We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and very welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dromnan Guest House
Ranked #22 of 46 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Perfect location and very welcoming”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights the room was spotlessly clean with beautiful views of the Loch both from the room and the lounge / Dining room.

The breakfast was excellent with really nice service from Kaylie and Christine...... The owner is very friendly and obviously knowledgeable of the surrounding area.

Secure parking is provided. There is a nice walk to the town along the shore and also an easy and quick (15 mins) walk along the road.

Ullapool has lots of good places to eat and drink, the area is a great base for walking and enjoying unspoilt areas of Scotland.

I would be surprised if we don't visit again.........we will definitely recommend Ullapool and Dromnan.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank david7star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    34
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Recently spent 4 nights at this excellent B&B. Very good sized family room although we were allocated a small double room at the front of the house for the first night. This was probably due to booking difficulties but it was too small for a couple in my view and I would not have been happy to be there for more than 1 night. Beautiful views and a lovely large garden to sit in. Could have benefited from the offer of tea and coffee etc. if time was spent in the garden. One of the best breakfasts I've ever had in a B&B.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have magnificent views. Room at the front of the hotel too small for a couple othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location with a private path down to the beach and a short walk into town. The room was great and very quiet. Breakfast was just fine. We would definitely return here. The guest lounge was one of the best I've seen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkingsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ligueil, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

this B&B has a magnificent view on the loch. It is clean and tidy. The breakfast is welll presented and is refined. We really liked the dishes and linen. Only bad point: the bathroom is too small. But we might come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, ayrshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

As they were 6 of us we booked 2 family rooms sleeping 3 in each. The rooms consisted of a double bed and a single. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious with plenty of drawer & cupboard space. One had a lovely few over the water and the other a view over the garden. These rooms were decorated to a high standard and had tea and coffee facilities with nice biscuits which my kids enjoyed. For breakfast there was a good choice if cereal, fresh fruit and croissants which my kids enjoyed along with fresh orange juice and yoghurt a and cereal bars. Toast, tea and coffee were offered along with a cooked breakfast which was delicious only thing missing was a good tattie scone. I would recommend this establishment.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ayrshirelass79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It was lovely to return to this lovely B and B, which feels like a home from home. Comfortable rooms and a superlative view over the water while you are eating your breakfast. The breakfast is varied and plentiful and the owner very friendly. Lovely tea and shortbread to greet us too. Highly recommended

Room Tip: There are downstairs rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheProf1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

we visited Ullapool rather late in October and chose Dromnan Guest House as we drove along a road which seemed to have a lot of accommodation options. We were met by the owner and allocated a room upstairs with a view overlooking the water. We were offered cups of tea and biscuits, both of which were welcome. There wasn't anything that I could describe as wrong with this rather large establishment but it seemed to be very much a business and lacked that personal touch one generally finds at b&b's. In fairness we'd not stayed at a guest house before and, based on this experience, probably would avoid one another time. The owners have been in the business for many years and everything is clean, tidy and efficient from check in to check out - it just left me feeling as if we were two of a long, long line of guests with whom it wasn't necessary to have much interaction - perhaps the size of the place makes it difficult to achieve this. The views from the house are lovely and we enjoyed a short stroll on the rocky beachfront.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the water would be preferable. They also face away from what I imagine could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOHADIVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
604 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
0.0 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromnan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromnan Guest House

Property: Dromnan Guest House
Address: Garve Road, Ullapool IV26 2SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Dromnan Guest House Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing