We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Newry, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Can't understand the list of bad reviews of this hotel we stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of July and we found that:
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful
Our room was clean, quiet, a good size and we had no issues with it at all
Breakfast was good
Having stayed in many other hotels we would certainly recommend this one especially for the money it cost as it represents very good value

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer part of the hotel I had simply required (as I always do) for the quietest roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments i will pass them around the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    145
    192
    117
    114
See reviews for
72
305
50
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed with my family and the rooms were of a decent size. Old hotel, so quite a few creaky floorboards. The decor was a bit dated but the rooms clean and comfy. Breakfast was ok, buffet service with fried eggs as only egg choice. Wait until they bring fresh eggs out as they can get quite rubbery otherwise. A bit disappointed about the continental selection considering the size of the hotel, hardly any fresh fruit, no yoghurt either.
I had an issue with my booking which was quickly and professionally resolved, customer service is good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 550memyselfandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, i have passed your review on to our team for them to look at the issues raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed one night, in single rooms of varying quality. While the room was basic, the staff were very helpful and breakfast was good. It is a great stopover hotel as it is close to the ferry but the prospect of a longer stay in those rooms would not be good. The hotel could do with some TLC to bring it back to its former glory.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the loch. No other side has a view of anything much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 131JoH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your comments they are greatly appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We only stayed for one night which was on a dinner bed and breakfast rate - this was a little over £100 for a twin room which seemed reasonable when booking. While the bedroom was ok the en-suite bathroom left a lot to be desired. The window curtains were covered in mildew because they got soaked when you used the shower which was over the bath.The curtains had to be closed because the bathroom window had clear glass and was over the bath! The shower wasn't thermostatically controlled and it was hard not to be either scalded or frozen! The toilet was almost unusable because it was wedged between the bath and the wall! I had to resort to the toilet in the bar! Dinner was served in a huge barn of a restaurant and was of a pretty poor standard however breakfast was surprisingly better. Fortunately we only needed a bed for the night and it was clean and comfortable. Think again if you are considering this hotel for a holiday - it will do at a pinch if you are catching the ferry!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with an en-suite walk in shower and with reasonable space. Book somewhere else fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your review; we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us we will aim to rectify the issues that you raised
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ullapool hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This wasn't our first choice, but every other Hotel was booked. This is a tour bus hotel. It's basic, but clean. It's fine if you are on a budget, otherwise I wouldn't recommend it. It is close to the ferry.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comments they have been taken on board
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having just returned from a coach tour staying at this hotel for the over 55's, I was given a room on the ground floor and a fellow pax who was disabled was given a room on the third floor, the hotel should have been more organised as they would have been notified via the tour company about his requirements due to being disabled and no lift available for him to use, by the time the end of the holiday came we started to get to know each other on the tour bus so had I of relised earlier this problem would have been rectified as I would have moved for him. The first nights meal looked as if it was frozen and was very distasteful, hence the fact myself and a few fellow friends went to the local fish & chip shop for supper. On a more positive note my room was clean, comfortable, very basic and breakfast was satisfactory however I don't feel that this should be rated as a two star hotel. One of the nights during my stay I had motorcyclists chatting outside my window at some godly hour and asked them to kindly move away as I had a very early start the following morning. A good holoiday but hotel disappointed me.

Room Tip: Ask for high rear floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, with regards to your comment about the perosn who was up 2 flights of stairs, we at the hotel are not told everything - when some one has made a request for a ground floor we do our very best to ensure that this happens - like i said above on occasions we do not get told anything about a person there fore we can only presume that they can walk up stairs. we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us we will aim to rectify the issues that you raised
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland uk
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We found this hotel on a booking site got a great deal, only needed one night so it was fine. Ate out at a local restaurant just down the hill for evening meal. Breakfast was good. The room we had was small at the top of the hotel. we thought the seagulls had tackity boots on, we could hear them on the flat roof . En suite room but very squeeky floor. On saying that we had a comfortable stay and loved the location parking is fine small car park at front but plenty room at the back. Reception staff an breakfast service was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
252 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
377 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
22.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
312 reviews
22.5 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Property: Caledonian Hotel
Address: Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Caledonian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing