We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dromnan Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dromnan Guest House
Ranked #21 of 51 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed here for one night during May.
Convienently placed within walking distance of town.We recieved a warm welcome with tea and homebakes.Our room was on the small side but clean. Ample parking was provided just outside the property. The lounge was large and had plenty of space for reading or watching TV.
The breakfast was very good, served by friendly staff with fabulous views across the Loch.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orkneycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    34
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have stayed at Dromnan (still can't figure out the name!) around 3 or 4 times now over the last few years and it has always retained the same qualities of efficiency, good food, scrupulous cleanliness, excellent accomodation together with a friendly welcome from Charlotte, our host and her staff. Well appointed rooms benefit from great views along Loch Broom and Ullapool town is only a short walking distance with its shops, restaurants and pubs as well as boat trips to see the wildlife, birds, seals, sea otters and if you are lucky...the odd whale. Our 3 day stay at Dromnan gave us once again the opportunity to tour the Highlands and to sample the excellent and good value food provided by the hardworking local restaurants. Luckily, this year the midges didn't bite as much due to the weather conditions so that was a benefit.

Highly recommended - well done Charlotte!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandtourerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

A lovely welcoming place to stay. Fantastic breakfasts and Charlotte Macdonald and the other breakfast staff made the whole stay lovely. Wonderful views from the breAkfast room across the loch. Pleasant walk along the shore into Ullapool direct from the garden would love to return

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_F19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

A repeat visit on 21/04/2012. Great B&B with wonderful breakfast room overlooking Loch Broom. Short path to lochside from the garden. Plenty of parking. Host is friendly. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Loch Broom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at Dromnan last year for 3 nights.
Charlotte and her staff made a great effort to ensure your stay was a very friendly and welcome stay. The bedrooms were spotless and the Breakfast Conservatory had stunning views over the sea.Both the cooked food and of choice of food was plenty, something for everyone.
I would not hesitate to stay there again and would recommend Dromnan to anyone and will stay there next time we visit the stunning area.
Many thanks Charlotte.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary_mollart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed here one night during my week-long road trip up into the Highlands. It was a well-priced, the view was great, and the breakfast was delicious. It's also a reasonable walk into Ullapool. Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jps81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Very welcoming owner, our room was warm, comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was great with a huge selection, even vegetarian options.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraslet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
4.6 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
0.0 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#23 of 51 in Ullapool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromnan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromnan Guest House

Property: Dromnan Guest House
Address: Garve Road, Ullapool IV26 2SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Dromnan Guest House Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing