We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of Ladysmith House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ladysmith House
Ranked #17 of 46 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay in this very pleasant B and B. Although we hadn't booked, we were immediately shown to a lovely upstairs family room (with ensuite) and welcomed with a nice cup of tea for me (and a wine glass for my partner!).

Ladysmith House is set back a few streets from Ullapool's lovely harbour, but what our room might have lacked in terms of a view was more than made-up for by its spaciousness, cleanliness, and excellent value for money. Everything was within easy walking distance, there was plenty of parking on the streets outside (the B and B has a nice corner location), and our room was quiet and very comfortable. Our host - Pauline - was delightful. Friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful: - we were looking for a "cheap and cheerful" meal that night and her recommendation was spot-on. Breakfast came with a wide range of delicious options and was served piping hot in the pleasant dining room: I loved the tartan carpets and the tall ships/nautical theme!

I would highly recommend this B and B for travellers like us - a middle-aged couple on a road-trip. Staying here was a real treat!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RozM39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Following my review of this B&B last year I have just been back for my annual trip to the Ullapool Guitar Festival (If you like acoustic guitar music this festival is a must.)
Ladysmith is a real home from home, comfortable rooms lovely breakfasts and owners who go out of their way to make sure you have a good time.
If only all B&B's were like Ladysmith.

Room Tip: Single rooms don't have an en suite but they are very reasonably priced. There are only two sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

me and my partner visited ullapool and stayed at the ladysmith house. what a lovely time we had we was well taken care of by pauline and nev the whole time we were there and made us very welcome they took the time to show us some amazing places to go visit (stunning) the room we stayed in was stunning,clean, well equiped.breakfast time was in a lovely dining area really clean and well looked after decor had vintage items with a lovely homely feel to it with lovely quiet classic 40s music playing in the background breakfast well was very top notch big choice and they will cater to your needs fruit was really fresh, salmon was very fresh ( must try this),full english was nicely cooked (not greasy ) and the black pudding was delish. we had the most amazing time and look forward to visiting again as soon as we can and have recommended to friends and family you wont be disapointed :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jolie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Lovely Family, Lovely Place, Lovely Rooms. Need I say more. Really attentive. Excellent value for money. The salmon for breakfast is a must try, even my 4 year old loved it! Location off the front so really peaceful. Only less than 2 minute walk to the front harbour. Rooms were very comfortable. Pauline and nev are very approachable people. I would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigears281978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Unfortunately we were there on a tour and only had one short night here, but what little time we had was very impressive. The house was built in a cottage style and very well taken care of - see the photo. The room we had was small, but very comfortable and - wonder of wonders - the shower was not the cramped glass cubicle we had become used to in other B&Bs.

We both loved the decor which was ship models - which I am really into - and fishing gear. I wish we had had more time to look around, but we had a ferry to catch and couldn't stay.

The breakfast was oustanding... I was torn among the porridge, the salmon and the kippers. I opted for the smoked salmon which was heaven.

If you ever have the chance to stay here, we would strongly suggest you do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yarwak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We'd recommend Ladysmith to other travellers. The welcome was warm, the room very clean and comfortable (although the single bed didn't have a bedside reading light), and the breakfast was freshly cooked and just delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hwitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a lovely stay here. The room was immaculate - great decor and clean to perfection. Tea and coffee facilities and wifi provided, which is a good start to any stay away from home! Owner Pauline is an absolutely star and made us feel incredibly welcome. Breakfast was delicious and in perfect Scottish countryside surroundings. Can't fault this place - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorwichExpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ullapool hotels
0.1 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arch Inn
The Arch Inn
#5 of 46 in Ullapool
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#7 of 46 in Ullapool
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladysmith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladysmith House

Address: 24 Pulteney Street, Ullapool IV26 2UP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Highland stone house built in 1888 and situated 100 yards from the pier in a quiet area away from the main street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ladysmith House Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing