We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money”
Review of Mallard Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gullane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mallard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a group of golfers. From check in to check out I was made to feel like an inconvenience. The evening meal was not very good, the soup was lentil but it could have been any sort of vegetable soup and you would not have been able to tell. My main course fish fillet was frozen and not fresh. The breakfast served in the morning was as bad as the evening meal. Possibly the most anemic piece of bacon I have ever seen served with rind still undercooked. The staff seemed to be disinterested and the host did not lead by example. At £70 for a single room, not value for money.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank George1957199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review of the Mallard.

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and considered the room poor value at £70 per night. I should explain that, regrettably, we do not have single rooms as such, but are happy to offer guests requiring single occupancy, the sole use of a twin room.

The rate for twin occupancy is £52 per person per night so we feel that single occupancy of a twin at £70 is a fair rate.

We are also very sorry that you did not enjoy the food served at the Mallard. We pride ourselves on offering food prepared from fresh local produce by myself and our chef and very much regret that this was not to your liking.

Our staff are trained to return to the table during meals to ask if guests are enjoying their meals but it seems that this was not done either during dinner or breakfast. If it had been done, and you had made your dissatisfaction known at the time we would have tried to rectify the situation.

As hosts we regret that you felt that the staff were disinterested and we shall take steps to improve this and ensure that every guest is given a warm welcome, leading of course by example.

We would welcome to opportunity, should you return, to rectify the bad impression you got of the Mallard during your last visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good value clean comfy rooms hospitable and accomodating hosts... perfect for a golfing holiday where warmth comfort and value for money are of primary concern. 4th time I have used this venue for various trips over last 4 yrs with different groups & not yet had a disenter .Will certainly use again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_D186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you very much for your very kind comments following your recent stay at the Mallard.

We are delighted that you found a warm welcome, good food and comfy rooms.

As return visitors I am sure you noticed the results of our recent refurbishment of several of the bedrooms.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely evening meal in the Mallard it was beautifully cooked and the host was very friendly although we didnt stay at the hotel it was a very relaxed atmosphere and the food was delecious there was good parking and lovely open aspect

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent meal in the Mallard and that you found the welcome so friendly.

We agree with you that the hotel is beautifully situated overlooking the gold courses to the front and our lovely tranquil garden to the rear.

We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have be coming to the Mallard for over 20 years. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The food is always great with a wide selection available. It's location is perfect for a golf holiday with 3 courses on the door step and many more only a short drive away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments about the Mallard further to your recent visit.

As you rightly say we have three first class courses only a pitch and a putt from the front door - literally!

Our food from breakfast, lunch and dinner is we made from local produce and keeps the golfer on the go over 36 holes! we are very glad that you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Have just returned (May 2014) from our third visit in the last 4 years. We are a group from East Anglia who have been coming north for the superb golf in and around Gullane. Each visit has been successful in no small part due to our stay at the Mallard. This is truly a golfers' hotel. The restaurant serves excellent food with a very varied menu including different 'specials' every evening. The rooms are comfortable with most of the facilities one comes to expect these days. There is a residents' lounge and small bar - the former has WIFI. In addition there is a locker room in which to store your clubs.
The service is extremely good and nothing is too much trouble. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed - just what you want after a day on the links!
The Mallard does not pretend to be a luxury 5* hotel. It does exactly what it sets out to be . . . a superb venue for golfers.
We look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind comments about your recent stay at the Mallard.

Repeat business is very important to us with many parties of golfers returning year after year.

Of course golf is what attracts the majority of people to Gullane and they are spoiled for choice with 20 courses within a five mile radius of Gullane.

After a day on the course we hope that we offer you just what you need, a good meal served by friendly staff, a well deserved nightcap and a comfy bed!

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Mallard bar is a great alternative to the over-priced bars elsewhere in Gullane. Lovely food that is very reasonably priced. Good service too. Only downside is the lack of back-ground noise in the bar on quieter nights - could be doing with some music!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanLaw, Manager at Mallard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We do try to offer good value for money and are glad that you recognized this and enjoyed your meal so much. We take on board your suggestion about the back-ground music and will give it try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stay at the hotel every February for a Riding for the Disabled Dinner. Our stays are always warm, welcoming and comfortable. The food is excellent and the staff so helpful. Lovely to wake up to a view over the links.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lindyloo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments about the hotel. We are glad that you found the staff friendly and the food good. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends to the Mallard again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
0.7 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
4 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,434 reviews
10.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
370 reviews
4 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Golf Inn
The Golf Inn
#1 of 5 in Gullane
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallard Hotel

Address: East Links Road, Gullane EH31 2AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range: £40 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only pitch and a putt from the first tee, the Mallard offers a warm relaxing atmosphere to golfer and non-golfer alike! Whether you want to stay in our comfortable rooms, hold a party or wedding reception or just pop in for a meal you can be sure of a warm welcome from Cameron, Susan Law or a member of their friendly staff. Of course our main clientele come to enjoy the huge choice of golf courses in the area but there is so much more to Gullane, East Lothian and of course Edinburgh is a short train ride away. In such great walking countryside The Mallard welcomes dogs free of charge except in the rooms where food is served. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mallard Hotel Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing