We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable accommodation in Gullane.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 The Hawthorns

Everything you need for a comfortable stay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Everything you need for a comfortable stay
The sun is shining - time to go 'TO THE BEACH'!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Everything you need for a comfortable stay
The sun is shining - time to go 'TO THE BEACH'!
Stay warm beside 'Little Red'
2 singles or 1 super-king
Outside dining area
A place to relax and enjoy the evening sun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gullane, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mamoooosa
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable accommodation in Gullane.”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a very good place. Compact, very well equipped annexe to the main house, where the friendly owner lives. Very well appointed. Everything in this house has been chosen to cater for the needs of the visitors. Great beds, quality bedding. We enjoyed the coffee machine - nice small detail that makes lot of difference. Good shower. Very clean place (trust me, I am fussy). Enough space for our family with grown up sons, to have supper after day at the beach or in the city. We have used this place as a base for golf in Gullane and daily trips to Edinburgh for the Fringe festival. (It is about 40 minutes by car, which was fine with us). This accommodation allows dogs which is a fantastic bonus. There are lovely paths along the Muirfield golf course down do the beautiful Gullane beach. There is a small patio on the back with a lovely eucalyptus under which you can sit and relax. So I guess its all thumbs up from us. We will go back. Thank you Adria.
PS There is a German baker in Gullane Falko, first rate cake and rye breads...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how well appointed the house was
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thanks for the positive review. It was nice to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhino1chr...
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“1 The Hawthorns - Gullane”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely clean and tidy accommodation in quiet location in Gullane. The accommodation is well equipped and is ideal for 2 people. We booked also because it was dog friendly. We had enjoyed the long walks up the coast as access to the beach is very close and easy. Gullane offered just what we wanted quiet, cafes and places to eat which were dog friendly and a game of golf. We would certainly use this accommodation again and hope to return next summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan C
2 reviews
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very good location and cottage lovely and had everything needed. Quiet and peaceful but within easy reach of beautiful beach and town centre. Definitely recommend and loved having private garden.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MhairiEdi...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful peaceful well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed for a week with a 3yr old and 13 yr old. The cottage is next to the owner's home but very private with secluded rear patio area with seating. Inside it was extremely well equipped and clean. The kitchen appliances are very modern with a spacious fridge with freezer box. I catered a lot and had all the utensils, pots etc I needed. We were greeted on arrival by Adria who very kindly had unpacked my tesco food delivery and had left milk and a lovely bottle of wine. There was a large TV and lots of books and games. Wifi was excellent much to older son's delight who set up his wii and Netflix. The beds were extremely comfortable and we all slept so well, which is something that's been lacking in previous places I've stayed. We lit the burner one night which was very warm and a lovely atmosphere.
Gullane itself is a lovely place to stay, so close to North Berwick yet without its parking problems and over crowding in the summer months.
We enjoyed visits to the beaches at Gullane and Seacliff, the play parks in Gullane, Dirleton, North Berwick and Dunbar, ceramic painting/soft play in Dunbar (Splatz), Dirleton Castle, Museum of Flight, Myreton Motor Museum, Foxlake, East Links, North Berwick swimming pool (inflatable for older kids and trampolines), Falkos cafe, the Smithy gift shop, N Berwick seabird centre cafe, Dunbar harbour, adventure playground at John Muir country park. Our weather was mixed but there was still plenty to do.
Definitely would love to return to this cottage which is a great base for exploring East Lothian and a delightful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds, the peacefulness, the cleanliness, the area
Liked least: Oven was very high tech I had to study the instruction manual
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thanks for your very positive review Mhairi. It was lovely meeting you all and, yes, hopefully see you again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ej2367
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for four nights in this lovely property. Very comfy and nice homely feel. Great location a short walk from town and the beach.

So, would have no hesitation to recommend, clean, comfy and very peaceful location with dog friendly back garden and plenty of nice walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of property
Liked least: Nothing bad...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arglesnz
Carrog, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Couldn't wish for anything better.”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A wonderful 4day break. And yes, the weather does help. 3 mornings we walked in glorious sunshine on the beach before breakfast. The other morning we watched it rain, hail and snow!
This didn't matter,as the flat has everything, from books, games and videos, to a coffee machine.even with the terrible weather it was a warm, comfortable property to stay hold up in.
The kitchen is well equipped with everything needed to cook a meal, and the beds are very comfortable, the whole flat is decorated to a high standard, we loved staying there, and will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lornam154
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place for a Seaside Escape”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Gullane, and neighbouring North Berwick, are favourite places and we are delighted to have now found '1 The Hawthorns' which we will definitely recommend and return to.

Although purpose built and adjacent to the owner's home the accommodation is characterful and private. We loved the décor and design which was modern with some fun touches. The Nespresso machine with supply of coffee pods and the log burner with stock of logs were thoughtful treats which made our stay special. The bed was comfortable, the linen crisp and the place was fresh & bright.

The secluded rear garden was a perfect sun trap - we even managed an hour reclining on the stripy deck chairs!

We met Adria on arrival and again on the morning of departure but otherwise we were not interrupted which suited us perfectly.

Our view is that the accommodation suits a couple perfectly - it might be a squeeze with four adults despite the two bedrooms (we used the second bedroom for our bags).

A few minutes walk to either the beach or the small town of Gullane which has plenty of eating and drinking options and some nice shops to browse. Don't miss the opportunity to pick up a slice of gateau from Falko the German bakery or enjoy a drink outside The Old Clubhouse when the weather is fine overlooking the children's golf course to the hills beyond.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thanks Lorna. Look forward to seeing you both again some time. Adria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing