We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright spacious gallery”
Review of An Talla Solais

An Talla Solais
Ranked #12 of 18 things to do in Ullapool
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Recently named as one of the best galleries in Scotland off the beaten track by The List magazine. We’re closed for Winter and reopen Easter 2019. Please check our website for future programme dates. Cabinet, the independent shop based in the gallery, sells artisan works, crafts and cards and there is a small selection of Scottish paintings for sale. We offer classes, workshops, a kiln and studio spaces at our base on nearby Market Street.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Current exhibition was by local artist Beth Robertson Fiddes. Abstract landscapes, great colours and fantastic ability to capture water features in waves and rockpools.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank jaiyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"art gallery"
in 5 reviews
"local artists"
in 5 reviews
"unique gifts"
in 2 reviews
"current exhibition"
in 2 reviews
"visiting ullapool"
in 2 reviews
"robertson"
in 2 reviews
"beth"
in 3 reviews
"display"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017

I have just visited this art gallery. It was a privilege to view the display of paintings by Beth Robertson Fiddes. This exhibition runs until 30th July 2017 and, in my opinion, is well worth seeing with some outstanding landscape paintings.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Albert075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Nice gallery to look around in - seemed to have a themed exhibition on. Deduction of 1 mark as we expected more paintings / drawings/ artwork to be able to look at and potentially buy and the selection was very limited.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine M, Public Relations Manager at An Talla Solais, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Hello Emma,

Thank you for taking time to review our gallery and I'm sorry to hear we lost a mark on your visit to An Talla Solais due to the lack of work on sale. In case you are passing Ullapool again, I thought it might be helpful to let you know that we have a changing programme of exhibitions so the gallery changes every five or six weeks and will be different next time.

The decision on what work is for sale in the main exhbition and its price is dictated by the artists involved so we always have a smaller selection - The Room - which carries an alternative to the main exhibition of contemporary art by some of best artists working in Scotland today. Work in The Room is always for sale and during your visit was carrying a selection of landscape paintings by Kirstie Cohen.

Also you will have passed through Cabinet on your visit. Cabinet is a small independent shop at the front of the gallery which carries arts and crafts including many prints and paintings - some by the local artists who run it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

This is a really lovely small gallery where regular exhibitions are staged and the focus is on the work of local artists. There are some wonderfully talented people in Ullapool and it is great that their work can be brought into the public domain in this way. We have just been to the 'end of course' exhibition of students of the most recent art course put on through the gallery and were very impressed. It is a most welcoming place and you can meet some really interesting people.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Original and varied art work and regularly changing exhibitions. Far better than most other galleries we've visited in the area.

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed An Talla Solais also viewed

Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 
Rhue, Ullapool
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to An Talla Solais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing