We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel! ”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here. Good location, excellent staff. Room was clean and comfortable with great facilities. Breakfast was great in the morning too good choice (including porridge!) And the cooked food was suitable for vegetarians with the meat being cooked and held separately. Would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank VikkiM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Excellent receptionist. Nice room- harbour views over rooftops. Well decorated, very clean. Dog friendly. Ullapool was bustling and we hadn't booked a table in a restaurant so we ate in the hotel. Dinner was quite good - a bit pricey for what it was but this is Ullapool. Excellent breakfast. The car park was full but there was on street parking. Didn't bother with the bar-sought a pub elsewhere. Note-most pubs here won't allow dogs in- one has to sit outside (one big pub has a big outside covered seating area but smokers sit there, too).

Room Tip: Harbour views limited but much better than overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbitmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

thank you very much for posting your comments, we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This establishment is apparently part of the Bespoke Hotels group. I can't imagine anything less "made to order" or "custom made" than this place. The room was damp, cramped, smelly, and decorated straight out of the 1970s. Couldn't summon up the courage to eat or drink here so can't comment on that, but had a great meal at The Ceilidh Place just down the road and if you can't face the breakfast buffet there's a lovely deli just along the street which does great coffee and cakes. Avoid this place if at all possible - not even that cheap

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Travellermuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will pass your comments around the team and use them for employee training

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a very enjoyable three night stay at the Caledonian hotel in Ullapool. The decor is dated but if you can see past this what's not to like. Our room was warm, clean and had a plentiful supply of hot water. We were told that the mattresses had recently been replaced and I had the best night's sleep I had had in ages. The breakfast was served as a buffet and was really good and set us up for the day. We were on a walking break( with our dog) and had a very nice packed lunch also provided. Dinner was included in our package and once again we had no complaints, the food was much better than we were expecting having read previous reviews. We would like to pass on our thanks to the staff who were all so pleasant and helpful . We are already looking forward to our next visit to Ullapool.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Skye99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you very much for youir kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at the Caledonian in Ullapool. The first time somebody had left a "wee present" in the toilet bowl for me on my arrival and the place was very tatty and unclean so I vowed never to stay here again. However it was the only place with vacancies when I wanted to visit the town again recently so I had no other choice.

My original stay here was a few years ago and things haven't improved since, flaking wallpaper in the dingy room, a disgusting bath / bathroom and a useless shower that has virtually no water pressure was what I encountered. Paper thin walls meant everything "going on" next door could be heard during the night, and in the corridor with it's squeaky doors. For the price they charge it's quite a repulsive hotel really. I do a lot of travelling and In truth I'm getting a bit fed up of hotels like this which charge a considerable amount yet offer very little in exchange.

Breakfast wasn't the best, the food is cooked in large batches then left out in heated trays for far too long so it becomes dried and chewy. The staff are quite nice though, but I'm afraid that doesn't make up for the many shortcomings of this establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you taking the time to post your review; we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us we will aim to rectify the issues that you raised

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed at the Caledonian for 1 night DBB through Easybreaks and I would say it was good value for money. Just as expected a bit tired and in need of some tlc. Our room was basic but it did have a terrific view of the harbour and the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scottisharies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post you comment on trip advisor they are very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Well I hope that other guests have made better experiences than we did when we stayed one night at the Caledonian Hotel.
The room itself was large but pretty worn down and definitely had seen better days. Unfortunately we had the room just above the bar which is pretty noisy until 11pm or so (I don't remember the time exactly). This means that you can hear all the smokers and the music which is played downstairs.
After a pretty short night, we realized that the shower was defect and no water was flowing. After asking for another way to wash ourselves (and a refund, thanks for that) we became the key to another room. This one had flowing water in the shower but only cold one. So we left a bit smelly and not so happy.

It might be just my opinion but for me it looks like the management/owner only as less as needed. The location is good but the hotel is old and you can see and almost feel it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirk_Hammett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
257 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
203 reviews
22.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: £39 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caledonian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing