We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night at the Arch Inn”
Review of The Arch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Arch Inn
Ranked #8 of 46 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A night at the Arch Inn”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The staff were friendly, the room was clean and tidy, comfortable, and a stunning view. I can highly recommend for a stay.
The food in the restaurant was also excellent, but the table staff were very busy though, leading to mistakes being made but the quality of the food made up for it.
The public bar next to the restaurant leads to far too much noise from the rowdy locals unfortunately.
Overall, a lovely Inn, a good place to stay for a break on the west coast of Scotland.

Room Tip: A room with a view over the bay is brilliant to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    103
    38
    10
    12
See reviews for
29
172
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had a bit of road trouble and the local garage recommended the Arch because of the great local food, we were not disappointed. I was the best meal we had in Scotland. We visited on /02/10/2103 and when we come back to Ullapool this will be the first place we visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

we called to reserve a double room and we arrived and asked to pay for the room as we like to keep the bill for the bar seperate... we were asked for £85 if i remember rightly and we were then told it was £38pppn.... which if you had not done your research was ok but we had visited the website and found this;
1st March 2013 onwards - rooms from £40.00

All rates are per night, bed and breakfast and include VAT.

that is an extract from the arch inn website. as you can see its from £40 as its a double room we thought maybe £50-60? but to be asked to cough up each and we included breakfast which was not free.
we arrived att he back of 9pm so they had us over a barrel. as no one would want to entertain a couple at this time of night but also my partner is 5months pregnant so she was not wanting to trek about.
the room was fine, although we found used wrappers in between the towels etc so was not fresh towels used. I dont mind using non fresh but at least check them. the room as presentable but the shower was hanging off the wall. while using I had to hold it on but nothing for the handy man to try and fix. He must be great by the way as we struggled to find things wrong.
the breakfast was 5* we were asked what we wanted from a fair menu but im sure if you asked for something, then they would make it!
we left but reception was not open so left the key on the breakfast bar but also couldn't report our shower problem

we have stayed 2x before but with the lack of wanting to see our situation from the cost point of view, I would hesitate to stay there again. we were in room 6.

Room Tip: get a south facing room, over the water. the rear view is over the service area. also parking is to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewis r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polmont, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a very busy place for both food and drink!! A sure sign things are good if the locals are there. While it can mean it is noisy if there is music on. I would recommend to couples and groups not necessarily to families with small children. The room, the family room, was perfect for us with a teenage son. The view excellent and it was clean and well furnished. The food was excellent. The atmosphere was lively. To help with crowding around the entrance, perhaps tables and chairs in the restaurant could move but still let patrons sit so they can enjoy the entertainment and not be left to huddle at entrance to dining area, which is right next to entrance door. However, this is a suggestion and did not stop people from enjoying the band. While locals are in abundance, the staff did not ignore or treat us with anything other than good friendly service. Some places are not suited to young families, I would say this is one of them, if wanting somewhere to stay, if going for food only, all welcome and would enjoy excellent local fare.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week and had a great stay. Although our room was on the ground floor with the windows very near the pavement we had no problems with noise etc. The view from our room was stunning. Our room was spotless and appeared to be recently refurbished. We ate in the hotel on our second evening and the meal was lovely, especially the seafood. The restaurant was very busy but the staff did a wonderful job dealing with customers and the service was terrific. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tainshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay in the rooms but had nice evening meal. Staff were pleasant and food came fairly quickly. Nice menu. The Achiltibuie hand dived scallop starter was divine. Cullen skink was good too. Lots of really nicely cooked veggies came with our main meals which is right up our street. Would come back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spareone79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Arch Inn in lovely location. Unfortunately we will not go there EVER again. Been there lots in past years with family and friends and the view is astonishing. Tried twice booking in the last couple of years, What's happened. Yes they've taken our bookings, card numbers etc. and made all the right noises but alas I can't believe it it happened again (twice) first we had booked 2 nights and when we arrived they only had the room for 1 night and Friday when we arrived we were booked in for Sunday. Lot of good that would have been as swe were picking people up from the ferry on Saturday. For goo9dness sake get a quiet place to answer your phone and take bookings as you clearly can't hear anythng in the bar. WARNING please check your booking at least 2 or 3 times before you go. We certainly will be picking somewhere else to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
251 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
377 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch Inn

Property: The Arch Inn
Address: 10-11 West Shore Street, Ullapool IV26 2UR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Arch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10 room Inn, with bar and private dining room. Also serving meals 7 days a week in lounge bar - lunches and dinner. Rooms have been recently refurbished, most with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Arch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch Hotel Ullapool
The Arch Inn Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing