We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of The Ord Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ord Arms
Ranked #8 of 11 Muir of Ord B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Ord Arms Hotel is a 1904 established Hotel. The hotel itself has a bit of an Old World Inn feel to it but that is the only thing that is old world. The service by the family running the hotel is unobtrucive and welcoming, the rooms are excellent value for Money and the food is equal to that of a five star hotel with excellent portions and well prepared.
Overall if you are visiting Inverness and have a car it is worth driving the 15 mins it take to get to the hotel instead of staying in the city for it is set in the buetiful village of Muir of Ord. It has a rail link near the hotel but not sure the frequency of trains

Room Tip: good room No.10
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for The Ord Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

we stayed for 3nights with friends friendly staff meals very good.plenty to eat.would recommend.chef friendly guy.there was a slight delay with one of our meals but soon put right waitress apologised and offered us drinks chef even came to see if all ok and say sorry never had that before clearly pride customer care.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carollynn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as an alternative to Inverness. The staff couldn't be more helpful! Our room was 1 of the 2 rooms that share a bathroom, but it was just us using it. Our only issue the whole stay was the very poor water pressure and lack of hot water-if the cold tap is on at all, the water will be freezing.
Our room was a good size, and the wifi we found to be good. Be warned, it is an old building so difficult to ensure good wifi.
We at in the restaurant-very good pub food, big portions and great value.
Would happily stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoriakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights - hill walking during the day. The staff were welcoming and went out of their way to accommodate our needs. We ate at the Hotel both nights - good hearty food - perfect after long days on the hills - the Venison Steak was exceptional. The hotel is still being refurbished but the rooms were warm & comfortable. Excellent value

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Little-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I have never stayed in a hotel where the owners and staff were, without exception, so friendly and helpful and did everything to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The hotel itself is clean and tidy and in the process of being refurbished and modernised. Bedrooms are comfortable, clean and have everything you need although a bit dated and waiting for their turn in the refurb program. Food is really delicious, home cooked with HUGE portions!
As a place to stay whilst walking, fishing or touring the area you'll struggle to find better.....good value, good food and great staff. We'll be back...............

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munro-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This hotel is ok for a one night stay. It was clean. The decor is a bit dated but reasonable. Our room was quiet. We went for a walk and there is nothing around the hotel to see or do within walking distance. However we did really enjoy the restaurant. The food was great and the selection good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We were on a fishing holiday.
Staying at the Ord arms really made our holiday.The rooms were very clean and comfortable
The food was excellent ,the staff were so helpfull,Looking forward to staying next year

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muir of Ord
2.3 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
345 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lovat Arms Hotel
Lovat Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beauly
153 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Dower House
The Dower House
#1 of 1 in Muir of Ord
33 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
404 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ord House Hotel
Ord House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Muir of Ord
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ord Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ord Arms

Address: Great North Road, Muir of Ord IV6 7XR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Muir of Ord
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Muir of Ord
Price Range: £60 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ord Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your The Ord Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ord Arms Muir Of Ord, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing