We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excllent way to spend an afternoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shearwater Cruises

Shearwater Cruises
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Ullapool
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Summer Queen operates out of Ullapool Harbour during the summer. We sail through Lochbroom, Annat Bay and the Summer Islands, taking in the Scoraig and Coigach peninsulas and some of the most beautiful scenery and wildlife in the world!We offer 4 hour morning cruises to the Summer Isles, landing on Tanera Mor (the last inhabited island in the group and home to the last independent Post Office in the UK!).In the afternoon we have a 2 hour cruise in Lochbroom and Annat Bay, that takes in either Isle Martin, or the inner Summer Isles, depending on weather and wildlife conditions/sightings.We encounter all types of wildlife from sea birds and Eagles to porpoise, dolphin and even whales. Sightings change from day to day but the views and scenery are always spectacular.We have a bar/saloon aboard offering snacks and drinks, toilets, and we have experienced crew who will share their knowledge and love of the area and wildlife encountered.Please note we do not sail if the weather turns poor, and do not currently sail on Sundays. Please contact us to discuss bookings - groups and family bookings welcome.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excllent way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very witty and informative commentary by someone who is obviously passionate about wildlife.
The boat is comfortable with plenty of open ans sheltered seating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kantorowich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    10
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A boat trip worth doing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We did the 4 hour long trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. The trip is expensive but it is well worth it for the length of the trip, the chance to see wildlife and the witty commentary! Obviously seeing wildlife is not guaranteed but we were lucky to see seals and newborn seal cubs and various sea-birds, which were pointed out to us by the knowledgeable crew. They also told us some stories of the history of the islands and also the settlements around the shoreline, which gave us an insight into life in this area in the past. We also went into a cave, which lesser captains would not have attempted! Fantastic!
The boat stops off at the largest of the Summer Isles, where we were able to buy special Summer Isles stamps (which only get it to the mainland - you also need a Royal Mail stamp to get it to it's destination!) and have a cuppa and a home-made scone, although there is also tea and coffee on the boat. I would definitely recommend taking this boat trip if you are looking for something to do in Ullapool.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LB2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

we were not there in time to get the 10.00am departure for the 4 hour trip but took in the 2 hour trip in the afternoon and were so pleased that we did , got our first ever views of white tailed sea eagle !! highlight of the holiday for me ! thanks to the crew , will be back next year to take in the longer trip !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our trip on the Summer Queen - the day was really quite pleasant and sunny, but you still needed to wear several layers. We took the dog with us and she just sat quietly on the bench while we took in the scenery. We saw quite a few different species of birds and got a couple of fleeting glances at a couple of porpoise. Enjoyed the visit to Tanera Mor and the dog enjoyed the chance of a run. We sat the back and found it quite difficult to hear the commentary, but from what I did manage to decipher, the content was humorous and knowledgeable. A good way to see some fantastic scenery (weather permitting) and I don't think the price is too exorbitant either.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kangeroo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

There are cheaper boat trips, but you are paying for quality. The 4 hour morning cruise, goes right out to, and around the Summer Isles. It was a comfortable, if busy boat, and was comfortable for such a long trip. The crew had flexibility to change the plans as wildlife appeared which was positive, and provided a good balance of commentary, without being over bearing. The landing was ok, if not really needed, overall a brilliant trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GEJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shearwater Cruises also viewed

Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Shearwater Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing