We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maple Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maple Cottage
Ranked #2 of 5 Gullane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stewarton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Complete Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I booked late and Maple cottage just happened to be what was available in the area. What an amazing piece of luck. I travel a lot with business and have stayed in many hotels / B&B's and apartments around the world. Maple Cottage is by far one of the best places I have stayed in, I normally find some area to make comment on, but everything from communications pre/post booking, to the cleanliness, quality of bedroom / bathroom furnishings, plus the additional benefit of having kitchen facilities and a well furnished lounge made this the perfect solution for our weekend away.
The owner kindly made reservations at the local brasserie for us in the evening where the food was really nice. Breakfast at Maple Cottage provided all options and the owner Heather was most accommodating.

If you are considering staying here I would highly recommend (Unless you are planning on booking the same weekends I wish to return, then you will need to find back somewhere else as there's only one place I am going back to)

You would be hard pushed to find somewhere with better service, better decoration and anywhere near as clean for the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMash278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    0
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
19
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seahouses, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Four of us on a walking holiday stayed at Maple Cottage and this is one of the very best B&B's we have stayed at. Great hosting, superbly appointed, immaculate and very comfortable. A "no fault" experience !

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just got back from a three night stay at Maple Cottage. Heather is a lovely friendly host who works incredibly hard to ensure you get the service you want. The rooms have been decorated to a very nice standard and the breakfasts were really good. All four of our golfing party thought what great value it was and we will return next year. I dislike recommending anything generally but this is an exception. You won't be disappointed. Bill

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrislorne888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st boswells
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I nothing but good things to say about my stay at Maple Cottage,
Heather is great host and knows how to look after you, Maple cottage is in immaculate condition through out and the bed was very comfortable, good breakfast choice, I could not fault it and would recommend Maple cottage to anyone looking for a place to stay in Gullane.
Thank you Heather

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisstboswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

See the reviews below, I can only confirm them. Heather is a superb host and runs a wonderful place. Excellent rooms and facilities and a host that makes you feel right at home. For a golf holiday, look no further. Gerne wieder!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank swissmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We came to Gullane to play golf.
Heather's perfect b&b is less than 200 yards from the golf courses. And only yards form the centre of the village. It is quiet, very, very cozy, beautifully furnished and is the perfect place to stay in Gullane. Visitors have a big comfy lounge with huge TV, a guest kitchen where you can make cups of tea and coffees anytime, and there is a large summerhouse in the lovely garden with reclining sofas for sunny days... Or any day !
The bathrooms are new and modern with walk in showers and lashings of hot water. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished and spacious.
Heather made us very welcome and couldn't do enough for us...

Just round the corner is the Old Clubhouse, which is THE place to eat in Gullane, the food is all homemade, tasty and very reasonably priced.... We recommend that you call in and book a table in the restaurant as it is very popular and busy. Even when it is busy, the service is quick and friendly... A great place to eat.

Maple Cottage is the best place we have stayed .... we will definitely be back...

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool ! Whoops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeaninwhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights at Maple Cottage.We received a very warm welcome from Heather and immediately felt very much at home in her beautiful bed and breakfast accommodation. Everything was so fresh and her choice of furnishings has to be praised.
We will certainly be back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craigtoun27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
0.6 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
3.9 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
4.6 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
12.0 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Cottage

Property: Maple Cottage
Address: 6A Hall Crescent, Gullane EH31 2HA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gullane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Cottage is set in its own grounds, right in the centre of Gullane within easy walking distance to Gullane Golf Courses. We are located just off the main street with its selection of shops, restaurants and amenities all close by. We have three modern en-suite bedrooms, that can be either twin or double. Use of large sitting room, tea & coffee facilities, fridge and outside seating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maple Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Cottage Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing