We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“vERY COSY”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 The Hawthorns

Everything you need for a comfortable stay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Everything you need for a comfortable stay
The sun is shining - time to go 'TO THE BEACH'!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Everything you need for a comfortable stay
The sun is shining - time to go 'TO THE BEACH'!
Stay warm beside 'Little Red'
2 singles or 1 super-king
Outside dining area
A place to relax and enjoy the evening sun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gullane, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maryandke...
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“vERY COSY”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The main interest is golf in this area. But it also has a great beach. This is a small apartment style cottage which is lovely. Everything very clean and welcoming. Thankyou to Adria for the bottle of wine on arrival. North Berwick is a must to visit with a natural paddling pool when the tide goes out, and some lovely shops and cafes. Edinburgh is half an hour away, also the next village at Dirleton has a lovely pub/resturant. Thanks Adria for letting us use her cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Thanks for your lovely review Mary. Nice to meet you and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy base”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cosy base for our family as we attended wedding at Greywalls. Had everything we needed and noted a great attention to detail, ensuring we had a comfortable stay. Cosy courtyard patio was a little sun trap .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Thanks for your positive review Louise and glad to hear the wedding went well. Very best. Adria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamster92
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, just beautiful.”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Gullane is a very pleasant little village and is in striking distance of Edinburgh (and even Glasgow!) as well as attractions such as the Scottish Seabird Centre, Tantallon Castle (stunning views) and the National Museum of Flight, all of which we visited. And near the beach, where we witnessed a couple of gorgeous sunsets.
The cottage itself is pretty much perfect and very cosy and quiet. We would recommend it to anyone, and we received a very warm welcome from our hostess Adria (and considering our difficult journey and the accompanying torrential rain it needed to be warm!)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thanks so much for your glowing and beautifully written review. We're delighted to know that we could give you what you needed and that you had a good holiday. Very best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely week at this well equipped, clean,comfortable flat in Gullane. Walking distance to beautiful beach and surrounding visitor attractions. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thanks for your positive comments, glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks also for your recommendation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location for dog lovers”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had an enjoyable week here, and were not disappointed with either the accommodation or location, and lucky enough to get decent weather too. The Hawthorns looked great in the 'album' and did not disappoint. And our four legged baby just loved the beach - and nearby pub!
We'll definitely be back - and hopefully soonerthan later!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
A wonderful review, thank you. Look forward to welcoming you - and the exceptionally lovely baby - again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel P
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay. It's a quick drive to the beach and there's lots of kids stuff to do in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thanks for your review and nice to meet you. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Very best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Thanks for this great review and compliments and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again some time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing