We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute B&B, sweet hosts, small issues” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ladysmith House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ladysmith House
Ranked #22 of 51 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cute B&B, sweet hosts, small issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Love Ullapool. The B&B is on a cute street very handy to the center, around the corner from the harbour basically. The house is clean and decorated with a lot of model ships and other little treats. The negatives though: the room we had (#5) was sweet in some ways, facing the garden though quite small, which is OK, but the bathroom was miniature with the tiniest sink ever seen and a shelf placed just over it so you couldn't actually use it without stooping severely. The toilet took several efforts to flush then when it does finally the water runs for five minutes. The ceiling light is so low you have to watch your head, the bathroom door doesn't close properly, the lock on the door to the room works backwards and the knob doesn't work at all. WIFI worked only sporadically.
Still the hostess is a kind person, and friendly, and the breakfast is good, with excellent porridge in particular. With all the B&B breakfasts we've been getting fat on we opted to not eat too much of theirs, but it was all good. So we can recommend this place, with the caveat that you have to be prepared for some slightly Mickey Mouse qualities in an otherwise fine place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 56monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    20
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
47
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I don't get time 'on my own' very often being a dad of a family. Myself and a friend visited on our motorbikes. We were made very welcome and were offered super advise on where we should visit. This advice made this the best trip ever. Food was great and chats with Vincent in particular made this the best lads trip ever. Stay here if you want quality and the human touch!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I just stayed here and everything about it was great. I was with an REI hiking group (also terrific), and stayed 2 nights. The beds are comfortable, there are bathrooms in most rooms and the tartan plaid carpeting makes for a cheerful welcome. The proprietors, Pauline and Niven are wonderful. They were helpful, answered all our questions and took care of us as if we were old friends. And the food - she is an amazing cook. Everything I ate there was delicious and she even put up with me asking for a meatless Yorkshire pudding, which was excellent. The breakfasts were great big Scottish breakfasts with porridge, eggs, kippered herring and more, that gave us the energy to hike. And the dessert - also great. Thank you, Pauline and Niven, for making my trip to Scotland a great one.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine, just ask if you want to make sure if it's ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LongTimeTravelerNYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

stayed here for one night like last year, top of our list for the area. excellent host,s, nothing is too much trouble. arrived after a Scottish down pour soaked gloves and boots niv took them straight off us, perfectly dry in morning, thanks for that. a very clean, comfortable stay, good breakfast cooked to perfection. anyone new to area just ask niv he will tell you all the best scenic routes in Scotland. would recommend the ladysmith to anyone wanting a stay in ullapool. once again many thanks. will see you next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronicaandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a brilliant B and B. On arrival we were welcomed with a pot of tea and a couple of kit-kats. We took the last room which was the family room,at a reduced price. The breakfast was the best we had whilst in Scotland; plenty of it with fresh fruit, porridge, yoghurt, etc full Scottish breakfast or locally smoked kipper, smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. The owner was very helpful in advising us on the best scenic drives.. Near to a couple of pubs for evening meal. Would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent three good nights at Ladysmith House. Rooms were very comfortable. Twin was en-suite. Two of us with single rooms shared a bathroom (which was for us only.) Pauline cooked for us one night, excellent quality and quantity for people off the hills.

There's not a dedicated drying room but Niv got us space to get everything hung up - sadly often necessary after a Scottish hill day.

Breakfasts were good and Niv and Pauline's approach was very flexible. They arranged access for one of the party who was delayed and arrived well after midnight.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David-U-Weir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Niv & Paula were ideal hosts. The facilities were good and the hospitality & meals excellent. I was a solo traveler in June, 2013 and they made me feel exceptionally welcomed. Would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.1 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
0.1 mi away
Ullapool Youth Hostel
Ullapool Youth Hostel
#4 of 7 in Ullapool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladysmith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladysmith House

Property: Ladysmith House
Address: 24 Pulteney Street, Ullapool IV26 2UP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Highland stone house built in 1888 and situated 100 yards from the pier in a quiet area away from the main street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ladysmith House Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing