We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”
Review of The Dower House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dower House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muir of Ord
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I couldn't fault the Dower House. It was very comfortable and clean with log fires and fresh flowers. The meal was first class - easily the best on our trip. There was attention to every detail of the food and drink. The bathroom furnishings were period - so maybe not for you if a power shower is your prime requirement, but great if you want to be able to swim lengths in the bath (well, nearly)
I looked at the other reviews before I booked and yes, it is expensive but you get what you pay for and it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 57russett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

The Dower House is undoubtedly a beautiful place to stay and is set in the most glorious gardens. We had an evening meal there and the food was very good, although expensive considering there was no choice. So why the disappointment? A feeling that the hospitality was measured to the penny. Maybe we were just unlucky on the day, but of all the places we stayed in on our trip, this was the only one we left feeling somewhat exploited,

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thasinallright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We had three extraordinary dinners served to us by the great family that own and run the hotel. We had some of the best food I can remember. This plus very attentive and yet sensitive service made this a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedowerhouse, Owner at The Dower House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Robyn puts a lot of thought and effort in to the no choice menu and it's always lovely for him to know that our guests thouroughly enjoyed their dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Once again the Michelin Guide has not let us down. From the moment of reservation to the sad time of having to leave this has been like an extension to our family [only the food was better!]. Mena and Robyn Aitchison are the consummate hosts and our time with them will be treasured as will the memories of outstanding food, the warmest of welcomes and a house and grounds to die for.
If you are going to Scotland - go to the Dower House.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1 or the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robdeuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We stayed there for two nights and enjoyed our stay. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. Dont expect a shower! It is a bath and you manually add a small shower head. It is also not possible to stand while showering.
When we arrived we got tea and were asked if we like to have dinner that night. We said yes without having seen the prices and the proper menu. The next morning we had breakfast which was nice.
The big surprise was when we received the bill and realised that dinner was £42 per person (drinks extra) and that two teas were £7. Dinner was nice but completely over charged for what it was. Chicken fennel soup, small piece of halibut with vegis and pineapple with ice cream and chocolate sauce. Far too expensive for a b&b in Scotland. Prices should be communicated!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DomEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

The Dower House is really a lovely place to have a break. I travel a lot and stay in formulaic hotels, and at the core of its charm is the simple truth that the Dower House is very far from being formulaic. If your think that a Marriott is the perfect hotel, then I suspect the Dower House isn't for you.

Mena Aitchison was out host and provided faultless service from the moment of our arrival to our departure. We enjoyed the suite, and had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was very good, with delicious muesli and an excellent choice of cooked breakfast. Alas, we didn't eat dinner there due to other commitments, but will do so next time we stay.

The gardens are lovely, although I was clearly not seeing them at their best due to both the early season and the very harsh winter. Sitting out in the summer must be a real joy however.

For overseas travelers looking for a somewhat quirky Scottish country house experience, I would definitely recommend the Dower House.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stenhouse_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Dower house lived up to its review as one of the top 10 cosiest places to stay in the UK - and then some. The rooms were comfortable, nicely furnished with good beds and linens. There were wonderful views of the gardens from every window. We made good use of the study for access to the internet. The cuisine is authentic and traditional fare, locally sourced (berries from bushes on the grounds!) expertly and deliciously prepared. Our hosts were absolutely charming; accommodating and friendly.
We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linnae7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muir of Ord
6.5 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
680 reviews
2.6 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
359 reviews
12.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
9.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Lovat Arms Hotel
Lovat Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beauly
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dower House

Address: Highfield, Muir of Ord IV6 7XN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Muir of Ord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muir of Ord
Price Range: £142 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dower House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dower Hotel
The Dower House Muir Of Ord, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing