We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time”
Review of Essex Cottage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Essex Cottage
Ranked #42 of 46 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Went to The Essex for my birthday meal, went with 9 people, a few of us running late but not a problem for the staff, had a brilliant meal, all of us enjoyed our food and the service great, will definately be going back, can't wait, nice to find somewhere close to where we live that we all enjoyed!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikkib06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed here in July (high season) and at 160 pounds for three nights it is still good value. I asked for non-sugar Muesli for breakfast and our hostess bought this especially for us which was nice. The room was a bit on the small side and full of all types of objects we did not need - on the other hand it had a lovely view of the sea....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldstarSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Comfy, not fancy, two bedrooms and the landlady Mrs. McFadden is exceedingly nice. We've stayed at least three different holidays. Ullapool is our favourite and Essex Cottage is walking distance to everything. Beautiful view of the inlet, ferries, hills, fog and sunsets.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMcB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

we booked into Essex Cottage from the ferry from Stornaway due to adverse weather conditions and the fact we were unable to camp.
We were delighted with the accomodation and the welcome we recieved. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ches65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

on the spur of the moment, I tried to book a hotel in Ullapool through the VisitScotland Hotline. Everything was booked and I finally got a 2 star B&B on West Terrace. For £44 for 2 people for one night, the B&B was excellent value. Mrs McFadden made me feel most very welcomed and her home is very cosy.

I think Ullapool is a very popular resort being let down by the scottish tourist board. i tried to find out if there was anything on over the weekend. Nothing on the website but i found out later there was a road race in achiltibuie, a bmw bike convention and a music recital in the ceilidh place.

lots on but difficult to find out what.

go to ullapool - great picture postcard wee toon !

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lubbylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dstahel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FannyReist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ullapool hotels
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ullapool Youth Hostel
Ullapool Youth Hostel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ferry Boat Inn
The Ferry Boat Inn
#41 of 46 in Ullapool
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arch Inn
The Arch Inn
#5 of 46 in Ullapool
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Cottage

Address: Essex Cottage West Terrace | Ross-Shire, Ullapool IV26 2UU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Essex Cottage Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing