We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully remote cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the Cottage
Sitting room with your favourite dram and warm fire.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
View from the Cottage
Sitting room with your favourite dram and warm fire.
Wood fired sauna for you to enjoy after a hard day on the hills.
Wood fired sauna
Cottage
Waterfall
Loch Damph
Hill road
Loch Achall
Bathroom
Local friends
On the road to Gairloch from Ullapool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christoph...
1 review
“Wonderfully remote cottage”
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage is located some 8 miles east of Ullapool. As the road to it is not a public road one does not meet too much tourists but a few bikers and hikers.
The landscape is stunnnig and we could see from our window the nest of a golden eagle. And occasionally the bird of course. Lots of possibilities for short or longer walks.
My wife adored the little lambs, one of which was hand feeded by the farm owners. The people on the farm are extremely nice.
Only drawback (which I do not consider as such) is that there is no mobile phone reception at all. But we actually did not mind to be unreachable for a short time.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
Thank you for writing such a lovely helpful review for potential future guests to get a feel of this place. Catherine (the pet lamb) sends her love to your wife. We hope you had a lovely trip home and enjoyed your 2 extra days on holiday. Best wishes and thanks again Iona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B
2 reviews
“A comfortable little cottage in the most glorious location imaginable”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Spent a week here in August. The location is wonderful with spectacular views from every window. You are quite remote, no tv or phone reception, just peace & quiet. The adventure starts on the drive in, you have to do a bit of rally driving, plus you are too distracted by the scenery to concentrate ! Getting the luggage over the bridge with the wheelbarrows was worth a video too !
I would say if you're not interested in the great outdoors and a bit of bushwalking then it may not be for you. Everything you may need is in the cottage and if you really must contact the outside world, then your hostess Iona will let you use her satellite phone.
There is a lodge on the estate where the huntin' shootin' & fishin' types set off every morning, and, if you're lucky you may get to sample some fresh trout. Would certainly pay a return visit if we get back to Scotland in future. Flora & Tom Blackwood

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ownthepro...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“stunning environment , an amazing place to visit”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

this place is stunning, its away from it all and to be honest you feel lucky the owners allow others to share it, its such a beautiful part of the world. the owners themselves are every bit as nice as the surroundings, hard working, yet easy going and genuine, if you love the beauty of the Scottish mainland and tranquilly come here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beyond excellent!! A little piece of perfection in an unbeatable setting”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Our first impression of the East Rhidorroch estate was simply......wow!!! The 8 mile journey along a superbly stunning backdrop of mountains, lochs and stream came with a view of the fantastic wildlife including sheep, horses, cows and deer! Then, after passing through the 2 gates along the private track, we arrived at the cottage and our initial impression of wow was absolutely correct. A beautiful cottage with bags of character and charm came with very comfortable beds, a well equipped kitchen (which we made the most of every night) and a beautiful lounge with books and a wood stove(with complimentary wood). The surrounding estate had lochs with boats which were great fun (especially the motor boat), loads to explore and a stunning waterfall ( ask for directions and look for a post with blue taped stripes!!) The owners were fantastic, friendly and most helpful. We couldn't praise them or the cottage/estate highly enough. We tended to venture off through the day to nearby (up to a 2 hour drive though) attractions including:
A fantastic seal trip at Plockton approx 2 hours away,
The Bone Caves approx 45 mins away
The incredible Achmelvich beach 1 hour away
the highland wildlife park 2 hours away
as well as local walks and the lovely little town of Ullapool to walk around.
All in all we couldn't have wished for a better holiday and even got a fair share of nice weather to accompany a brilliant 10 night stay at East Rhidorroch Cottage

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kalem19
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hidden paradise in the mountains”
Reviewed 24 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A perfect place! Two of the best hosts you could get! Fun, friendly and helpful! You'd be STUPID not to book this place! Saw loads of wildlife! Had such a good time and already booking to come back for three weeks next year! A MUST visit!!
Thank-you again Iona and jullian!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wild animals, the quiteness, the beautiful scenery, the dogs, the boat...
Liked least: the midges (the only thing we didn't like)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing