We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh fish & chips”
Review of Deli-Ca-Sea

Deli-Ca-Sea
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Ullapool
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish & chips”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had just arrived in Ullapool and didn't want to rush & find a restaurant so opted for a traditional tea. The fish was huge but delicious as it was so obviously fresh.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 192AHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    30
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best fish suppers ever”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Every time we visit Ullapool we always have a fish supper out of this shop. I was told by the man in the shop that the trick was in the batter. He has now told me his secret!! The fish cannot be any fresher. We recommended this shop to friends who were travelling a few days behind us. Their comment to me was "awesome".

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ullapool, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Alright, but nothing special”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Good selection of fresh, locally landed fish. The batter was soggy rather that crisp though and the chips likewise but apart from that it was well cooked. Competitive prices and alright service. The staff were quite friendly and were happy to see us. In conclusion, nice local fish and chips, cooked okay and priced reasonably.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochinver, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in the Highlands”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Best fish and chips ever. Fish fresh from the boat and yummy chips. Eat sitting looking over the loch and there is no finer moment. Just great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bad luck”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I've been here before and it was good, otherwise it would have had 2 stars. Unfortunately on this occasion I began to wonder if the fish was properly cooked and sure enough with the next bite came a mouthful of uncooked batter, yuck. Just a bit of bad luck I think and it wouldn't put me off going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deli-Ca-Sea also viewed

Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Deli-Ca-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing