We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-Rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
High Wycombe, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over-Rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having just returned from a coach tour staying at this hotel for the over 55's, I was given a room on the ground floor and a fellow pax who was disabled was given a room on the third floor, the hotel should have been more organised as they would have been notified via the tour company about his requirements due to being disabled and no lift available for him to use, by the time the end of the holiday came we started to get to know each other on the tour bus so had I of relised earlier this problem would have been rectified as I would have moved for him. The first nights meal looked as if it was frozen and was very distasteful, hence the fact myself and a few fellow friends went to the local fish & chip shop for supper. On a more positive note my room was clean, comfortable, very basic and breakfast was satisfactory however I don't feel that this should be rated as a two star hotel. One of the nights during my stay I had motorcyclists chatting outside my window at some godly hour and asked them to kindly move away as I had a very early start the following morning. A good holoiday but hotel disappointed me.

Room Tip: Ask for high rear floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, with regards to your comment about the perosn who was up 2 flights of stairs, we at the hotel are not told everything - when some one has made a request for a ground floor we do our very best to ensure that this happens - like i said above on occasions we do not get told anything about a person there fore we can only presume that they can walk up stairs. we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us we will aim to rectify the issues that you raised
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    134
    170
    106
    90
See reviews for
64
262
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We found this hotel on a booking site got a great deal, only needed one night so it was fine. Ate out at a local restaurant just down the hill for evening meal. Breakfast was good. The room we had was small at the top of the hotel. we thought the seagulls had tackity boots on, we could hear them on the flat roof . En suite room but very squeeky floor. On saying that we had a comfortable stay and loved the location parking is fine small car park at front but plenty room at the back. Reception staff an breakfast service was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We initially booked two nights in this hotel but, before arrival, changed the booking to one night. Very glad we did. The room was itself was satisfactory but not very clean. We found a previous guest's dirty t-shirt in the wardrobe with the spare blanket and the bathroom needed a good scrub, especially the sticky shower. Upon arrival at breakfast the next day, we were ignored. Eventually we chose a table and helped ourself to the buffet breakfast (a good choice of different items) No-one came over to provide us with any tea/coffee so we had to make one back in the room. A night here was the most expensive during our time in Scotland yet this was by far the worst hotel. We will never return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 809kj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ullapool hotels

Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

No complaints about 2 night stay bedroom clean and comfortable, change of towels was nice but not expected for short stay, food was delicious and nicely served, staff friendly and helpful very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel overnight on a tour of Scotland. Staff friendly and welcoming. Hotel tired and looking its age. Cater for coach parties. Cant comment on food as didnt eat, but the menu was not inspiring. Wifi only available downstairs.
Its tired.
OK for an overnight stay as it had a bed and bathroom, all you need really. Would not want to stay much longer.
beds OK comfy and room fair size for the price. You pays your money you get what you pay for.
It'll do.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triumphbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Staff helpful on reception. Perfect location but in desperate need of major TLC. No lift and had to help a couple older than us with bags to third floor. All floor boards creaked. Expensive for 2 nights.

Internet only available in Public area which was not helpful. Since we last stayed five years ago Hotel has not improved.

Room Tip: We were not given a choice as they were busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked into the Caledonian Hotel for one night after arriving back on the ferry from the islands. One night was plenty.

The reception staff were very friendly and were the best part of our stay at this hotel.

The hotel is huge and whoever owns it obviously cannot afford or won't make the effort to maintain it which is a shame really. The decor and carpets were worn and shabby and just generally outdated and in poor condition.

We arrived at our room and the door handle was practically hanging off the door. The paintwork was peeling and it definitely didn't endear us to the place after having paid £70 a night for the room. Not acceptable.

We didn't eat at the hotel (other than breakfast) so can't comment on the food but we bought drinks from the bar which were fine but not excellent. I ordered a G&T and it was initially served without any ice or lime/lemon - it's just the little things.

The room itself was small but adequate and there had obviously been some attempt to modernise the furniture/bed etc. Bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately there were huge marks of discolouration all over the walls from damp. The walls were very thin and it was pretty noisy until about midnight.

The en suite bathroom was very basic and not very pretty at all. I tried to have a shower in the morning and it just didn't happen. The shower head was completely inflexible in it's holder and wouldn't point down into the bath so the whole bathroom would have been soaked. I would had to have held the shower head myself to be able to use it. Again, completely unacceptable having paid £70 a night.

Breakfast itself was very nice indeed but the ambience of the dining room left a lot to be desired. The staff seemed to nervously tiptoe about as a manager (presumably) lurked and interfered with everything they were doing. I have seen this type of thing happen in quite a few hotels before and it is very off putting and not very relaxing. Of course managers have their job to do but in my opinion this should be done discretely and behind the scenes if possible. It really doesn't look good in front of customers.

To be honest I wouldn't have minded staying at this hotel for a night if the price reflected the quality. When I think about other hotels I have stayed in for the same price or less, I feel a bit annoyed given the discrepancy in the standard of accommodation. I dare say the Caledonian Hotel justifies charging this much to try and maintain this old building and cover their overheads but it could also be a case of having a relatively captive audience in Ullapool.

Sad to say I won't be staying again. I will probably opt for a B&B next time. I hope somebody is able one day to put the investment into this lovely building and restore it to the level it deserves.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
10.8 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#23 of 51 in Ullapool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Property: Caledonian Hotel
Address: Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Caledonian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing