We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - but some downsides”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Broomfield Holiday Park
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location - but some downsides”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed on this site for two nights at the end of a trip through the Outer Hebrides. The location is superb and the pitches are level. Unfortunately our stay was spoiled as the water system within the facilities block did not appear to function well meaning showers and dish washing facilities offered only lukewarm water. Added to this the reception was rarely manned which we found surprising given the size of the site. There was also a significant noise from the ferry point which is being refurbished.T
his went on all through the night. All in all a bit disappointing and expensive for what was offered..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    27
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
48
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I initially found the campsite appealing, good location, well maintained, level pitches, clean facilities etc But was soon to discover the fatal flaw of the location, it is a few minutes away from the harbour and during the night there is machinery running: noisy diesel engines and a horrible sound that I can only compare to that of the burners of a giant hot air balloon being blasted, 15 seconds on, 15 seconds off... ALL THROUGH THE NIGHT!! Even ear plugs didn't help!
Many members of my group were complaining in the morning and one said how he'd been the year before and encountered the same problem, so it's not just a one off!
Given that many people staying at this campsite will be walkers and climbers attempting dangerous routes, I would say that it is not suitable for those people - or anyone who values a decent night's sleep!
I came home absolutely exhausted after 3 days there! One of our party fell and injured themselves and had to be airlifted to hospital and I can't help but wonder if lack of sleep played a part in this!
Also, the site office is closed bar 1 hour each day and the receipts for bookings have 'NO REFUNDS' stamped across them... wonder why!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bethechange69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

its amazing i found it very clean and the cleaners are in every couple of hours or so. i love it as the views are amazing and staff are very friendly. it is also very child friendly as there is lots of green grass to play on and there is also a park. i loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This campsite is large, a simple layout, working showers, comfortable toilet and shower block, clean well looked after, accept dogs and is well priced. We rang ahead and greeted by a very polite and friendly voice who said the site is open all night with no gates to stop late comers. As we were arriving after 11pm this was welcome. The owners came around 8:30 am to collect the fees and accept cards. Although many people had dogs on the site there was no disturbance by them and the site was clear of any dog mess. A beautiful setting looking over the water and across to the other side of the loch. We will go again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexs81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nethy Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We haven't been to Broomfield for five years,we went back for a quick trip on Tuesday 6th May.

The campsite is very well kept, the grass is alway cut and there are plenty of hookup points and good level pitches.
The scenery is stunning and the sunsets are breathtaking, the shops and the pubs are only a few minutes walk away.
Of all the camp sites we have been to, this is still on our top 4.
The only negative comment I would have is that the toilet block could do with a makeover, whilst it was spotless it just looks slightly outdated.

Apart from that, go there, you will not be disappointed, the west coast of Scotland at its best!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have stayed at Broomfield annually for the past 8 years. Yes, it is not perfect, the facilities could do with updating, in particular the showers and the fact you pay for them even though you are paying a pretty hefty pitch fee. The site itself could not be in a better position, right on the water and if you get the weather, the best view of a West Coast sunset. Toilets have always been clean, although dated. The owners are extremely friendly and do drive round in the morning to collect fees if you have not paid the afternoon before, my advice would be to arrive before half 5 if you can especially if you don't won't woken in the morning!
There are a number of excellent restaurants, pubs and cafes all within walking distance of the site as well as a swimming pool and tennis courts. There is a good size Tesco in Ullapool too.
As for the negative reviews, yes, if you want electricity on the front then you have to hire a cable protector but it is only a deposit that you pay and this is refunded in full on the day you leave. The deposit used to be much less but due to campers not returning it the cost had to be increased. When the site is busy people do park far too close to others but sadly this is your fellow campers that are being ignorant and ignoring site rules not the campsite owners! Over the years we have seen the owners tell several inconsiderate people that they are too close and need to move.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank VMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

If location was everything, this would be an easy five stars. Get a pitch overlooking Loch Broom and the rugged hills behind it and you will be rewarded by stunning sunsets and the occasional CalMac ferry coming in from Stornoway.

The facilities are OK but nothing special. The shower block is clean but feels a bit 'tired' and the drainage isn't perfect. No Wifi (even to pay for) is a pain nowadays when you rely on an iPad for entertainment. The reception is rarely manned but honesty envelopes are left for campers planning to leave before the 9am site fee rounds.

Worth a stop for one night but don't plan to linger longer.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tartanpenguin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ferry Boat Inn
The Ferry Boat Inn
#41 of 45 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ullapool Youth Hostel
Ullapool Youth Hostel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#2 of 4 in Garve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broomfield Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomfield Holiday Park

Property: Broomfield Holiday Park
Address: Shore St, Ullapool, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ullapool
Also Known As:
Broomfield Holiday Park Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing