We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful whisky and tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Ord Distillery

Glen Ord Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.20*
and up
Best of the Scottish Highlands Tour from Inverness: Black Isle, Loch Ness and...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled on the outskirts of Muir of Ord, Glen Ord Distillery is one of the Highland's hidden treasures producing liquid gold all year round. With a welcome as warm as the whisky, you'll be sure to leave satisfied after experiencing the world-famous Scottish hospitality at this 5* visitor attraction. Open all year, Glen Ord offers a range of tours to suit everyone; from the whisky novice to the connoisseur.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful whisky and tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Loved the tour here and would have given it 5 stars but they are in the middle of construction there (a good thing by the way) so it restricted some access. This Scotch is only available in the Asian market, so buying a bottle to bring home was a must! The Muir of Ord (town) is also a delightful place near Beauly (a good visit too for the abbey there, etc.)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pnpontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    97
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well worth a walk in the rain :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Whilst staying in fairly close by Strathpeffer we decided to take a walk to the Glen Ord Distillery - about 8 miles away. Now we could not have picked a wetter day if we had tried but it didn't dampen our enthusiasm.

When we first arrived at the distillery we checked to see if there was a cafe to get some lunch and a hot drink but sadly there isn't however the very helpful staff gave us directions to a few local places so off we popped and promised to be back later.

Just over an hour later we returned even wetter than before and signed up for the next tour. The staff were very concerned about how wet we were but it really wasn't a problem and we were just looking forward to the tour.

Mary the tour guide was very good and she demonstrated excellent knowledge and gave us very interesting information about the distillery as well as umbrellas before showed us around the parts that she could and although there were maintenance going on and we couldn't go and see the stills close up she still explained the distillation process to us inside the warehouse and out of the rain.

Last stop on the tour is the tasting bar and a wee dram to warm us through before heading off on our return walk to Strathpeffer with a bottle of Singleton in our back pack.

Lovely distillery, lovely staff, lovely whisky.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScottishTourist01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best tour ever (well ...so far)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

On a wet day, we decided to pop in to the Glen Ord Distillery and despite thinking these tours are all similar, this one was head and shoulders above the rest.

The main difference being Linda, the tour guide, who was excellent. She demonstrated greater knowledge and passion than any other guide so far (this was our fourth) and we found out even more about what is essentially the same process everywhere. We even had the chance to have a second 'wee dram' for comparison purposes at the end. They were working on the stills as they are expanding due to demand and we couldn't go in to see them, so Linda kindly explained the distillation process inside and out of the rain.

TIP: If you happen to go to a 'Diaggio' distillery, make sure you get the 'friends of classic malts' FREE membership, as you can then visit all the distilleries in the group and have the tours for FREE. We originally visited Dalwhinnie two years ago and paid, but have been to Talisker, Oban and now Glen Ord all free, with a free dram (& glass in some cases) and discount of the whiskey.

Overall the tours are excellent and we would recommend you try them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
629 reviews
351 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the tour and tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I'm not a big whiskey drinker but I still enjoyed this. I've been on winery tours and brewery tours so it was nice to see how whiskey was made.

The tour was very organized. A tour guide takes you around the distillery to all the locations and explains the process from start to finish. Some of the tour involves walking outside and it was raining when we were there but they're organized enough to have umbrellas ready.

Total tour and tasting takes under and hour. They sell their whiskey there but otherwise you have to be in Asia to buy it. There are also some nice whiskey glasses, etc. for sale.

Helpful?
1 Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Whisky Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I visited this Distillery with my boyfriend during our weekend away. We were the only ones there but it was nice. Karla, our tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable. My boyfriend and I we're clueless when it comes to whisky but our Dad's are keen whisky drinkers. We both found the whole history very interesting. Recommend a visit here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank missaj92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glen Ord Distillery also viewed

Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
 
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Glen Ord Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing