We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable stay”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Reviewed 3 July 2014

No complaints about 2 night stay bedroom clean and comfortable, change of towels was nice but not expected for short stay, food was delicious and nicely served, staff friendly and helpful very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel overnight on a tour of Scotland. Staff friendly and welcoming. Hotel tired and looking its age. Cater for coach parties. Cant comment on food as didnt eat, but the menu was not inspiring. Wifi only available downstairs.
Its tired.
OK for an overnight stay as it had a bed and bathroom, all you need really. Would not want to stay much longer.
beds OK comfy and room fair size for the price. You pays your money you get what you pay for.
It'll do.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triumphbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Staff helpful on reception. Perfect location but in desperate need of major TLC. No lift and had to help a couple older than us with bags to third floor. All floor boards creaked. Expensive for 2 nights.

Internet only available in Public area which was not helpful. Since we last stayed five years ago Hotel has not improved.

Room Tip: We were not given a choice as they were busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked into the Caledonian Hotel for one night after arriving back on the ferry from the islands. One night was plenty.

The reception staff were very friendly and were the best part of our stay at this hotel.

The hotel is huge and whoever owns it obviously cannot afford or won't make the effort to maintain it which is a shame really. The decor and carpets were worn and shabby and just generally outdated and in poor condition.

We arrived at our room and the door handle was practically hanging off the door. The paintwork was peeling and it definitely didn't endear us to the place after having paid £70 a night for the room. Not acceptable.

We didn't eat at the hotel (other than breakfast) so can't comment on the food but we bought drinks from the bar which were fine but not excellent. I ordered a G&T and it was initially served without any ice or lime/lemon - it's just the little things.

The room itself was small but adequate and there had obviously been some attempt to modernise the furniture/bed etc. Bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately there were huge marks of discolouration all over the walls from damp. The walls were very thin and it was pretty noisy until about midnight.

The en suite bathroom was very basic and not very pretty at all. I tried to have a shower in the morning and it just didn't happen. The shower head was completely inflexible in it's holder and wouldn't point down into the bath so the whole bathroom would have been soaked. I would had to have held the shower head myself to be able to use it. Again, completely unacceptable having paid £70 a night.

Breakfast itself was very nice indeed but the ambience of the dining room left a lot to be desired. The staff seemed to nervously tiptoe about as a manager (presumably) lurked and interfered with everything they were doing. I have seen this type of thing happen in quite a few hotels before and it is very off putting and not very relaxing. Of course managers have their job to do but in my opinion this should be done discretely and behind the scenes if possible. It really doesn't look good in front of customers.

To be honest I wouldn't have minded staying at this hotel for a night if the price reflected the quality. When I think about other hotels I have stayed in for the same price or less, I feel a bit annoyed given the discrepancy in the standard of accommodation. I dare say the Caledonian Hotel justifies charging this much to try and maintain this old building and cover their overheads but it could also be a case of having a relatively captive audience in Ullapool.

Sad to say I won't be staying again. I will probably opt for a B&B next time. I hope somebody is able one day to put the investment into this lovely building and restore it to the level it deserves.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff. Internet only on the ground floor, generous full Scottish breakfast, well managed dining room. catering for many people including people on coach tours. The twin room quite cramped for two adults with luggage.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fusspot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

the carpets are worn in parts ,,the walls need a coat of paint just looks so tired and fresh paint would brighten up corridor ,,,,,the bath in room 21 been repaired badly .asked reception to note we didn't have a remote for tv so we wont be billed and was handed one that didn't work on the tv,,door in corridor next to 21 very noisy when opening/closing .... when leaving found the new clean sheets on floor of corridor so could be a trip hazard ..breakfast was good staff very helpful once they understood you (this could happen in any hotel thou)not the staff fault they were friendly and always smiled ......if I was to go to Ullapool again I would use this hotel again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callum785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night. hotel is in serious need of fresh paint and steam clean carpets
The receptionist we had on the Monday 16th June was polite and helpful the room we were given room 21 was tired and in need of refurbishment, view was the local supermarket which was closed up. Bath should be replaced not just grouted looks ugly. Only problem we had was no remote for the tv, when we asked later for a remote the guy on reception hadn't a clue what we talking about. Not good having someone on reception who doesn't speak English. There was another guy who handed us a new remote but he never spoke . Remote didn't work still have to manually work tv.

Breakfast was edible and plenty off no complaints there staff, yes they were European but we're helpful and friendly .

We paid £78 for b&b I would say £20 overcharged definitely just a 2 star hotel with a fantastic location for ferry. The chippy next door served fantastic fish n chips, portions huge . food brilliant.

Would stay again if nothing else available.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you very much for your comments, they have been taken on board and discussed with the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour House
Harbour House
#3 of 7 in Ullapool
162 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 mi away
The Drumbeg Hotel
The Drumbeg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumbeg
89 reviews
22.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
377 reviews
23.9 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: £29 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caledonian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing