We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish scotland at its hospitable best”
Review of The Arch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Arch Inn
Ranked #7 of 46 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed here twice totalling 4 days.tranquil seaviews.perfect decor with tasteful use of tweed,neutrals,local photography and light,airy and sound proof rooms.cosy bar and high quality consistently good breakfast.hard working and helpful staff.This place is a perfect example of what scotland needs more of.would go north just to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mhicail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed one night during our Scotland road trip. After a long drive from Mey through the most incredible scenery, we arrived in gorgeous Ullapool. The inn overlooks the harbour and it was almost impossible to take my eyes off the spectacular view. We checked in at the bar and went to our room. We booked a family room (2 adults 2 kids aged 9 & 13), and it was actually a disabled room with a double, single and fold-away bed. The shower-room was quite large and the shower had a fold up seat in it with curtains all around. This made the shower very small and awkward. The whole room was very clean and modern and had everything we needed, but I'm glad we were only there 1night as it was cramped. The room was on the ground floor overlooking the tables outside so we needed the blind shut as we got changed for dinner. We ate outside and the food was delicious. Our kids spent ages skimming stones, we all had a great evening. Our beds were clean and comfy,breakfast was very good. The staff were all excellent, friendly and helpful. All in all, good value for money.

Room Tip: If you have no kids, ask for first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickyP1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This was an ideal place for a stopover when catching the ferry or on tour around the highlands. Lovely view over Loch Broom. The room was clean and comfortable, the food in the restaurant very good. Breakfast was good if you like cooked otherwise the toast and cerals just average.

Room Tip: Room no 4 has a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Spent a night here in May 2013. Sat outside and was stunned by the views from the seating directly over road. Room was great and also had dinner at the restaurant. A fantastic place with proficient staff and locally sourced food. Couldn't find anything on the negative side. Staff let me park motorbike off main road and in courtyard for peace of mind. Hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Ours was ground floor overlooking front of premise, thought it would be noisy but heard nothing. Gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVIES999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Chosen with a degree of trepidation caused by reading a few reviews, but the decider was the young staff member we met outside.

A lovely friendly pub, with excellent views and very clean comfortable rooms.

Fantastic breakfast.

Does what it says on the can: an inn with rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DewinDwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Can never fault food,always inventive and changed often so regulars can get a change of meals.Good choice of local seafood.Scenary looking out on water is breathtaking on a nice day.Handy also if you are getting ferry.Rooms are cosy and fresh and very modern.Given choice its def the best b+b around from experience and is great value! xx

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KimmiGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed just one night on a touring holiday of the highlands. Beautiful location and room overlooked the loch. Very peaceful even with the ferry in sight. Modern and clean room with extras such as toiletries, sweets etc. Furnishings in this room very tasteful. We enjoyed the local atmosphere and chatted to the locals whilst having a drink in the bar and game of darts before eating in the attached restaurant. We had local fish dishes and again the standard of food and presentation was excellent as was the scottish breakfast the next day. Would have no hesitation in rebooking if in this fantastic location again.

Room Tip: Room 3 overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elainen544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
257 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
402 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch Inn

Address: 10-11 West Shore Street, Ullapool IV26 2UR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range: £85 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Arch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10 room Inn, with bar and private dining room. Also serving meals 7 days a week in lounge bar - lunches and dinner. Rooms have been recently refurbished, most with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Arch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch Hotel Ullapool
The Arch Inn Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing