We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Ord House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ord House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Muir of Ord B&B and Inns
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Ord House Hotel is an absolute gem! Such a lovely old house with bags of character and charm, we stayed for three nights and had a lovely, comfortable stay, and the dogs, Poppy and Bella were so friendly and well behaved! As others have said, this style of hotel is not for everyone, don't come here expecting Hilton standards!

The food at both breakfast, and dinner was lovey and all locally sourced, we dined in both the bar and restaurant.

A few points to note, there are no TVs in the rooms, which isn't a problem but sometimes it is nice to watch the news. The Wifi seemed to work well in all areas of the hotel for general web browsing, email etc. but not for streaming, again not really an issue, we were there to relax. There were some random bath products in the rooms, but for the price I would have expected some much nicer toiletries, and for the milk and biscuits on my tea tray to be replaced, these touches would greatly improve the experience for guests, and I think people expect little things like that, but overall the rooms were clean and comfortable.

The best thing about this hotel though was the service we received from Karen, she could not have been more helpful and attentive, we hope that the owners realise how lucky they are to have such good staff!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EleanorPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliza A, Owner at Ord House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We definitely do appreciate Karen! She is such a star and a lovely person to have at Ord House looking after the guests.
I am sorry that the biscuits etc were not replaced - that is an oversight and something that should have happened. The girls who clean are usually very good at doing it , so sorry about that.
Also the toiletries - issues have now been resolved and we have some good ones again - we had run out of some hence the randomness of the ones you had and then the last time I ordered I got the wrong shampoo ( hopeless I know!). As of todays delivery we are now organised on them - all the same and a good brand and selection. Too late for you but hopefully others will like them.
Thank you for staying, enjoying yourselves and we hope to see you back here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    25
    16
    13
    4
See reviews for
13
40
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The Ord House is a charming original and therefore we enjoyed our stay very much.
Breakfast nd dinner were also very good
Only the cider has been warm : -(

The rooms are not the best, but for us totally sufficient.
Thank you

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MaxMadMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliza A, Owner at Ord House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
You are right that Ord House is an original! Its lovely to know that people enjoy the house and grounds and appreciate its history and all it has to offer. As you say, " a hotel with a difference" which in these days of large chains is very refreshing for some.
We look forward to welcoming you back here next time you travel to Scotland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The minute you negotiate the bumpy driveway through a dark avenue of trees to be met by a black Labrador asleep on the doorstep you realise that this hotel is going to be different. So, if you are looking for a chain hotel with standard facilities then the Ord House Hotel is not for you, they don't even have a TV that I could spot. The receptionist was incredibly friendly and helpful and showed us to our rooms and then served us local beer in the bar. The rooms were old fashioned (a plus point for me), very clean and comfortable. Mine looked down on the walled garden and as I "drew" a bath I felt as if I was away on a shooting weekend not a business trip! However, the best thing was yet to come - the food. Well prepared and beautifully cooked local produce. Well done the Ord Arms Hotel. You are not everybody's cup of tea but you have bags of character and charm together with good service and very fine food. That'll do me thanks..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliza A, Owner at Ord House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay here and Ord House. As you say, it is not for everyone but for those of us who like old country houses, friendly faces and good food, it is just the ticket!
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent one night here. Beautiful old country house full of the owners family photos so feels like their home rather than a hotel set amongst lovely grounds. Room with ensuite was very clean. No TV which was wonderful. We had our evening meal in the bar (only people in it all evening other than poppy the dog who sat by the fire). Both evening meal and breakfast were beautifully cooked, everything freshly prepared.

We would like to say a big thank you to Karen who looked after us serving food and drinks at both mealtimes, but also for her lovely friendly chats on where we should visit if we had time. On her advice we saw dolphins jumping at high tide at Chanonry Point at Fortrose and lovely walks at Cannich and Glen Affric.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliza A, Owner at Ord House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We love guests like you! Please come back!! Poppy enjoyed your company and you were a pleasure to look after. Very pleased you liked our food as we like to show fresh scottish produce at its best.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ord House is different. I originally stayed here as a small boy with my mother and then returned again just before I was married a good many years ago. I was interested to see how it had changed.

It is like a thrown back in time. To get to the hotel you have to go up a drive which is approximately half a mile long. You will pass the local whiskey distillery on the way (drop in for the guided tours, it is well worth it).

The house itself is very old. Above the doorway the date is from the 1650's (really should have made a note of exact date). You open the front door into a large living room, full of chairs, books and newspapers to read.

The reception area is hidden away just above a small set of stairs. Our bedroom was large and decorated in an old fashioned country house style. Not to everyone's taste but somehow seems to fit in with the rest of the building (although some of you might wonder who matched the curtains and the wallpaper). If you insist on a television in your room you won't want to stay here. If you love the idea of getting away from it all then you will want to stay here. BTW - they do have excellent Wifi so if you really cannot get away from gadgets then you can always play on your tablet.

Downstairs again and the bar is small but very comfortable, just the kind of place to visit after a long walk or fishing. Further along is a living room which looks out onto a croquet lawn.
We ate in the dinning room (calling it a restaurant is probably stretching it). The food was good home cooking and pleasant and the staff are really friendly.

Had it changed? No not really and that is its charm. It is clean and our room, had been redecorated with new carpets. But it is like stepping back in time. Some people will love it because of that, others will not.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newbury_Chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a two night stay here and I thought it was wonderfully relaxing and I was made to feel like the lady of the manor. I loved everything about this hotel, the location, the extremely helpful and very friendly Karen and the owners Eliza and Johnny and especially the doggies Poppy and Bella. The room was fab and very spacious and very quiet. The gardens are great too, I found a spot at the back to watch the sun hoping down. The food was gorgeous the two nights I ate here and breakfast was plentiful and made to order. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the Black Isle and the Moray coastline. I would definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LaineyMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliza A, Owner at Ord House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It was a pleasure having you staying here and I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourself. Poppy and Bella say "thank you" for the endless ball throwing!!
Hope to see you again when you next need a break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent three nights and so that you can be clear , we generally avoid large modern hotels which offer very little in the way of character and this place has to be viewed with this in mind. The absence of a TV did not bother us. The magnificent surroundings, clean room , comfortable bed helpful host, friendly dogs, good wholesome food made our stay pleasurable. The price was about average for this area. Just look at and try nearby Bueley and do a fair comparison and you will see what I mean. If you enjoy a fine single malt whiskey this hotel and very close distillery offers all that is best!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliza A, Owner at Ord House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Lovely that you appreciated the house and gardens - it gives us great pleasure when people enjoy Ord House with its unique character and history.
I hope that you will visit again next time you are up in this part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muir of Ord
2.6 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
338 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
143 reviews
4.9 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
738 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
773 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ord House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ord House Hotel

Property: Ord House Hotel
Address: 3 Ord Drive, Muir of Ord IV6 7UQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Muir of Ord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Muir of Ord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ord House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 17th-century country house hotel set in 60 acres of gardens and woodlands. Comfortable and spacious bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and views over the garden. Log fires in all public rooms including the 'gun room bar'. AA rosette for food. Emphasis on using fresh, locally sourced produce. Dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ord House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ord House Hotel Muir Of Ord, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing