat and Chef is very happy that enjoyed his offering. Glad we could help you enjoy your special day with your Mum.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed two nights in one of the cottages attached to the main house. Apparently our garden cottage was, at one time, the private 'loo' for King Edward VII. Completely refurbished since those days of course! The bedroom was simply furnished in calm relaxing style, and the bathroom was huge with bath and walk in shower. Our outlook was of course the garden, which is absolutely beautiful. The dining room, where breakfast and dinner was served, overlooks Muirfield golf course, and we noted that many golfers had chosen to stay at Greywalls. It was also apparent that the other guests included several different nationalities.
The food, as expected, was to a high standard and the service was attentive and unobtrusive. As we were staying in one of the cottages, we were able to have our two little dogs with us. This was a delightful place to stay and only about 5 miles from North Berwick.

Room Tip: Dog lovers can bring their dogs with them to the cottages. Dogs not allowed in main hotel. Our cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest

Delighted to see your enjoyed your stay in the Kings Loo. One of our most popular rooms with great views of the garden. Should you like golf, Ernie Els stayed in here when he won the Open in 2002 and Padraig Harrington stayed last year during the Open.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed two nights at Greywall in June, 2014. Rooms ok, breakfast excellent, service good,
Wi-fi very poor, like a third world country in that respect. We played Muirfield and this hotel is situated right next to Muirfield.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCrisci264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Wi-Fi signal is something we have upgraded in last two weeks. We have put in additional cabling and two new routers, hopefully you will notice the difference on your next visit.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As it is under the same management as Inverlochy Castle, we were expecting more.
On booking, we were given inaccurate information re disabled parking, apparently it's central booking - well, they should be better informed.
On arrival, Callum was great and looked after us very well whenever he was around. Also on the plus side, food was good, room fine with much appreciated view of the golf course and we enjoyed walking in the garden.
On the down side, we were not impressed with marquee in the walled garden which dominated the view from the corridor to our room. Presumably, there had been a wedding on the Saturday and it could not be dismantled until Monday morning. Understandable, but why leave it looking such a mess, debris in clear view, and I feel the room rate should have been adjusted to take account of the monstrosity.
Sunday evening we sat in a lounge area for 15 minutes without anyone coming anywhere near us. When my husband went to ask if we could order some food from the bar menu, he was snapped at and told they were very busy and we would have to wait. 5 minutes later, still nothing, so we just retreated to our room and had room service - not what we wanted really.
Another quibble: the hairdrier is attached to the wall in such a way that you have to stand over the toilet to use it - ugh!
All in all, a huge disappointment and we will stick to Inverlochy where we are always treated brilliantly well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halcyon_times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review and I apologise that your experience fell short on this occasion. As you say we did have a wedding the day prior to your visit but the marquee should have been in a clean a tidy state. While the Marquee is in secluded walled garden and does not obstruct views from your room I can appreciate this did not set a good impression. Your wait in the evening was unacceptable and I am sorry that this happened. We have a small dedicated team at Greywalls and I am sorry that the person came across in a discourteous manner, this was not his intention. I will look at the positioning of the hair dryers and thank you for this feedback. Your custom and comments are appreciated and should you wish to book again please contact me direct at gm@greywalls.co.uk.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

It's like going to a rather posh friend's house - for lunch in our case on Saturday. Warm, comfortable, friendly, outstanding food served in beautiful surroundings - and the rain cleared afterwards to allow a walk through the stunning gardens.
They even deduced we were celebrating my daughter's birthday and an appropriately decorated plate of petit fours appeared at the end of lunch with the coffees.
A minor slip up in the kitchen led to one of the party asking, not complaining in the slightest, about an item on his plate. The chef came out in person to explain and apologise. Afterwards we discovered a charge had been taken off the bill.....such was our enjoyment we insisted it went back on - that is the measure of a satisfied customer.
This was our third or fourth visit in recent months - each time the same high standards were on display. A great place showing off the best of this lovely part of Scotland.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Boatman100754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest

I am so glad that you enjoy Greywalls on such a regular basis. Your custom is appreciated and thank you for supporting us. No doubt we will see you again soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
12.4 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Address: Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greywalls Hotel And Chez Roux
Greywalls Hotel Muirfield
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing