We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarin Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tamarin Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 51 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“5 star stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This is 5 star b&b accommodation which made a great stopover for the ferry to lewis. We stayed as a family of 4 including 2 teenage children. The kids had separate rooms with a shared private bathroom and we had a large double with on suite and dressing room. Everything wad in great condition and was good value for money. We all enjoyed the breakfast and if your lucky enough to get their own free range eggs your in for a treat ( scrambled eggs better than any 5 star hotel).

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
129
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hellifield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

First and foremost, it was a breath of fresh air that a one night booking wasn't an issue. We arrived rather late and in a bedraggled state after two nights wild camping in the mountains, but we were made more than welcome. Richard even phoned a local restaurant to secure a table for us before they stopped serving food. The accommodation was first class and basically, Val & Richard couldn't do enough to help. A couple who recognise they are in a service industry and aim to give excellent service....they succeed, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We don't normally stay in bed and breakfasts, however, thought we would give this one a try and we were not disappointed. We had a lovely room at the front overlooking the bay with our own private balcony and stunning views. Room was very comfortable and bathroom nice with all the usual extras provided. Its a bit of a trek for dinner, so we opted to take the car, it was a bit chilly and windy when we stayed, however, I would imagine on a nice evening would be a lovely walk. Richard and Val are lovely hosts and make you feel very welcome. Would have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Our room had the loch view at the front of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and were really pleasantly surprised. We expected it to me nice based on previous reviews but it was fantastic. When we arrived the room i'd asked for wasn't available as some guests had decided to stay on another night. We were shown two other rooms to choose from and we went for the one with the huge bath and gorgeous bathroom - what a great place to soak after a day out walking! The views were absolutely spectacular and Ullapool itself is a gorgeous, bustling little place. It is only a short walk into the centre from here (with lovely scenery en-route) but it is uphill on the way home! Breakfasts were great too and the hosts were incredibly helpful and friendly. We really hope to return one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Bellroys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here for 1 night as part of a hill walking trip. The B and B is a little out of Ullapool meaning a walk of about a mile into town for dinner. But this is more than compensated by the wonderful views, the friendly hosts, the lovely rooms and the tasty breakfast. Although I was on my own they gave me one of the bigger rooms. Reasonably priced.
I would definitely return there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great B&B! My husband and I stayed here for one night in February 2014 - we were the only guests there but the place was lovely. Big, clean, comfortable room with separate dressing room and bathroom plus great views across the loch. Friendly hosts, tasty breakfast, no complaints what-so-ever, in fact we wished we could stay longer! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWEZZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stopped at Tamarin Lodge on our way back to Inverness. It is a superb BB, we had an excellent sleep! HUGE bedroom, the mattress certainly one of the best i have ever slept on! Lovely hosts, and an incredible view! We were amazed by the quality of the BB! Would definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0dr1g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
1.0 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
11.8 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
16.9 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
0.8 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#23 of 51 in Ullapool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarin Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarin Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tamarin Bed & Breakfast
Address: 9 Braes, Ullapool IV26 2SZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Tamarin Bed & Breakfast Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing