We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, fine for a stopover.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour Lights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small rooms, fine for a stopover.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is very convenient for catching the ferry next morning and as such is an ideal and inexpensive stopover. The rooms are clean but the one that my wife and I stayed in was very small, nowhere to put things. The shower was also very small compared to most and a larger person would struggle. The room was very dated but clean and the staff we met were courteous. The breakfast was very organised and up to a good standard. There is a huge sitting room with many large sofas in it, why I am not sure because apart from visiting it to pick up wifi nobody appeared to be using it. Overall a good hotel but I would not want to be staying in it for more than a couple of nights due to its small rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PANDA5661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    54
    31
    15
    5
See reviews for
24
68
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A very good hotel. Excellent value. Nice room. Very pleasant staff, and the breakfasts were excellent. Large parking area very close to the entrance. Easy to spot from the road when coming into Ullapool. Recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent. Imagine the rest were the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevieyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have never written a review before, but I have felt compelled to do so, because of the excellent service & hospitality that my husband & I received on our recent visit to the Harbour Lights for a long weekend for our 20th Wedding Anniversary! We would like to pay a special thanks to Dandy, Jack, Nicole, Una and all the Staff for making our stay and our Anniversary so memorable. We have just spent a long weekend there and found it to be a stunning location just on the outskirts of the town and is a very pleasant short walk to all the shops, bars,restaurants & harbour where everyone is very welcoming. The Arch Restaurant is a very nice place to eat with really friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere right in front of the loch. The Argyll Bar was a really nice pub to go for a nice drink and a friendly chat with locals and they even had locals coming in to play various musical instruments & singing to anyone's requests...it was great fun. The shops etc weren't a bit of a walk like the previous person has mentioned! All the rooms with loch views are great and that's what you are there for. The rooms are spotlessly clean and all the staff are extremely helpful and attentive. The breakfast is outstanding and all freshly cooked to order and what more can you ask for than to have it with the magnificent views over Loch Broom in the delightful Breakfast Room. There is a great big lounge too for your comfort that also overlooks the loch and opens out onto a massive lush green lawn and patio that you can chill out and admire the views and watch the ships/boats go by! As the proprietors don't have a licence for alcohol, they are more than happy for you to bring your own and they will chill it for you, which is so nice and relaxing and makes your time there so chilled out! This place is a fantastic location /base for touring round the northern parts of Scotland & Stornaway etc. The staff here are so friendly and so helpful and we couldn't have asked for nicer people to make our stay more comfortable and memorable. We would most definitely recommend it to anyone else and we most definitely will be back again very soon. Thank you guys again for such a lovely time.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a loch view room and on the first floor, apparently these have now all been ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjilek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were booked in the Harbour Lights with the understanding that it is a B&B. While your room does include the usual breakfast, it is more like a motel in style. The rooms are an adequate size and clean. Some have a nice view of the water. However, internet is only available in the lounge and even there it was completely unreliable. We had to ring for service multiple times and waited more than 15 minutes at the front desk when we arrived. Finally, the location is a bit of a walk to town and the nearest restaurants.

It's fine if you just want a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLS923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Second stay in this very friendly Guest House in a beautiful location as you approach Ullapool from the south. The room had a loch view and like the view from the lounge and breakfast room was great.

The proprietors are quietly friendly and helpful serving an excellent breakfast. It does not have a alcohol licence but you are welcome to take in your own to have a social drink in the lounge or outside with a lovely loch view

Room Tip: Request Loch View room, slightly more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midget2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Harbour Lights was our base for three nights whilst we toured the area.
The room was clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate. We chose to pay a little more than we needed to because we particularly wanted to be on the first floor and overlooking the magnificent Loch Broom
Being a short walk from the town centre we thought the location would be that bit quieter, and it probably was.
There is a huge, comfy lounge overlooking the lawns and the loch, which is perfect for spending an hour or so reading the Sunday papers.
Very good breakfast and the staff were very obliging

Room Tip: If staying for more than one night, and with time to gaze through windows, it is probably worth payi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Out of the 5 places we stayed at in the Highlands this was the blandest; there was little we would take from here to put in our 'perfect' B&B. It was also a little pricier than most, but perhaps that is due to the fact there is a rather limited choice in the area.
The bedroom was pokey with only one extra small chair. The entry to the 'bathroom' (which itself was cramped) was via a sliding door - further evidence of the need to conserve space or maybe maximise the number of rooms available. I understand that most people only use a B&B as a staging point so to speak so having a big room & chairs maybe a bit of a luxury but this room was the smallest ever I've seen in a B&B.
The whole B&B was very clean and fresh looking and in some ways the pokiness of the room was somewhat mitigated by the large lounges with plenty of comfy settees, but I'd rather have room to relax in my own space than in a communal one!
The breakfasts were as good as any others in the Highlands - a wide choice of cereals, yoghourts, fresh fruit, plenty of tea/coffe & toast and a full English, so no complaints there. There are pleasant grounds & a decent view but the dreach weather prevented us exploring them.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a loch view - otherwise it's the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.4 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
245 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
367 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
180 reviews
23.2 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lights Hotel

Property: Harbour Lights Hotel
Address: Garve Road, Ullapool IV26 2SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Lights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Hotel Harbour Lights
Harbour Lights Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing