We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it”
Review of The Ceilidh Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ceilidh Place
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Agree with other reviewers about the slightly shabby room and bathroom but the lounge was comfortable and the food absolutely delicious. Hake - fantastic! Kippers - wonderful! Incredibly friendly staff too. We'd definitely stay there again :-)


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    93
    41
    33
    29
See reviews for
55
143
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for two nights as a group of four. Our greeting and subsequent treatment by staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a comfortable twin room for the first night but had a problem with the shower ( It stopped working when my husband was mid shower) also no privacy as the main window had no blind so the option was a dark room or exposure! When we mentioned the problem with the shower and realised a double room near by had become available, the staff were happy for us to change rooms and we were given a small 'drought' refund for the problem. Someone also mentioned the used soap in the bathrooms - we found this very strange and a bit off putting. That was all that was provided in terms of toiletries so it might be better not to provide anything and make it clear that people need to provide their own. Breakfast was ok, not great, despite the menu saying there were rolls and pastries available on the table, they had to be asked for, toast was cold and butter minimal, dinner was pricey but pretty good. One of the main attractions is the sitting area which has a lovely atmosphere, a well stocked library, lots of different teas , coffee and hot chocolate available 24/7 ( better than tea/coffee in the room) and an honesty bar. Overall it is the friendly staff and sitting area that we will remember and which gives it a rating of 4 otherwise we agree with previous comments that it's over-priced at £154 per room per night - £77 per person

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellej1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland and New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I ran a hotel and restaurant in Scotland for 20 years and always wanted to visit and stay at the Ceilidh Place in Ullapool as I noted it's continuing reputation for good food and friendly staff. Finally i had the opportunity to go and despite the hefty B&B price of £155 for 2 sharing a room, i booked. The West Coast of Scotland, after all, is more expensive as their season is short. I dismissed a poor review on TripAdvisor and also a note from someone saying it was like a grown-up hostel. Which it is.
From the outside it looks good and the staff were indeed friendly.The room was disappointingly small with curtained off shelves for the wardrobe and a hand-basin against the wall in the bedroom. The pull-up curtain arrangement had seen better days and it was impossible to shut out the street, so no privacy. The bathroom was worse. There was a net curtain but I had to use the loo and shower with the light on but no curtain to shut out people outside looking straight into our first floor rooms. No privacy then. Then I looked around. The paint on the window was peeling off. The windows filthy. The paint on the window and some of the glass of the window panes were coated with black mould. The net curtain was filthy. There was no toilet roll holder. There was a piece off wood on the side of the bath pushed in. There was no TV, and no tea/coffee making facilities in the room - but there was a lounge for guests to use and make teas etc. When using that I saw more filth - and serious cobwebs which had been around for months if not years in several of the windows.
And so to dinner. Neither myself nor my companion were hungry so opted for the "smoked salmon Nicoise" It came and we chatted about our day and planned the day tomorrow and we ate the food. I didn't stop to think towards the end that I wasn't particularly enjoying it and why. The reason was that it wasn't smoked salmon at all, it was hot smoked - cooked - salmon, served cold. Not what we expected. Worse was that the salad had been heavily dressed with a sweet vinaigrette which was horrible. When the waitress asked, on clearing, "if we had enjoyed that", I replied well, no, actually, and explained. Forget from then on the friendly staff. We were treated as if we had told off a naughty schoolgirl who had clearly told other staff. She clearly hadn't been trained how to deal with constructive criticism. If they can't deal with it, then don't ask! And we were not criticising her - merely passing on reflections of the meal which was not very good.
For the price, with the cost of dinner on top of the B&B cost, our experience was very shabby indeed. When asked by the receptionist the next morning if we had enjoyed our stay I said "fine" I couldn't face the same stoney face if i had even begun to explain how awful it was.
This place really is a rip-off and I would recommend anyone NOT to go there. I wish i had taken more note of the poor review I'd seen!

Room Tip: Simply stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank alhcookboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ullapool hotels

Sheffield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This is a special hotel. The staff are welcoming. The lounge is comfortable and they have an honesty bar. They have a fabulous selection of books and a bookshop. Well worth a visit. We enjoyed walking around the colourful garden and we enjoyed our meal in the restaurant, although we wouldn't recommend the cheese or the wine by the glass. It is so peaceful in the hotel. Ullapool is a lovely quiet place with interesting places to visit such as the pottery.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank md1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our party of walkers has stayed at this hotel for over 10 years. The first thing to say is that this hotel will not suit every body. If you expect seamless five star luxury this is not the hotel for you. The rooms are not luxurious (although they are very comfortable) and the bathrooms are not fully to modern standards. However, what is on offer is a unique flavour of the Scottish highlands and a wonderful atmosphere. The food is excellent and the lounge upstairs most people's idea of the perfect literary escape.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFamily73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton Cheney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had our wedding in the ceilidh place this weekend and we must tell everyone that it was fantastic!! The service that we got was outstanding - friendly staff who couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely clean rooms each with their own personality. This is a terrific venue for anyone planning a wedding - Effie and Beccy were extremely efficient and made my life as bride stress free - even offering to put up bunting on the morning of the wedding! We were able to choose our menu from lots of options and all of our guests commented on the wonderful
job that Scott the chef and his staff made of the food.
Our visitors were delighted with the highland hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dawnc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend stumbled across this place while staying in Ullapool in January. The atmosphere of this place was fantastic. So relaxed, comfortable and welcoming. The open fire is a great touch! The food was so lovely and the service was great. The mussels were to die for! The young man was super friendly and chatty. It was like he was your friend! I would travel over from Stornoway just to come back here. We'll be back, just you wait!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustAnotherIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
245 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ceilidh Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ceilidh Place

Property: The Ceilidh Place
Address: 18 West Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2TY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ceilidh Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
The Ceilidh Place Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing