We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ord Arms

The Ord Arms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ord Arms
Ranked #11 of 12 Muir of Ord B&B and Inns
Alness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Went for a 50th party we had a sit down 3 course meal, we placed our orders a few days before the booking. My partner never ordered soup at the time, he asked if he could have soup and the reply he got in a very abrupt tone "if your name is not on the list we don't have extra, I can show you the list" he got soup in the end, he said "it tasted like soup out off a tin" the chicken was dry and bland! there wasn't enough gravy for the roast beef, someone asked for more gravy and she is still waiting! sorry to say but I won't recommend the ord arms a place for a meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marion d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ord-Arms, Owner at The Ord Arms, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
There are many inaccuracies in this review as follows:

The food orders were placed the evening before the event even though we requested they be placed at least 2 days before for ordering purposes. We sometimes request a pre-order for large parties in order that diners receive the choices they have ordered and also to help the serving of food run smoothly and without delay.

The diner would never have been told that 'we do not have extra soup' as we always have soup on the menu for guests coming into the restaurant every day. He wasn't sure if he had ordered soup so we checked the list that the booking guest has given to us to refer to. The soup is always freshly made and is advertised as 'homemade'. It would be against the law to advertise it as thus and then serve it 'out of a tin'.

The proprietor ask diners if 'everything was ok' during the main course - as no complaints were made it could only be assumed there wasn't a problem. Staff know how important it is to do this with all our diners as, if there is a problem, it is then that we can address the issue, not 5 days later.

I would hope that those looking at this review come to the conclusion that it is not reflective of other reviews the restaurant have received on Tripadvisor. However, we always take genuine, constructive criticism on board, if indeed that is what this review is, and act accordingly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
20
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
highlands of scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

stayed for one night during Black Isle show this year, double room with shared bathroom. Room comfortable and clean, bathroom very nice, only one problem, when i went for a shower in the evening there was no hot water left so get in early!!
Had an amazing meal in the lounge bar area, food was first class and service was good despite the place being jam packed that night. Portion sizes are massive so be warned but a lovely stay all round!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soulsister331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Having just written a great review for The Swan in Wetherby, I would have to add a further star for the Ord Arms. The place as such is nothing special - just a nice pub with some outdoor seating facing the road -, but the food was simply gorgeous. Never had a better beef pie or grilled salmon, with wonderfully fresh vegetables cooked to perfection!
Friendly staff and an excellent value for money complete the picture.
(Didn't stay for the night, so can't judge the rooms, but would always come back for the food!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heike1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Ord Arms Hotel is a 1904 established Hotel. The hotel itself has a bit of an Old World Inn feel to it but that is the only thing that is old world. The service by the family running the hotel is unobtrucive and welcoming, the rooms are excellent value for Money and the food is equal to that of a five star hotel with excellent portions and well prepared.
Overall if you are visiting Inverness and have a car it is worth driving the 15 mins it take to get to the hotel instead of staying in the city for it is set in the buetiful village of Muir of Ord. It has a rail link near the hotel but not sure the frequency of trains

Room Tip: good room No.10
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

we stayed for 3nights with friends friendly staff meals very good.plenty to eat.would recommend.chef friendly guy.there was a slight delay with one of our meals but soon put right waitress apologised and offered us drinks chef even came to see if all ok and say sorry never had that before clearly pride customer care.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carollynn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as an alternative to Inverness. The staff couldn't be more helpful! Our room was 1 of the 2 rooms that share a bathroom, but it was just us using it. Our only issue the whole stay was the very poor water pressure and lack of hot water-if the cold tap is on at all, the water will be freezing.
Our room was a good size, and the wifi we found to be good. Be warned, it is an old building so difficult to ensure good wifi.
We at in the restaurant-very good pub food, big portions and great value.
Would happily stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoriakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights - hill walking during the day. The staff were welcoming and went out of their way to accommodate our needs. We ate at the Hotel both nights - good hearty food - perfect after long days on the hills - the Venison Steak was exceptional. The hotel is still being refurbished but the rooms were warm & comfortable. Excellent value

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muir of Ord
5.4 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.6 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dower House
The Dower House
#1 of 1 in Muir of Ord
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lovat Arms Hotel
Lovat Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beauly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home Farm Bed & Breakfast
Home Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Muir of Ord
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ord Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ord Arms

Property: The Ord Arms
Address: Great North Road, Muir of Ord IV6 7XR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Muir of Ord
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Muir of Ord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ord Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ord Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ord Arms Muir Of Ord, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing