We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fun Boat Ride

We saw a porpoise, seals, sheep, horses, birds, amazing Summer Islands scenery, and a perspective... read more

Reviewed 30 December 2023
Aden D
Marvellous, a must do.

Marvellous vessel and crew, well worth doing if you’re Ullapool. Wildlife, history and geography... read more

Reviewed 14 September 2023
Nordstjernen1477
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 249 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Ullapool
from £927.81
More Info
from £346.00
More Info
from £510.00
More Info
from £180.00
More Info
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
219
20
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
219
20
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour cruise sea eagles saw seals summer isles great trip boat trip informative commentary minke whale booking office tail end amazing cruise large pod of dolphins information given bird life morning trip clams local history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2022 via mobile

What an amazing experience. I wasn’t expecting much to be honest as, in my experience, wildlife often doesn’t show up on demand but Noel and Karl were obviously very experienced and knew what they were looking for. The weather was good so they pushed the extent of the trip to its limits following Gannets in the hope that they’d lead us to something. We encountered a large pod of 10-12 dolphins as well as a humpback or fin whale which moved around the ship surfacing 3 or 4 times alongside the dolphins. The whole encounter lasted around half an hour - totally amazing. Ive never seen anything like it in my life - just brilliant. On top of this Noel gave a-lot of historical information about the local area on the journey to and from The Summer Isles in a relaxed and comical style - he’s great at the chat that one - all in all a priceless afternoon that I’ll never forget. Thanks guys.

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank H9422LQmikeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
klondyker, Public Relations Manager at Shearwater Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2022

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2022

Brilliant , the guy narrating knew his stuff and had a good idea where the dolphins , porpoises and Minkie whale would be . We saw them all and sea birds, a good way to spend two hours, Can’t rate it highly enough if you are anywhere near Ullapool this is a must.

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank ConybeareJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
klondyker, Public Relations Manager at Shearwater Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2022

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2022 via mobile

Oh what a great day. We saw a large pod of dolphins, a sea eagle, many birds and seals and learned a lot about the area. Hugely knowledgable guide who shared information with humour . Loved it

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank Lu239
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
klondyker, Public Relations Manager at Shearwater Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2022

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2022 via mobile

Great trip today. Noel was very welcoming and provided entertaining and informative commentary. Saw seals, porpoises, gannets and 3 Sean eagles which was amazing. It had been a very wet morning but brightened up after about 15 mins of leaving so got some amazing views. Very well worth the money and thoroughly enjoyable.

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank LJExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2022 via mobile

We enquired about the trip in advance and was given loads of help by Annette provisionally booking a trip. In the afternoon of our visit. We had to change last minute Annette promptly came back to me and we sorted a morning trip. We got to meet her at the booking office she was as lovely in person. The trip itself was excellent really don’t think about not doing this if your there and have time. The bit was spacious clean and modern it had a toilet (important if you’ve got little ones!) and lots of different locations to view the amazing scenery. We had the most spectacular time with dolphins - really special seeing baby dolphins and all so close almost to touch - and saw an sea eagle, seals and loads of bird life. We got a
Real sense of commitment to environment and history of the place too.

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank TockwithMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews