We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norwegian Invasion”
Review of Mallard Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gullane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mallard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Norwegian Invasion”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good value clean comfy rooms hospitable and accomodating hosts... perfect for a golfing holiday where warmth comfort and value for money are of primary concern. 4th time I have used this venue for various trips over last 4 yrs with different groups & not yet had a disenter .Will certainly use again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_D186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind comments following your recent stay at the Mallard.

We are delighted that you found a warm welcome, good food and comfy rooms.

As return visitors I am sure you noticed the results of our recent refurbishment of several of the bedrooms.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    22
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely evening meal in the Mallard it was beautifully cooked and the host was very friendly although we didnt stay at the hotel it was a very relaxed atmosphere and the food was delecious there was good parking and lovely open aspect

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent meal in the Mallard and that you found the welcome so friendly.

We agree with you that the hotel is beautifully situated overlooking the gold courses to the front and our lovely tranquil garden to the rear.

We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have be coming to the Mallard for over 20 years. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The food is always great with a wide selection available. It's location is perfect for a golf holiday with 3 courses on the door step and many more only a short drive away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments about the Mallard further to your recent visit.

As you rightly say we have three first class courses only a pitch and a putt from the front door - literally!

Our food from breakfast, lunch and dinner is we made from local produce and keeps the golfer on the go over 36 holes! we are very glad that you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Have just returned (May 2014) from our third visit in the last 4 years. We are a group from East Anglia who have been coming north for the superb golf in and around Gullane. Each visit has been successful in no small part due to our stay at the Mallard. This is truly a golfers' hotel. The restaurant serves excellent food with a very varied menu including different 'specials' every evening. The rooms are comfortable with most of the facilities one comes to expect these days. There is a residents' lounge and small bar - the former has WIFI. In addition there is a locker room in which to store your clubs.
The service is extremely good and nothing is too much trouble. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed - just what you want after a day on the links!
The Mallard does not pretend to be a luxury 5* hotel. It does exactly what it sets out to be . . . a superb venue for golfers.
We look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments about your recent stay at the Mallard.

Repeat business is very important to us with many parties of golfers returning year after year.

Of course golf is what attracts the majority of people to Gullane and they are spoiled for choice with 20 courses within a five mile radius of Gullane.

After a day on the course we hope that we offer you just what you need, a good meal served by friendly staff, a well deserved nightcap and a comfy bed!

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Mallard bar is a great alternative to the over-priced bars elsewhere in Gullane. Lovely food that is very reasonably priced. Good service too. Only downside is the lack of back-ground noise in the bar on quieter nights - could be doing with some music!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanLaw, Manager at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We do try to offer good value for money and are glad that you recognized this and enjoyed your meal so much. We take on board your suggestion about the back-ground music and will give it try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I stay at the hotel every February for a Riding for the Disabled Dinner. Our stays are always warm, welcoming and comfortable. The food is excellent and the staff so helpful. Lovely to wake up to a view over the links.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments about the hotel. We are glad that you found the staff friendly and the food good. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends to the Mallard again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I enjoyed a special family meal at this lovely hotel (I wasn't staying overnight so can't comment on the hotel facilities, just the restaurant) in January 2014. We were a fairly large party and I felt we were well catered for in terms of menu choice (including for gluten/ dairy free options as requested), the friendly & efficient service, lovely presentation of the food and a delicious meal. Overall, it was an excellent choice for a mixed age group party, especially for those who enjoy traditional British meals excellently done.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleRedLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments about your family birthday function. We are very glad that the menu, including the gluten-free items, were to your liking. As a family hotel we are happy to make these sorts of occasions special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
2.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
314 reviews
12.6 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
298 reviews
4.7 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallard Hotel

Property: Mallard Hotel
Address: East Links Road, Gullane EH31 2AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only pitch and a putt from the first tee, the Mallard offers a warm relaxing atmosphere to golfer and non-golfer alike! Whether you want to stay in our comfortable rooms, hold a party or wedding reception or just pop in for a meal you can be sure of a warm welcome from Cameron, Susan Law or a member of their friendly staff. Of course our main clientele come to enjoy the huge choice of golf courses in the area but there is so much more to Gullane, East Lothian and of course Edinburgh is a short train ride away. In such great walking countryside The Mallard welcomes dogs free of charge except in the rooms where food is served. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mallard Hotel Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing