We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Carndaisy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carndaisy House
Ranked #1 of 11 Muir of Ord B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Carndaisy, the twin/triple room was perfectly clean and decorated beautifully. Linda our host was very friendly, offered us a glass of wine on arrival and made us a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: We booked the twin/triple room online, which has a double bed and a single bed. It was modern and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoomer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

Carndaisy House was the second B&B we stayed at on our little tour of Scotland. We stayed for two nights and drove up from Blair Drummond Safari Park near Stirling on the Friday of our trip.

The drive took us five hours, but we took the scenic route via Glen Coe and the Great Glen, as we wanted to re-visit the sights we had seen a few years back. I just loved seeing the Three Sisters and the numerous lochs on the way up to Muir of Ord where Carndaisy is situated, just 20/25 minutes from Inverness and 15/20 minutes from Dingwall.

The B&B was a little difficult to find as the postcode doesn’t take you to the correct destination, though on Google Maps it does. Luckily I had read some reviews on Trip Advisor before leaving and wrote down the directions other people had suggested. Thankfully with all this information, we managed to find Carndaisy. From the south: the B&B is situated further up the road past Muir of Ord and the distillery (on the left) on the A832. Keep driving and you will see a small church on the right hand side (The Church of Wester Urray) there is also a small white sign for Carndaisy. Turn right down a little side road and follow the road until you see a small wooden sign saying Carndaisy House. There is parking for about four cars.

Carndaisy House is a new build, only two years old. We arrived at the B&B about 7pm, and from the front, I wasn’t too sure we were at the correct place as there is no sign saying B&B in front of the house, nor any sign saying, ‘knock here for assistance’. We asked the proprietors’ son who was watering the flowers and he sent for his father, Dougie who apologised for not hearing us arrive and welcomed us in. At first I thought he didn’t have a clue we were arriving as I had corresponded with his wife Linda. I did email her a few days before our holiday forewarning her we would be late in arriving on the Friday. Luckily Dougie had confirmation of our booking and he showed us through to the dinning room where breakfast would be served and the conservatory overlooking fields with highland cattle.

Our room was one of the four posters, and I was so happy to see it was the one I saw on their website, the black four poster! I had coveted that room since seeing the picture and was so happy when we were offered it! Dougie suggested some places to have dinner in Muir of Ord and left us to settle in. We decided to head into Dingwall to have a quick pizza as we wanted to relax after a long days travelling. Before we headed back out, Linda knocked on our door and welcomed us but offering a drink of whisky or wine. The request would have been gladly taken if we were not heading out again, so we had to decline, but we thought it was a nice touch. Linda and Dougie seem very friendly, welcoming hosts.

The room itself was fresh and bright and very modern but comfortable in the lighting and furnishings. I loved the four poster the only down side was that the mattress was a bit flat on the sides and both David and I felt we were falling out of bed. The bathroom was warm and inviting with a lovely shower. The room was well heated and there was free wireless accessibility, the details were in the handbook provided.

For breakfast you filled in a little sheet with what you required the following morning. Breakfast was between 7.30am – 8.30am. In keeping with the new build theme, the breakfast room was very light and modern. You helped yourself to tea and coffee and cereals and if you requested a cooked breakfast Dougie would bring that in to you. Dougie was always very friendly, asked if you slept ok and what you had planned that day.

On Saturday we had booked a cruise of the Moray Firth with Ecoventures at Cromarty, in the hope of seeing wild Bottle-nosed Dolphins.

We drove the 45 minutes from Carndaisy to Cromarty, we found plenty of free on street parking. The trips with Ecoventures can be very popular so book early to avoid disappointment. It costs £22 each for two hours, and worth every penny! There is also a little shop where you can get cuddly dolphin toys. Robyn and Sarah are both very welcoming and they provide waterproof overalls and life jackets for your safety. After a little talk about what to expect on the cruise, where the day before they hadn’t seen any dolphins, we headed out to the boat, a RIB or ridged inflatable boat, looked more like a power boat dingy!

The two hours went too fast, but we were successful in seeing dolphins, one even jumped right next to the boat! After dolphin hunting, we stopped by the cliffs and Sarah pointed out some birdlife while offering us biscuits and orange juice, which was a nice touch. David however felt sea sick, but managed to survive the rest of the cruise.

Later on that day we headed down to Chanonry point on the Black Isle to hopefully see dolphins from the shore as they come inland after a low tide, though we waited over two hours we only saw one dolphin. We were disappointed but can’t complain as we saw them on the boat trip.

On returning late to the B&B we found in our room four little home made fudge cakes, a lovely touch from Linda!

The next day, Sunday was our check out day, after an early breakfast we said goodbye to Linda who said we had chosen a good Moray Firth cruise and asked us where we were travelling too next, even Dougie came over to the car to shake our hand goodbye.

David and I really felt relaxed and welcome at Carndaisy and would highly recommend to anyone staying in this part of Scotland.

Room Tip: Find directions to B&B before heading out as postcode doesn't take you to house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine_lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Our family room was spacious and lovely with beautiful countryside views. Breakfast was
great and very generous. We were treated to Linda's delicious homemade cakes and scones fresh out of the oven at no cost. The owners were charming and really friendly. The location was good too, very near to Loch Ness. All in all we were very happy with our stay there and will make every effort to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathyRickmansworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Very friendly and welcoming hosts. The room was very comfortable with home made touches a delight. It proved to be an excellent base for our tour of the North and West of Scotland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamHwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The Carndaisy B&B had to be one of our favorite places to stay on our recent three week trip to Scotland. We spent four nights in this B&B, and had a wonderful time. The B&B is located several miles at most, down a single track road in the Muir of Ord. The back garden of the B&B and sun room/porch area overlooks a large green field of cows, with an occasional sheep dog that could be seen running the fields. The room that we stayed in, was quiet and clean and each night we came back, there were baked treats of different kinds on a plate for us. Linda also let us use her laundry facilities which were much needed and very convenient. And to add to the enjoyment of the stay, we spotted a local hedgehog in the front garden (not uncommon in the Black Isle), and there was a reported deer that was seen just outside our door early one morning. Moreover, Linda was very hospitable and had a wonderful sense of humor. It was great fun to talk with her about her sheep sheering experiences and time in the Shetlands. She was also very helpful in telling us where to park in town, when we went to the Black Isle show on that Thursday of our visit, and she was always very responsive to my emails when planning our trip. I highly recommend a stay at her B&B if you are travelling up to the Black Isle. Of note, if you are travelling in August, as we did, Linda suggests booking a year ahead, as she can get quite busy during the time of the Black Isle Show. It is most definitely a place we hope to return to.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were nice, but the ones in the back that overlook the field are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heathermci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I wish I had researched the directions before I turned up here with my wife, back in September 2010! I trusted my SatNav which I don't use very often - just read other reviews for the best directions! Anyway, when we arrived Linda was very friendly, we were given a fantastic room with a big four poster bed and a very good TV. A nice view as well, as you can see from my photo the next morning. We got a drink and some home baking when we arrived which was a fantastic touch and the house is superb. The car park was groaning under the weight of all the cars, but for all the reviews giving 5 stars you have to expect everyone to have heard about great places like this.
We were only here for one night so can't give any reviews about local eating - we just settled on pizza in Dingwall as we didn't have much cash on us! Breakfast was very good, even though as wasp gatecrashed the proceedings. I managed to encourage it out the window so that was handy. Overall I really liked the house, a friendly atmosphere all around and you are looked after. Lots of nice touches, if we are ever in the area again I will be in touch for a room here.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pidpads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We started our 3 weeks trip to the Highlands, the Isle of Skye and the Isles of Harris & Lewis with a one week stay at Carndaisy's. As usual we were granted a long stay rebate but without any indication that this was linked to a reduced service ... But starting with our arrival the first impression was quite good. A well-kept new built house in a rural setting with a small conservatory overlooking a pasture with cattle and mountains in the distance. For our 20 month old daughter we were offered a cot at no additional charge. Linda, the landlady was professional and friendly - but we didn't perceive a "warm welcome" and didn't get the welcome dram which was advertised on the homepage at the time we booked. Really disapppointing was the breakfast choice. After several B&B holidays in the UK and Ireland this was the very first place where a full cooked breakfast was NOT included. We were asked to pay an extra charge for it - as well as for the scrambled eggs option with a single slice of salmon. So we decided for the included tasty basic options and enjoyed the full cooked breakfasts later at our following B&Bs. For other guests which obviously payed the full rate the full cooked breakfast was included. Very positive: the optional use of the guest kitchen and the small selection of delicious home-baking which we enjoyed with a cup of tea almost every evening in the conservatory.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muir of Ord hotels
1.3 mi away
Ord House Hotel
Ord House Hotel
#4 of 11 in Muir of Ord
99 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Dower House
The Dower House
#1 of 1 in Muir of Ord
33 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Ord Arms
The Ord Arms
#8 of 11 in Muir of Ord
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Home Farm Bed & Breakfast
Home Farm Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 11 in Muir of Ord
110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hillview Park
Hillview Park
#3 of 11 in Muir of Ord
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carndaisy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carndaisy House

Address: Carndaisy House Easter Urray, Muir of Ord IV6 7UL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Muir of Ord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Muir of Ord
Price Range: £57 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carndaisy House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carndaisy House is family run guest house accommodation set in spectacular countryside near Inverness. On arrival at our B&B in the Highlands, you are assured of a warm welcome. Our guesthouse offers excellent bed and breakfast lodgings close to ‘The City of Inverness’ Scotland. We are a 20 minute drive from ‘Loch Ness’ and ‘Urquhart Castle’ and only a 5 minute drive to ‘Glen Ord Whiskey Distillery.’ Our Bed and Breakfast accommodation offers 3 rooms, a family suite, triple and four poster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carndaisy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carndaisy House Muir Of Ord, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing