We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just love it here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardmair Point Campsite
Newmachar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I just love it here”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed for 9 nights at Ardmair Caravan park including the weekend of Loopallu.
On arrival we received a very warm welcome from the owners. We had our choice of pitch and opted for one looking out onto the sea. The owner (George) even offered to help with getting the caravan into position if we needed it-it wasnt required but nice all the same.
Lovely cafe in the reception area serving breakfasts from about 9.30 till 4 daily-lovely cooked breakfasts and filled rolls with tea &coffee with top ups given. They also sell homebaked cakes which were lovely. The shop also sells basic food stuffs and equipment, toilet roll, washing up liquid, tent pegs, fishing rods etc.
Toilet blocks were both clean with plenty of hot water, there is also a laundry and dishwashing area for those who need it.
We spent many an afternoon walking along the beach, exploring rockpools, and otter spotting-I never saw one but George says they are sometimes seen at dawn and dusk.
There is a pier on the otherside of the site for fishing from.
Ullapool in approx 3 miles away with lots of lovely wee shops and restaurants/cafes/pubs. for the nights we were drinking, a taxi is £8 per way.
last but not least is the views from the site-hills, sea and sunset. I met a swiss woman on the site who says she comes to the site most years for the scener1y. To hear someone who has the Alps on her doorstep say that was pretty astounding.
Cant wait to go back next year when the site reopens in April.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    32
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

just returned from 3 night stay at this site....well where to begin,
has to be run by the most friendly helpfull people i have had the pleasure to meet, facilitys were all you needed, always spotlessly clean day or night, crackin wee family run cafe, pitches to die for, ok bit wet underfoot but hey no one can control the weather, and where possible you could choose where you wanted to b, choose a lochside one and wake up to a truely spectacular view
I was in area for loopaluu festival, who's site was full, what a bonus that was, i discovered this wee hidden gem of a site, now entered into sat nav for next visit to area. Do not miss out if in area try this site........you will not be disapointed

ps owner was even running people back and for to festival, what a star

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed a few nights in September 2013 attending the Loopallu Music Festival in nearby Ullapool (3 miles away)
I never like camping at Festivals because it's usually too noisy.
Ardmair is an excellent site for caravans, motorhomes or tents. The camping area is sheltered from the sea but close enough for you to drift off to sleep to the sound of the waves!
Toilets etc were all clean and tidy and the family run site always had someone on hand.

To my mind the best thing (as a camper who always travels light) was the wee cafe in the shop where I got a bit of breakfast before going into Ullapool.

The small touches, like offering a refill of coffee, really make the difference.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Garygilmore77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We loved this site. It’s a lovely location but there’s more to a site than a location. It’s the aspects of a site about which the management control that matters. It's new management in the last couple of years. Here, they do it proud. We were warmly welcomed, allowed to choose our pitch, great discount on Wi-Fi and given advance notice of weather warnings forecast. The site has a main central reception, shop and café, behind which are the toilets/showers, separate laundry area and separate washing-up facilities. There are secondary facilities further along the site. However, can’t comment on those as didn’t use them. The main facilities were spacious, clean and the showers were the best we’ve used on a site in many years of camping. Hooray for one knob for water flow and another for temperature and none of the push-button nonsense. Last but not least, being campers we were able to freeze ice-packs daily, at no charge. We paid £20 per night for two adults and a tent with electric. Not cheap but not off the scale either. Unfortunately, we had to cut out stay short because of the weather forecast predicting heavy rain and gale force winds for 48 hours. However, the management of the site were full of suggestions of re-locating elsewhere on site, accommodating to our suggestion of taking the tent down and booking into a B&B and returning when the weather cleared. They also offered to credit us with two-days site fees for a return visit. We chose the latter as our tent had already suffered a broken pole. We intend to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dillan1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The location of the site has fantastic views across the bay. The sunsets are glorious. The site is clean and tidy. The laundry rooms were dated and in need of new washers and dryers, big rusty machines! To do a wash cost £4.00 which was the most expensive we had come across in our 2 weeks in scotland, and dryers did not dry, which was frustrating when you have 3 children! The play area was terrible, swings were broken off and climbing frame was dodgy, much to our 5yr old's dismay. Showers were clean and hot. No electronic sockets for a hairdryer. Chemical waste and fresh water facilities for the motorhome were good. Lovely and quiet and would gladly stay again if site was updated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ustravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day break at Ardmair Point and what a fab time we had! Very pleasant from the start. Check in was easy and simple and we were shown round to the spots for tents with electric hookup. Lovely flat sites for tents with well drained ground. The shower block was basic but clean with hot showers, well stocked loo paper and hand soap and was kept very clean by the owners. A great site for families with a lovely little park for the younger ones. After a few catering disasters of our own, we were all hungry and grumpy so decided to pay a visit to the on-site cafe. What a fabulous surprise we got!! Delicious toasties, sandwiches, paninis, all day breakfasts, bacon butties, sausage butties, etc etc etc. all cooked and served piping hot and fresh! But the biggest YUM has to go to the utterly amazing homemade cakes and goodies!! Over 2 days we devoured fresh strawberry and cream sponge cake, butterscotch and toffee cake, millionaire shortbread, cappuccino cake, chocolate fudge cake and my favourite, the raspberry and almond sponge cake. All made fresh and everything was very well priced too. We came away well rested and with only a handful of midgie bites between all 4 of us!! A big thank you to the owners for running a very slick operation and we will definately be back!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Wow just returned from 4 nights. This is a spectacular location. The toilet and showers are very clean, hot water a plenty, people friendly. Sits on a nice stretch of pebble beach. Good base location for visiting the sights. Nearest beautiful sandy beaches near loch inver. Only thing invest in a decent midge repellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dufc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
7.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
606 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
378 reviews
3.1 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
252 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmair Point Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmair Point Campsite

Property: Ardmair Point Campsite
Address: | Ardmair Point, Ullapool IV26 2TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ullapool
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardmair Point Self catering chalets /cottages have modern pine interiors and are finished to the highest standards. They are all sited just above the beach with direct access to the beach, all our self catering accommodation have beautiful sea and mountain views from their large lounge picture windows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardmair Point Campsite Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing