We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We arrived last Sunday to have lunch not for the first time at Greywalls. Had aperitifs out in their sunny courtyard which was lovely.!
The menu we found very poor and limited in choice a selection of three in each course. We found the food very disappointing both in its execution and quality. The starters were fine but very small in quantity. We had both the lamb and the beef which we found very tough and certainly not the excellent quality which we have experienced here in the past. The choice of desserts for a beautiful warm sunny summer lunch was terribly disappointing rhubarb and apple crumble and french style bread and butter pudding more winter dessert than summer ones and again the quality was not what we are accustomed to. Yes there were a couple of ice creams or sorbets you could choose but on the whole the meal was totally lacking of inspiration. This certainly was not a meal you expect from a Roux establishment all four of us were bitterly disappointed and found the food very poor indeed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review and I am sorry that your recent experience fell short of your expectations. The fixed price daily menu for £26.50 is limited to 3 options for starter main and dessert. We always offer a soup, fish and meat starter and the mains generally feature a roast option on a Sunday, another meat option and a fish course. I am sorry if your found this limited. We always run the a la carte menu along side this which offers a further 5 options for each course and is charged individually. People are welcome to mix between the two menu should they wish. Rhubarb was in season when you dined with us but I take your point about using in a more summery fashion and I have passed this on to Chef. Your custom and comments are appreciated and please do contact me direct when you wish to rebook and I will ensure your experience is one to enjoy.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    85
    21
    16
    5
See reviews for
83
253
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was playing golf nearby, unfortunately not Muirfield, with my son. Booked two single rooms which were very comfortable. Unfortunately did not have dinner but the breakfast was as good as I have experienced anywhere. The staff could not have been more helpful. A beautiful location and its history surrounding golf is well documented and interesting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest

Next time you come you will have to play Muirfield. We get a small amount of tee times during the summer on Monday or Fridays. We are not advised of these until the November prior but always worth while asking when booking if there are any. Otherwise Muirfield have the Tuesday and Thursday public days, just book well in advance.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We visited this hotel fro dinner in April, it was smart but in a very friendly way the meal was really good value. If I was to complain about anything the person who brought us the menus forgot to come back and take our order. However a discrete word solved the issue.
After that the service and the food was faultless
the wine list was extensive with many bottles at reasonable prices
we will definitely go again
I should point out my ratings are based on my eating experience and the public rooms I did not stay

Room Tip: some great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_of_Ayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest

Glad you enjoyed your Chez Roux experience. Sorry the menus were not brought out more promptly, but that this did not detract from your evening.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala d'Or, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visit this restaurant at least twice a year, our last visit was last week, we had champagne and canapés outside on the tenth tee at Muirfield, it was a beautiful evening and a perfect setting for any golfer, but we were disappointed, we were a party of eight and seven of us ordered steaks, the waiting staff must have got the orders mixed and most of us had the wrong steak, my partners steak was returned to the kitchen twice, once because it was under cooked and secondly because it then arrived with sauce which was not ordered originally, which meant we had almost finished before he had started, and we all agreed that the quality of the steaks were not great, we finished the night in the library with our coffee, but had to wait for a seat, even though we were asked at the table by the waiter if we wished to sit in the library for our coffee, we foolishly assumed that a seat was available for us, all in all a disappointing, expensive night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w33pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that your experience fell short on this occasion. I know the Restaurant Manager spoke to you on the evening and again our apologies that the Rib Eye was not prepared correctly. Your custom and comments are appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights in June 2014 on a golf trip. Since I gave Greywalls a so-so review after my last stay in 2012 I feel compelled to comment on my favorable recent stay. Our group of 4 stayed in The Colonel's House, a 4-5 bedroom house on the property, a pitching wedge away from the main hotel. Each of us had a bedroom with ensuite bath. All the hotel amenities with much more privacy.
Greywalls is an incredibly beautiful hotel / estate with wonderful gardens & grounds. Of course the draw here is Muirfield, but I could easily stay here with my wife & forego golf. Breakfast & dinner were excellent, staff uniformly pleasant & helpful. Being used to hotel prices in NYC, everywhere else seems like a bargain, Greywalls especially. In my opinion Greywalls is the only place to stay when playing Muirfield.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the golf course or gardens. If with a group, The Colonel's House i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbesho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest

Very kind of you to post a second review following your most recent stay at Greywalls. Glad you enjoyed the hospitality of the Colonel's House which, as you say, is ideal for small groups. I believe we do offer value for money, particularly with regard to our food offering and glad you feel the same. Till next time

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
313 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Visited again and as an aficionado of afternoon tea I can confirm this is the best in Edinburgh. This occasion was my birthday and my mothers had been earlier in the week. Savouries were great - smoked salmon and avocado on wasabi bread; roast ham and celariac and egg on curry bread. Cakes were to die for as usual ( the raspberry delice a favourite) and the most delicious scones. Our lovely waiter also brought a little happy birthday cake which was lovely and shows the attention to detail Greywalls is known for. The gardens are a bonus as stands on its food offering alone . Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest

Afternoon Teas are a real treat and Chef is very happy that enjoyed his offering. Glad we could help you enjoy your special day with your Mum.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed two nights in one of the cottages attached to the main house. Apparently our garden cottage was, at one time, the private 'loo' for King Edward VII. Completely refurbished since those days of course! The bedroom was simply furnished in calm relaxing style, and the bathroom was huge with bath and walk in shower. Our outlook was of course the garden, which is absolutely beautiful. The dining room, where breakfast and dinner was served, overlooks Muirfield golf course, and we noted that many golfers had chosen to stay at Greywalls. It was also apparent that the other guests included several different nationalities.
The food, as expected, was to a high standard and the service was attentive and unobtrusive. As we were staying in one of the cottages, we were able to have our two little dogs with us. This was a delightful place to stay and only about 5 miles from North Berwick.

Room Tip: Dog lovers can bring their dogs with them to the cottages. Dogs not allowed in main hotel. Our cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest

Delighted to see your enjoyed your stay in the Kings Loo. One of our most popular rooms with great views of the garden. Should you like golf, Ernie Els stayed in here when he won the Open in 2002 and Padraig Harrington stayed last year during the Open.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
12.4 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Address: Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greywalls Hotel And Chez Roux
Greywalls Hotel Muirfield
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing