We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value Hotel”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very Good Value Hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed one night in July 2013.

This is a large oldish hotel which appears to have been well maintained. I had a first floor room overlooking the rear. It was a big room which suited my needs.

The hotel is just off the centre but it is just a short walk. Had to park opposite the hotel, no problem.

I did not have an evening meal in the hotel but in the Ceilidh Place which served a very good meal.

At £55 for be and breakfast I was more than happy and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GasFromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    142
    182
    111
    101
See reviews for
67
286
49
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ullapool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I requested a double bedded room on a high floor and was allocated a twin bedded room on the ground floor. The room was old fashioned and very 'tired'. The floor/ceiling structure was so thin we couldn't sleep for the noise of the people in the room above. We could hear every footstep they took - almost to the point we thought they would fall through. Bed was too soft and the kettle disgusting - should have been replaced a long time ago.

I did go back to reception to emphasise I had booked a double but the receptionist assured me her piece of paper said 'twin' even though mine said 'double' so she couldn't/wouldn/t change it.
All this for just over £100. Shocking. Outside of the cities, Scotland generally needs to buck up it's ideas about 'tired' hotels

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor they are very much appreaciated. We apologise to you that everything was not up to the standard that you were expecting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ullapool hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Quite a cosy hotel, could do with some TLC but altogether not too bad. Had to wait until 4pm to check in which made it a long wait after a long drive.
Difficult to get staff in the bar to understand, almost needed an interpreter, shame not to see and hear more Scottish staff.
Clean comfortable bed, nice breakfast, some nice period features.

Room Tip: None on the front street as very noisy from the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you very much for posting your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here. Good location, excellent staff. Room was clean and comfortable with great facilities. Breakfast was great in the morning too good choice (including porridge!) And the cooked food was suitable for vegetarians with the meat being cooked and held separately. Would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank VikkiM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Excellent receptionist. Nice room- harbour views over rooftops. Well decorated, very clean. Dog friendly. Ullapool was bustling and we hadn't booked a table in a restaurant so we ate in the hotel. Dinner was quite good - a bit pricey for what it was but this is Ullapool. Excellent breakfast. The car park was full but there was on street parking. Didn't bother with the bar-sought a pub elsewhere. Note-most pubs here won't allow dogs in- one has to sit outside (one big pub has a big outside covered seating area but smokers sit there, too).

Room Tip: Harbour views limited but much better than overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
thank you very much for posting your comments, we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This establishment is apparently part of the Bespoke Hotels group. I can't imagine anything less "made to order" or "custom made" than this place. The room was damp, cramped, smelly, and decorated straight out of the 1970s. Couldn't summon up the courage to eat or drink here so can't comment on that, but had a great meal at The Ceilidh Place just down the road and if you can't face the breakfast buffet there's a lovely deli just along the street which does great coffee and cakes. Avoid this place if at all possible - not even that cheap

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travellermuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will pass your comments around the team and use them for employee training
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a very enjoyable three night stay at the Caledonian hotel in Ullapool. The decor is dated but if you can see past this what's not to like. Our room was warm, clean and had a plentiful supply of hot water. We were told that the mattresses had recently been replaced and I had the best night's sleep I had had in ages. The breakfast was served as a buffet and was really good and set us up for the day. We were on a walking break( with our dog) and had a very nice packed lunch also provided. Dinner was included in our package and once again we had no complaints, the food was much better than we were expecting having read previous reviews. We would like to pass on our thanks to the staff who were all so pleasant and helpful . We are already looking forward to our next visit to Ullapool.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Skye99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you very much for youir kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
245 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
363 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 6 in Ullapool
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Property: Caledonian Hotel
Address: Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Caledonian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing