We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful and clean”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My 'single' room could have slept four. The older part of the hotel is much more interesting and quirky. Walkers shortbread and tea/ coffee on the tray. Could not be handier for the ferry port. Breakfast a bit coach-party-standard but we didn't go hungry. Lots of places to eat dotted about - we came back to find the coach party being entertained round the coal fire by an accordionist.

Room Tip: I liked the older rooms - more character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I was staying here for a night with a group of friends on our motorbikes and the hotel was easy to find and had plenty of on site parking.
It looks as if it once been a very nice hotel indeed but it's just a wee
bit tired looking now.
The rooms are also a bit dated but were very clean with comfy beds and nice white sheets,bathroom in our room could have done with a revamp but again very clean and the shower produced plenty of hot water!
Breakfast next day was very good withe a good selection of both cooked and uncooked items and endless pots of coffee & tea!
The only gripe I had with breakfast
Was that there were only fried eggs available, not scrambled but hey ho I'm being picky!
All in all a great place to stay for a stopover or a weekend away although not as grand as it once was methinks!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank oggie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Firstly an apology! It was dreadfully inconvenient of me to attempt to check in and pay for my room when I arrived as the receptionist obviously had something much more important to do than serve me with the good grace and service a paying customer expects. I didn't realise that providing the hotel with my custom was a problem and I certainly won't be doing it again! That said, the hotel was perfectly fine. Large, spacious and clean, it was very handy for the town centre - such as it is- and the ferry the next morning. Large bar area and most people looked fairly happy as I passed them. Our room was in the new annexe so it was relativity modern and certainly comfortable. A more welcoming check in would have made for a more enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Please accept our apologies for your welcome it should not have happened, your comments have been discussed with the reception team and they wish to pass on there apologies also.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I had 4 hours to kill in Ullapool so after having a wander round I went to the Caledonian Hotel at about 10:30 am and ordered a coffee , I was served promptly and with a smile and then left in peace what bliss I sat by the window knitting and enjoying my coffee. Staff where near by and when I decided at 12ish that I felt a bit peckish the lassie at reception suggested a cream tea but served with coffee , this was served promptly with lovely fresh whipped cream and a selection of jams.
Staff are friendly without being intrusive. Lounge is spotlessly clean and comfortable and very very welcoming. Highly recommended will definitely be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherC66Garve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments we look forward to seeing you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were due to meet 2 couples who were coming in from the Stornoway-Ullapool ferry and who were staying the night in the hotel. We booked a table for the 8 of us. We also left a message for one of the couples to let them know what we were doing & at what time we had booked the table but they never got the message!
Our table was set up in what was really a corridor leading to the main restaurant - the thoroughfare from reception to the restaurant and at the junction of the route to the toilets - not the best location for a meal! Nobody bothered to explain or apologise but we guessed this was because they had a big contingent of bikers in that evening. Again, I feel we could have been told in advance that there was no room for us in the actual restaurant.
We were offered the choice of a fixed price menu or the a la carte and then told we could 'mix and match' whatever that meant. We took it that as there were 8 of us we could all be charged at the rate of the special, but on checking out my cousin found that each dish not from the special menu was charged separately so we all had to square-up the bill with him the folowing day.
Overall we all agreed that this was the poorest meal we had during our 10 day tour of the Highlands. Although it is now nearly 2 weeks since we ate there the food was that uninspiring that we cannot recall what we had, although we can do so for other places we ate out at.
What we do recall is how hard it was for us to understand what was being said to us. The female waiting staff were entirely of East European origin and a little hard to fully comprehend but sadly all of us found it next to impossible to understand the extremely broad Scottish accent of the male (Head?) Waiter who attended to us.
Overall a place we would not return to and one that 2 couples were fully glad we had not booked rooms at!

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight although our friends tell us they were far from impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments - we apologise to you and your group that you were unable to understand our british and european employees - we will try and arrange something to sort this out.
Along with the biker group we had in the hotel we also had a group of walkers (40 or so) who the majority all enjoyed there meal. After your stay/meal we have implemented just the one menu to avoid all confusion.
We are glad you enjoyed the stay in the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We got to the Caledonian on friday evening after a long drive from north wales, When we got there check in was fast as we were very tired, the room as the rest of the hotel was very shabby and in need of major refurbishment, but the beds were clean and comfortable as was the shower and toilet , we got areally good deal on our break so if you can get past the tiredness of the hotel it represents good value for money

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wotsit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review, the hotel has spent over 200k in the last three years replacing beds, TVs, showers, shower screens, putting in telephones and we know we still have some way to go. This year we are in the process of painting bathrooms and bedrooms however this does take time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I dont often give bad reviews but I will this time. Myself and group of friends booked into this hotel in May. It was cold & raining so we went right to the bar after a long journey.Got a drink. Then got another... Funny .. the price had suddenly increased by £1.00... When we tried to query it we got told ( in a foriegn tounge ) that was the price.we tried to complain, but how do you complain to someone who does not speak english..Same happened to other friends, prices increased up to £2.00. Got the manager involved, got our money back, but unfortunatly this didnt stop all weekend.. It's no wonder we all went and bought our own drink from Tesco...Next the room we got was TINY.. and I mean TINY. No room to swing a cat, not too clean either.Staff ( predominantly non english speaking ) were very rude, not helpful. When you asked them something blank faces stared back at you. Breakfast was ok Buffet style. Had a meal booked on the Saturday night at £12.50 per person. Edible is all I can say. It's an old tired hotel that needs some helpful staff that can understand you and staff that dont rip you off when you buy a drink.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elma69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for you comments here on trip advisor, all our tills are push button tills and you get charged the proper price for the drink you have the only time that this may vary is when you have a dash in your drink and you get charged but the amount you have 0.55p for a 75ml dash and then multiples of this - if you had a small dash to begin with and then changed to a large dash for the second round of drinks then this would be more expensive.

We had a few other groups in when you stayed and they as well as other persons on your group said they enjoyed the meal - i will however discuss the issues you raised with our chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour House
Harbour House
#3 of 7 in Ullapool
162 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
377 reviews
24 mi away
The Drumbeg Hotel
The Drumbeg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumbeg
89 reviews
23.9 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: £23 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caledonian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing