We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Taigh a' Bhraoin

Taigh a' Bhraoin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Taigh a' Bhraoin
Daffodils in the spring at Taigh a' Bhraoin Sunset reflects over Beinn Dearg from the patio at Taigh a' Bhraoin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Taigh a' Bhraoin
Daffodils in the spring at Taigh a' Bhraoin
Sunset reflects over Beinn Dearg from the patio at Taigh a' Bhraoin
Taigh a' Bhraoin
Taigh a' Bhraoin, looking over Loch Broom
King size bedroom with en-suite at Taigh a' Bhraoin
King size bedroom with en-suite at Taigh a' Bhraoin
En-suite at Taigh a' Bhraoin
View from King size Bedroom at Taigh a' Bhraoin
Upstairs Twin Bedroom at Taigh a' Bhraoin
Downstairs Double Bedroom at Taigh a' Bhraoin
Downstairs Double Bedroom at Taigh a' Bhraoin
Downstairs twin bedroom at Taigh a' Bhraoin
The lounge with views across Loch Broom and into the mountains beyond
The lounge with views across Loch Broom and into the mountains beyond
Main Bathroom downstairs with bath, w.c., basin and full sized shower.
Fully-equipped Kitchen at Taigh a' Bhraoin
Fully-equipped Kitchen at Taigh a' Bhraoin
Dining area at Taigh a' Bhraoin
Dining area at Taigh a' Bhraoin
The view from the Patio at Taigh a' Bhraoin
View from the patio at Taigh a' Bhraoin
Beinn Dearg across Loch Broom from the patio at Taigh a' Bhraoin
The rising sun from Taigh a' Bhraoin
Beinn Dearg viewed from the patio at Taigh a' Bhraoin
You could be in the Caribbean, but this is actually at Achmelvich Bay near Lochinver
Stac Pollaidh (Stack Polly) is a relatively easy climb
Sghurr Mor (the highest mountan in Ross-shire) viewed from the bridge over the River Broom
An Teallach is regarded as one of the best expeditions in the country and includes two Munroes
Loch Droma
Gruinard Bay, on the road to Gairloch
The skyline of Assynt is more like the Moon than Scotland
An Teallach, one of several Munroes in the vicinity of Taigh a' Bhraoin
Loch Droma, between Garve and Ullapool
Remains of the ancient Caledonian Pine Forest near Loch Droma
An Teallach
A spectacular day at Loch Glasscarnoch
Sunset over the Summer Isles from Rhue, Loch Broom
Sunset over the Summer Isles from Rhue, Loch Broom
Looking down on Ullapool and Loch Broom from the North Road
Unusual cloud formations at Loch Droma
Beinn Dearg from Taigh a' Bhraoin
Sunrise from Taigh a' Bhraoin (Mid-Summer)
Sunrise over Loch Broom (Mid-Winter)
The neighbours wear masks!!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
The B
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Another excellent stay at the cottage. We have been blessed with brilliant weather in previous years. Not so lucky this time but the cottage is so nice and warm, comfortable and welcoming it was no hardship.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thanks very much for returning once again to Taigh a’ Bhraoin. Sorry about the weather but we’re glad the cottage made that more bearable. Thanks again for keeping coming back and we hope to have the pleasure again in the future. Best regards, A&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dejp260
Cambs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We returned again to Taigh a Bhraoin and we're not disappointed with the cottage at all. The owners go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is as pleasant as possible right down to the most welcome bottle of wine and supplies to make a sandwich on your arrival. The location is perfect for walking, or spotting the obundance of wildlife right on your doorstep or just chilling out and relaxing.
The only concern we had was the new development being constructed to the side and rear of the property which inevitably meant heavy earth moving equipment busy working all day. The views from the kitchen windows have now disappeared which is a shame .
Dispite our reservation about the inpact the development will have on the peace and tranquillity of cottage we would recommend this cottage and be happy to return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Dear Mr. Spence, Thank you very much for such a positive review. We're glad you liked the cottage and appreciated our efforts and the location. We were however sorry to hear that work had taken place at the time of your visit as we tried to liaise with the contractors to ensure any works were carried out when the property was empty. We had blocked out September for that reason but work was delayed due to poor weather and we weren't made aware of this so sincere apologies.
Thanks again for choosing to stay at Taigh a' Bhraoin and we hope you return again soon so that we can rectify matters. Best regards, Andrew & Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Well equipped, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a very pleasant stay here, and enjoyed the welcoming gifts. Our time was mostly spent doing short walks and touring the fantastic coastline up as far as Durness.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thanks very much for your high praise. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Taigh a' Bhraoin and also your visit to the North of Scotland. We hope you'll return soon and we can provide you with our hospitality once again. Best regards, A&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EndleyFam...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Accommodation with Amazing Views”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Thank you for a wonderful stay. The accommodation was to a high standard and very well equipped. The lovely food hamper on arrival was a nice and much appreciated surprise. Even the midges stayed away to enjoy the wine that was left us in the garden allowing us to admire the amazing views. Nothing was forgotten in the accommodation making our stay easy and relaxed. The accommodation was nicely situated to get away from it all but local enough to amenities with Ullapool being only a short drive. We seen some lovely wildlife and the views around the area were breathtaking. We would absolutely recommend a visit to Taigh a' Bhraoin.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Thanks very much for such a glowing review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Taigh a' Bhraoin. We are always thinking of what we can do to make it special and your review suggests we are on the right track. Thanks very much for choosing Taigh a' Bhraoin and we hope to have the pleasure of your return in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, A&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have just returned from another fantastic week at Taigh a' Bhraoin. We return every year and are never disappointed at the standard of this beautiful cottage. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay perfect, couldn't ask for more. See you next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
We're delighted that you like the place and keep coming back. It's always a pleasure. Thanks very much for the great review and we look forward to your next visit. Thanks again, A&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBDuich
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“An exceptional cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Taigh a Bhraoin is an excellent holiday cottage for those who wish to explore some of the finest parts of the north of Scotland. Located south of Ullapool it is conveniently located for exploring south into Wester Ross ( Gruinard Bay or further to Loch Ewe and Gairloch ) or north into Sutherland beyond Ullapool.
Located on a quiet road on the west side of Loch Broom the cottage is a splendid place to relax with grand views of the loch and the surrounding hills. The cottage is equipped to a high standard with attractive decoration and plenty of space. There is no shortage of kitchen implements and crockery if you wish to cook meals. The satellite TV and the wi-fi provision met all our needs.
The owners go to a lot of trouble to make sure their visitors have a comfortable stay. Easily the best cottage of the many cottages we have stayed in all over the northern highlands.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for such high praise. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found the cottage met all your needs. We try to make it a home from home and we're delighted that you liked it.
Thanks very much for choosing Taigh a' Bhraoin we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards. A & M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cakeandbu...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable well-appointed cottage in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful holiday last week, the cottage is spacious with a well-equipped kitchen where we were greeted with a very good quality red wine on arrival (not to mention bread and butter too!) The owners were kind enough to call us on arrival to check that we were settling and they were available through the week if we needed to ask anything. We enjoyed sitting in the living room looking out at the amazing views, watching the light change on the hills and loch, and our daughter loved watching the birds come to the bird feeder in the garden.

The cottage is ideally placed, being set in countryside but a very short drive from Ullapool. We were busy every day and managed to fit in Knockan Crag, The Bone Caves, Gairloch, Lochinver & Glencanisp, Inchnadamph Caves and climbing Stac Pollaidh. There is so much to see in the area we were sad not to be staying a second week. Hopefully we will be able to return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for such a positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and all the expeditions you managed to fit the into such a shorter period. Hopefully you'll return in the not too distant future and stay at Taigh a' Bhraoin once again. Thanks and best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing